We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is ok, but beware of exchange rates”
Review of Rivi Ras Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rivi Ras Hotel
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel is ok, but beware of exchange rates”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Went to this hotel which has been booked via booking.com. fare was fine and the hotel and rooms itself are ok close to the beach. Railway tracks are closeby but this is normal for mount lavinia. only annoying thing was the payment procedure. staff did not tell in advance that only LKR or CC card payment is accepted. After long discussion also EUR accepted but with a absurd conversion rate. Checked the daily rate but had to pay nearly 10 EUr on top. 'Annoying discussion after a nice stay. check payment procedures in advance before ýou destroy all your relaxed feelings..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiamachturlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

v basic. 'Superior'=a/c only.
Noisy rail 100m away!
Window shades do not fit/work. Pillows/covers/mattresses/linen have seen better days. No bath: just a leaky shower/ broken sanitaryware/ mould everywhere.
Light fittings in odd places, some do not work/ no ergonomics!
Friendly reception/ other staff were just bored/sullen/ seemed to hate their jobs, esp restaurant: did not have items actually on the menu + do not entertain any alternatives: the answer is NO!
'Breakfast' is insipid/inconsistent/hard 'toasts'/no variety at all: same EVERYDAY!
Dinner in the restaurant: inconsistent quality/quantity/choice+ service to match!
Rooms let by the hour/half-day to 'courting couples'.
Use for transit only, no long stays.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madhusudan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels

London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were a group of friends travelling round Sri Lanka scuba diving and stayed at various 'value' hotels over the previous 2 weeks.Rivi Ras does have a good location and a nice beach bar but the staff weren't the friendliest we came across. The rooms were clean enough (we had 3 between us all) and comfortable. Breakfast would have been better if it had been vaguely warm on arrival, but that was fairly typical throughout the whole visit!
One thing to be aware of - we had some cash taken from our purses - it was our own fault as we'd left it inside the purses, inside bags inside suitcases but unfortunately didn't lock the cases, so it meant that who ever took it had spent time searching whilst we were out diving. It did spoil the trip a little, so don't be complacent about security, fortunately only cash was taken, my credit card etc were left in the purse.....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

we had booked and paid for an 8 day stay to watch the cricket, we arrived on a sunday evening, and suffice to say after seeing our 'superior' room, we did not stay one night but returned to Hikkaduwa (3 hrs away) as our room was filthy. Some friends were also booked to stay,and their standard room was worse, needless to say, they also left.
I dont mind if the rooms are basic, but i do expect clean, especially as it is advertised that way.This is more of a Hostel than Hotel.The sheets were dirty, pillowcases ripped, mould everywhere in the bathroom, doors that were made of plywood, the only thing that worked was the a/c but that was'nt enough to cancel out the poor state of their 'Superior' room

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gemc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Nice, comfy, very close to the beach.
It's far from the city (mt lavinia is a nice neighbourhood about 6 km away from Colombo downtown) but if you think that Colombo hasn't much to offer and you get there with 500-600 rupies (2 euro)... it's value for money.

The place has simple but clean rooms built in colonial-style-cottages facing a big garden and it's close to the sea.
minus: trains are passing by, (as in 50% of the country), but you'll get used soon.
The service is very good and the breakfast delivered in the room is a pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sisisisisisisisok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvanid, General Manager at Rivi Ras Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your kind and positive review. We hope you had a pleasant stay at hour hotel and look forward to receiving you again the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

To start I'm a Sri lankan and I booked this hotel through booking.com. When I went to the hotel I found out that Booking.com has charged me more than double the price. If the site was clear that these rates were for tourist I would have saved a lot of money.

Actually what I was really disappointed was that i was told that they cannot give me the local rates. But I know for a fact that they could have made some adjustments and provided me with the local rates if they wanted to. But they choose not to. Anyway the bathroom was filled with mildu which was pretty disgusting. Even the breakfast wasnt that much good compared to the price they charged us.

Now to talk about the good side. At 1st I was impressed with the size of the room. It was a larger room and was very clean. Even the TV was nice. Also I loved the fact that the hotel was right next to the Mount beach which was really gorgeous. The staff was really friendly and helpful which is a must in a hotel. Regardless my bad experience I like the hotel overall.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihds6778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We stay in Rivi Ras for 1 night only.
The territory is very nice and green but the hotel is closed to the rail way. You can hear the train every 30 minutes, but during the day only. We have not heard any train during the night.
The rooms are quit big, equipped with air condition, there is nice terrace also. But everything is not new and fresh. There is no single room.
Staff is not very smart. At check in they have asked us to pay in USD and it took a day of negotiations to take them a decision to accept the payment in local currency.
So, this hotel is not look about the foreign tourists.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuchsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
0.2 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
#44 of 51 in Colombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivi Ras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivi Ras Hotel

Property: Rivi Ras Hotel
Address: 50/2 De Saram | Mount Lavinia, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivi Ras Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rivi Ras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing