We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranveli Beach Resort
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A very nice, clean and a beautiful place. The owner and the staff are very accommodating, we travelled up North and down south of Sri Lanka and the staff safely looked after our excess baggage, every time we came back from our trip we were warmly welcomed by pleasant staff. The room was very clean and the food was delicious, the staff went out of their way to accommodate a vegetarian person in our party.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Owner at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

We are happy to hear that your stay in our Beach Resort was wonderfull.
Thank you so much ,Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Lovely hotel with great hospitality!! Food especially delicious! offering great comfort and a local and also very cosy place.. enjoyed experiencing there and absolutely recommending it!! Also personnel is so understanding and helpful about all your possible personel needs. Including rooms, lobi and pool everything was great and worth to remember! One shall want to go back again like me and visiting friends! Cause the most important thing our days were like as if we are staying at a friend's home.. go, try and enjoy it..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mericdemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Owner at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We are happy to hear that your stay in our Beach resort was Wonder full .
Thank- you so much.
Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

if you like to stay in somewhere which has clean sheets, hot water and wi-fi besides service with a smiling face, ranveli is the right choice! also it has a wonderful ocean view from the upper rooms... and do not forget to try their special smoothies for a refreshing start and fried bananas before ending the day.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank ece p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Ece
Thank you very much for your Review.
this review , worth for us for our hotel
I like to see you again with ur Friend
Thanking you
kind-regards
manjula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A nice place to spend a peaceful vacation single , couple or family. Last year I came with my family. Nice friendly staff, Great food, Very accommodating and a friendly owner and manager. This is my 3 rd visit and each visit I have seen the hotel has been refurbished and renovated. The pool is a new addition and I loved taking a swim after running the beach. The bathrooms are clean and room service and housekeeping was great. This place is luxury for a budget hotel. I also visited india and stayed in 3 and 4 star hotels while on a short pilgrimage. Some of the 4 star hotels were similar to Ranveli.
The train is noisy during day but you get used it soon. After 10 pm the train stops. The noise of the train is common to all hotels along the beach. It did not bother me after the 2 nd day. The owner admitted to having many rooms air conditioned now, than before. I will return to this place next year as well. Check out the photos I included.

Room Tip: I stayed in the executive suite where there is everything including your private refrigerator and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you very much for your Review.
this review , worth for us for our hotel
I like to see you again
Thanking you
kind-regards
manjula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Poor beds, pathetic food choice, very close to railway track where train passes thro every 5 mins are the bad about this place
ontime cab pick up, good response and very close to beach are the positives.
Dont prefer it unless you are in very tight budget

Room Tip: ask for a room in new bulding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AravindhMohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very good hotel to stay. In spite of so much hard work, all time smile & friendly nature of staffs (Manjula, Upul etc. etc.) really touch. You can enjoy beauty of sea from balcony. Good Food is available. Well cleaned & maintained swimming pool, good wi-fi connectivity. Staffs are ready to help to any extend. Really value for money.... But no mug in the bathroom :) :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pritam27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Pritam
Thank you very much for your Review.
This review worth for us our tourism.
i like to see u again
Thanking you
kind-regards
Manjula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The staff were friendly, that's was one positive point. However, on the negative side.....There was no water for some hours and we had travelled for 5 hours and badly needed a shower. The linen is of very poor quality and the bedsheet was dirty. The pillows are very uncomfortable and when we asked for more pillows they supplied lumpy ones. The mattress too, was uncomfortable.
It's right near the railyway line and constantly hear train whistles and the floor shakes when trains go past. The meals are very expensive for what is served.
We are looking for a good place when we go to Colombo, which is value for money, but we won't be going back there, that's for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ananda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Owner at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

So sorry for the water problem on the First day at Ranveli.But we did repair the mortar and soughted your problem .you stayed in one of our cheapest Rooms (non AC USD35 Double BB per day )and continued to stay foe 2 days .you forgot to say about our pool and your Beautiful super clean Room.We will improve on our quality of Linen and pillow.Most people come about food and Also the price as all our less that 5 Dollars(Except mixed Grill US $7.2,Sea food platter US $6.1)Our Records do not show you consuming our meals .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.2 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#9 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#5 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#7 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranveli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranveli Beach Resort

Address: 56/9 De Saram Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 31000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: £21 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranveli Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In operation since 1972,one of the oldest budget hotels in mount Lavinia, which has been creating memorable holidays for thousands of satisfied visitors from around the world, such as USA, UK, Australia, Germany, Italy, France, Netherlands, Sweden, India, Maldives etc.Due to our long experience in the hotel trade we have many repeat guests. The main attraction in our hotel is located by the beach, adjoining to the famous Mount Lavinia Hotel and the affordable rates that we offer. Ranveli Beach Resort has 32 comfortable, Clean, well furnished rooms (with attached bathrooms) equipped with standard and Semi Luxury amenities. All A/C double rooms and family rooms are equipped with Air Conditioning, hot/cold water and cable TV and also over looking the Indian ocean. Most of our rooms are with private Balcony where can watch the incredible “sunset” or the breath taking view of the Indian Ocean.In addition we are famous for our very friendly and helpful staff. The well laid large Garden and our private beach can be used for “sun bathing & relaxing while enjoying the fresh air of the Mount Lavinia beach.Most guests like our “Rice & Curry “However our restaurant offers its guests a tasteful a la carte menu of Eastern, Western & International cuisine at a very low price. Sea food "Platter” which is prepared by our well experienced chef is delicious and popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ranveli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranveli Beach Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing