We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly and Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranveli Beach Resort
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly and Good Value”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my children for a week. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. There was a real intimate atmosphere. The food was tasty and traditional. I especially liked how close the hotel was to the beach and it's beautiful gardens. I would say this hotel is good value for money and a quiet paradise away from the noise and bustle of Colombo.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
we are so happy to hear that your stay in our Beach Resort was wonderful .Thank you so much Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    85
    42
    16
    32
See reviews for
53
73
49
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka, null, Bangladesh
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Homely atmosphere, very near to beach, good food , clean room and above all friendly staff. I would be coming back again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khawaja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
we are so happy to hear that your stay in our Beach Resort was wonderful .Thank you so much Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

first, it is not 3 star .....it is 1 star
Second, the train line next to hotel ( I completely freaked out from that train it's like earth quake and disturbing noise )
Room and bedspread are not clean
you can't feel safe

Room Tip: there is no good room but if you want to stay avoid the room which the window front the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahmad_aht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I had a lovely lovely stay here at Ranveli on the beach at Mount Lavinia. The staff were extremely gracious, good natured and helpful in every way and assured excellent service. I wish I could stay longer - it's the perfect spot by the beach. I recommend it thoroughly. Katey (Australia)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 986Katey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
we are so happy to hear that your stay in our Beach Resort was wonderful .Thank you so much Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stayed here for one night with Real Gap before starting a volunteer project. I wasn't expecting anything 5* as i'd come as a volunteer to Sri Lanka. What I did expect though were clean rooms, with doors that locked.

The hotel is next to a train line so every half hour throughout the night you would hear trains going passed...but they were so loud i thought they were coming towards the hotel.

I also got the impression that the hotel was being used for prostitution.

Avoid at all costs - and don't trust the website - the hotel and beach looks nothing like that!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweeden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We planned a stay of 3 days, it became 5 days because of the pleasure way of living and the Friendly staff.Room view is the Indian Ocean Fantastic view. Hotel has a very nice Private Beach. we recommend also this hotel , it is very clean,comfortable ,has a nice garden where you can have a sit and drink under Sri Lanka's elegant palm tree, may be you find in the morning the fish of the fishermen,the cook prepare it for your lunch Delicious.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mieke483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
we are so happy to hear that your stay in our Beach Resort was wonderful .Thank you so much Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We have been traveling in Sri Lanka and India for 4 months and so have seen some good and bad places. We have only walked out without staying in 2 places, and this was one of them. There are lots of alternatives Mt Lavinia.....so if you can, shop around (Tropic Inn and Mrs Lyn Mendis' are places we did stay and can recommend).

So the Ranveli....why so bad? Room was on top floor, very stuffy, ceiling fan not working and AC was pathetic. So oh dear a hot sweaty nights sleep was on the cards. We asked the management about it and they sent a guy up to try and fix the fan. The balcony door was almost off its hinges and so we couldn't open/close it. The beds themselves where like lying on camping mats and the TV, well it was on top of the wardrobe like a hidden Christmas present.

We didn't even unpack, we have had enough of making do with poor rooms, why not get a thick cheap foam mattress, why not get the windows/fans/ac working?

The manager gave us our money back with no problems so that was appreciated.

I can't comment on how loud the trains must be but the track is about 10m away and we heard one as we walked away, looked at each other and knew we had dodged a bad night bullet.

After a few months traveling you get very attuned to broken promises and dashed expectations, so if you feel you are getting ripped off, walk away and write an honest review. Having read the other reviews of this hotel, I am seriously suspicious, all from members who have only done 1 review and all in May-July of this year, looks like a marketing ploy to me.

Room Tip: Avoid altogether but if you are there avoid the top floor its very stuff, unless the AC/fan /balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank schaffer1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.2 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#8 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranveli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranveli Beach Resort

Property: Ranveli Beach Resort
Address: 56/9 De Saram Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 31000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranveli Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In operation since 1972,one of the oldest budget hotels in mount Lavinia, which has been creating memorable holidays for thousands of satisfied visitors from around the world, such as USA, UK, Australia, Germany, Italy, France, Netherlands, Sweden, India, Maldives etc.Due to our long experience in the hotel trade we have many repeat guests. The main attraction in our hotel is located by the beach, adjoining to the famous Mount Lavinia Hotel and the affordable rates that we offer. Ranveli Beach Resort has 32 comfortable, Clean, well furnished rooms (with attached bathrooms) equipped with standard and Semi Luxury amenities. All A/C double rooms and family rooms are equipped with Air Conditioning, hot/cold water and cable TV and also over looking the Indian ocean. Most of our rooms are with private Balcony where can watch the incredible “sunset” or the breath taking view of the Indian Ocean.In addition we are famous for our very friendly and helpful staff. The well laid large Garden and our private beach can be used for “sun bathing & relaxing while enjoying the fresh air of the Mount Lavinia beach.Most guests like our “Rice & Curry “However our restaurant offers its guests a tasteful a la carte menu of Eastern, Western & International cuisine at a very low price. Sea food "Platter” which is prepared by our well experienced chef is delicious and popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ranveli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranveli Beach Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing