We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hospitality and friendly staff very close to beach 100 meters from beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranveli Beach Resort
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good hospitality and friendly staff very close to beach 100 meters from beach”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

very good resort close to beach and friendly staff a good place one can select and the place were we can spend more than a month with out any trouble the cost is very less when compared to other hotels or resorts

Room Tip: very friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Madankumarvarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    84
    42
    16
    32
See reviews for
53
73
49
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My ten days of stay in Ranvelli Beach Hotel was great! Though it was such a short stay for lots of activities to do, my stay in Ranvelli Beach hotel was a big help. It became easier for me because of the help and warm accommodation of the Hotel friendly staff. They welcomed me like a family and that is just what a first timer like me needed in this magical and wonderful place .... I had an opportunity to meet the owner o Mr Buwaneka who was personally supervising all staff personally in all aspects in the hotel to make sure all visitors are happy and get the utmost typical Sri Lankan personal touch.
I highly recommend all visitors to sri lnaka to try out Ranveli Beach Hotel for quiet holiday in sri lanka.
Warm regards and all best wishes for staff in Ranveli Beach Resort.
Suda Udaya
CEO/President of Udaya Group
Melbourne
Australia.

Room Tip: select the room on the beach and swimming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

During my last days vacation in Srilanka, I decided to ended in Mount Lavinia, because of geographic place. It was a good place to relax after long 7 days tour in different city of Srilanka.
Ranveli beach resort, was my destination, & it was the best choice I've made. Great view form the room, the wild Indian Ocean & the famous Mount Lavinia Hotel, Clean & Wide room. Perfect service. It offer B&B with every reservation, you can add as well HB or FB.
A laundry service available. 100 ruppes (0.76$) per piece

A tiny problem, it's located near the rail station, so you can hear the train every time it pass by.

Room Tip: I suggest to choose a room in the first floor, it have a great view on the Indian Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NadimHakim86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

worst possible stay at hotel in Sri Lanka.Rooms were absolutely disgusting.Damp smell,torn,moulded curtains.Very noisy due to location very close to busy railway line.possibility of getting run over by trains while trying to cross over the railway line in order to get to the beach.Hotel is nothing like the photos on the internet. A/C does not blow cold air.Food was terrible,cooked by the same work force.Found about 3 inch metal wire in the food dish.No apology from the management.90 rupees including 10% service just for one cup of coffee.Dirty rooms,blocked shower drains in the room.Worn out mattress,bedding.dark foreboding corridors.
PLEASE DO NOT BOOK IN TO THIS HOTEL. terrible, terrible,terrible, would not go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: no rooms called good in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siddi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are shocked to read your review which shows so much Anger, Revenge and hurted.
Dear sir

However let us read what you wrote on our guest review book. ‘’VERY FRIENDLY STAFF.WILLING TO GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO HELP.HOTEL IS VERY BASIC.’’ You stayed for six days paid US $ 270 (157GBP)we changed your room from no 18 to no 21 when the A/C was not working properly and you were happy. The asst. manager Mr. Manjula apologized you for metal piece found in the prawn devilled. We did not charge. But you ate the whole portion as it was tasty. The previous day you ate vegetable fried rice and fish devilled.
Coffee cup Rs.90 is not even 40p .10% service charge is charged in all hotels in the world. If your stay was very terrible why did you stay for six days and write a good review on our book? Did you make any complains to the manager?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is my second visit to Ranveli with my daughter .Nice hotel which has all the five star facilities though it's a budget hotel. Closer to the main road. Good food, clean rooms and most of all very friendly staff. Good cheap place to relax with the pool and the private beach a must place to visit again. Keep it up Ranveli. All the best

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savithri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, General Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
So happy to hear that you had a wonder full holiday at Ranveli. being on of the so many repeat customers, we appreciate your comments so much. hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is the worst possible stay at hotel we could have imagined. My husband booked this hotel looking at so good reviews of the same on trip advisor and we were very excited as it was our first tour to Sri Lanka. Though the tour went well but this resort had left us with a sour experience. Not recommended for any family or couples who would like to have a decent hotel for staying.

Room Tip: Please don't get lured by the fakeness! You will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shweta & Ashwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Owner at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Shwetha and Ashwin
We are so sad and disturbed why you wrote a Review with so much hatred and anger.when so many Guests over the years have been very happy staying at our Hotel. you haven't mentioned your sour experience and why you felt cheated after all you paid only US $ 88 nett for 2 days for a AC room with H/W and Cable TV which including B'fast for two and all Taxes.If you remember I took my time to arrange your shopping in Colombo so that your stay ill be comfortable .wish you all the very best for a bright future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patna, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I chose this hotel after seeing thee reviews on tripadvisor, this hotel has everything that is required to make a trip memorable.Its well maintained,equipped with a swimming pool,and location is also great.Its right beside the beach.Since I like trains a lot,I liked this hotel even more,there is a reasonably busy railway line beside the hotel,ie between hotel and the beach.
Food served was also excellent.
Just a caution,take only the Katunayake expressway for commuting to Colombo airport,else it takes too much time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pranav2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
0.2 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
513 reviews
6.0 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranveli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranveli Beach Resort

Property: Ranveli Beach Resort
Address: 56/9 De Saram Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 31000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranveli Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In operation since 1972,one of the oldest budget hotels in mount Lavinia, which has been creating memorable holidays for thousands of satisfied visitors from around the world, such as USA, UK, Australia, Germany, Italy, France, Netherlands, Sweden, India, Maldives etc.Due to our long experience in the hotel trade we have many repeat guests. The main attraction in our hotel is located by the beach, adjoining to the famous Mount Lavinia Hotel and the affordable rates that we offer. Ranveli Beach Resort has 32 comfortable, Clean, well furnished rooms (with attached bathrooms) equipped with standard and Semi Luxury amenities. All A/C double rooms and family rooms are equipped with Air Conditioning, hot/cold water and cable TV and also over looking the Indian ocean. Most of our rooms are with private Balcony where can watch the incredible “sunset” or the breath taking view of the Indian Ocean.In addition we are famous for our very friendly and helpful staff. The well laid large Garden and our private beach can be used for “sun bathing & relaxing while enjoying the fresh air of the Mount Lavinia beach.Most guests like our “Rice & Curry “However our restaurant offers its guests a tasteful a la carte menu of Eastern, Western & International cuisine at a very low price. Sea food "Platter” which is prepared by our well experienced chef is delicious and popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ranveli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranveli Beach Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing