We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ranveli Beach Resort - very nice place! Good choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ranveli Beach Resort
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ranveli Beach Resort - very nice place! Good choice!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Comfortable hotel near the ocean. Very responsive, honest, polite and smiling personnel.
The rooms are clean, cleaning done in a timely manner, there is hot and cold water and air conditioning! (This is very valuable on Sri Lanka)
The hotel has free WI-FI even poolside. Also include a private beach with the ability to organize parties.
At the reception to you kindly explain how to get to your destination, talk about interesting and beautiful things to do of Sri Lanka, will change the currency and cause a taxi if necessary.
Kitchen for every taste: Lankan, European, American .. Food delicious.
Guys, everything was cool!!! =)
Ayubowan, Ranveli Beach Resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NastiaSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    85
    42
    16
    32
See reviews for
53
73
49
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a great time staying at Ranveli Beach resort. Staff was very friendly would go out of their way to help. You feel like you are part of family as they treat you very well. Rooms are very clean and very reasonable. You can relax by the pool or by the beach. From our room we watch beautiful sunset. Location of this hotel was great as well. You can easily go to heart of Colombo taking a Tuk Tuk or Nano taxis which are very cheap. Front desk will call one for you and in matter of minutes you could be on your way. If you go to Sri Lanka this is one of the places you would want to be. Well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbrock32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

If you are on a budget this is a great place to stay in mount lavinia / rooms are super basic, but rather clean/ the staff is extremely friendly! Overall though the mount Lavinia isn't worth the detour ! The beach is overpopulated and dirty!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Having spent 5 weeks travelling around Sri Lanka staying in guest houses we finished our trip with a lash out staying here for 4 nights.
The swimming pool area is lovely and relaxing through the day (when not visiting Colombo city) and for the afternoon the beach area just across the railway lines made for a pleasant walk and people watching experience.
The rooms were of a good standard and when we had a plumbing problem it was taken care of immediately. Overall I would have to say that the service we received here was excellent.
My only caution would be that if you are of a nervous disposition the train line runs literally past the back fence and during peak periods trains can be quite frequent and noisy. For us this was not a problem however I did hear someone else complain.
The food that we ate at the resort was very nice and available at all reasonable hours and down on the beach were dozens of alternative food and beverage outlets.
All in all, I thought it was a well run establishment. I did feel that it was a bit over-priced however in general I found Sri Lanka to be ridiculously expensive for the quality of accommodation and at least here at Ranveli the service was good and the pool lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AugustineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
we are so happy to hear that your stay in our Beach Resort was wonderful .Thank you so much Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for a day in Nov 2013. Property is bit old and need renovation. There are no rooms which overlooks sea. Staffs were friendly. We have to cross the railway track to reach the beach. The pool is almost on the entrance. AC was not working and water leakage from it, they corrected after complaining. Overall VFM for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nissamudeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was the last stop of our Sri Lankan honeymoon. Our room overlooked the beach, and the resort has a part of the beach as a private area for its guests. The staff were helpful, however the room service was a bit expensive. The rooms also overlook a swimming pool which is a good place to hang out in the evenings (if you are looking for some private time in the waters), and adds to the feel of the sea.
The resort is located at a good distance from the bus stops, but is away from the noise of the city. This place is good for honeymooners who are looking for some calm and quiet in a place just overlooking the beauty of a beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSP_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snekkersten, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We where were were satisfied with our stay and would like to come back. Great pool area, both for us and our kids, aged 9 and 11. Super frendly staff. We did not mind the trains. It was just not that many and fun to look at when they drove by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.2 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#8 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranveli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranveli Beach Resort

Property: Ranveli Beach Resort
Address: 56/9 De Saram Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 31000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranveli Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In operation since 1972,one of the oldest budget hotels in mount Lavinia, which has been creating memorable holidays for thousands of satisfied visitors from around the world, such as USA, UK, Australia, Germany, Italy, France, Netherlands, Sweden, India, Maldives etc.Due to our long experience in the hotel trade we have many repeat guests. The main attraction in our hotel is located by the beach, adjoining to the famous Mount Lavinia Hotel and the affordable rates that we offer. Ranveli Beach Resort has 32 comfortable, Clean, well furnished rooms (with attached bathrooms) equipped with standard and Semi Luxury amenities. All A/C double rooms and family rooms are equipped with Air Conditioning, hot/cold water and cable TV and also over looking the Indian ocean. Most of our rooms are with private Balcony where can watch the incredible “sunset” or the breath taking view of the Indian Ocean.In addition we are famous for our very friendly and helpful staff. The well laid large Garden and our private beach can be used for “sun bathing & relaxing while enjoying the fresh air of the Mount Lavinia beach.Most guests like our “Rice & Curry “However our restaurant offers its guests a tasteful a la carte menu of Eastern, Western & International cuisine at a very low price. Sea food "Platter” which is prepared by our well experienced chef is delicious and popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ranveli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranveli Beach Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing