We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay in srilanka, u don't want feel that u r in other country.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chamenka Guest House
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Chandimage and his mother in law are taking care of us like their own child. They are truly honest to us, they will assist us to where we can visit and which place is worst, so that we can avoid spending currency useless. The guest house is centre to Dehiwala bus stand and railway station so that we can reach colombo1 easily. And also Mt.Lavinia beach is just 2Kms from here.
Overall if u go onetime u will not forget the people's who were there...........

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venumrsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

Chandima and his mother-in-law Suranganie who own and run the Chamenka Guest House are wonderful people who are very kind and helpful. The house is clean and well kept. Located about 2 kl. from the Mount Lavinia Hotel and around 12 kl. from the center of Colombo. I have stayed here 2 times now and have found it a very safe and congenial place to stay.The room rates are very resonable and I don't think you can find a better place to stay than this.Also the food they serve is very good and I have enjoyed both western and singhalese dishes here. I am an American traveling alone around Sri Lanka. These people and their home are a wonderful introduction to the Sri Lanken culture. Also they can arrange safe and trust worthy transportation for short or long trips around Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I feel really lucky that I found this small family-run guest house in Colombo. It's in a nice, quiet and safe area with all kinds of shops, services, public transports as well as an excellent and good value restaurant (Golden Cabin) just a short walk away. The family which is running the place is very very nice and helpful and all of them speak very good English. The owner of the place arranged a couple of things for us, p.e. a metered tuk tuk and laundry service and we were really satisfied with all of these. Our room (upstairs in the main building) was very clean, quite spacious and had a very comfortable double bed as well as an attached bathroom. The sleeping quality was very good as the bed was very comfortable and as it was very quiet during the night. We didn't use the AC in the room, only the fan and this was good enough for us. Wifi was free of charge and great working (also in the room). Furthermore, there is a nice and comfy living room area with a TV downstairs in the main building where you can hang out and make friends with the other guests. Breakfast was excellent. We got omelette, toast, fruits, fruit juice, coconut rottie, vegetable rolls and tea/coffee. And the best of it: it was served with a smile. I am really satisfied with this place and will come back for sure if I have to stay in Colombo again, especially the value for money is so excellent.Some more general information: The tuk tuk from Colombo Fort trainstation was about 500 Rupies. You can also take the busses going to or beyond Dehiwala and get off at Galle Road - Hillstreet. A tuk tuk from there (Hillstreet) is only about 70 Rupies. Solo (female) travellers will definitely feel safe in the guesthouse and I can recommend them staying there. We used a moskito plug and had no single moskito in the room during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjathe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Good place to stay near Colombo, it's just a short ride to the Dehiwala train station. Excellent breakfast and very friendly people! The free WiFi is appreciated as well. Overall I can recommend this guesthouse to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NiekvdMaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

didnt expect much when me n my wife got to sri lanka for course related need ...but have to say we really enjoyed our stay for 5 days ...and it was all thanks to mr. chandima and family !!! totally away from the commotion of the city ...with no safety issues ...and very warm and helpful hosts !!!we were welcomed with a nice sumptous breakfast and a neat and private room !!! Mr. chandima was more than helpful in finding n getting to places ...in fact he actually dropped us a couple of times to our destination !!! All thanx to mr.chandima we could see a very good part of colombo in a very short time through mr. fazal !!! all in all a very pleasant trip ... i highly recommend this place to anyone who plans to have a safe n pleasant trip to colombo !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarosh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The owner and mum-in-law are excellent hosts and I am touched by the warmth and hospitanilty for the 4 nights I have stayed there. This is a family runned business and it is located away from the hustle and bustle of central Colombo. A nice and quiet place to stay and affordable compared to the other star rated hotels. The stay has offered me an opportunity to know more about the place and its people thru the personal touch of the hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalphKSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

just outside of colombo in dehiwala, this guesthouse is in a wonderful location and the owners were lovely, offering us advice on where to go and the best way to get there! it was a great experience staying here, a unique experience staying in a sri lankan home, but the rooms were still private, with a separate door away from the main entrance. Also, importantly the owners where not over bearing, offering us space when we needed it, but also eager for a chat whenever we felt like it, offering insightful knowledge.
A great place to stay, close to Mount Levina beach, and alot nicer than down town colombo.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
1.3 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#9 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
152 reviews
0 mi away
Beverly Hills Hotel
Beverly Hills Hotel
#21 of 47 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
26 reviews
0.9 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#3 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamenka Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamenka Guest House

Address: 44C Pallidora Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 31000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: £27 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chamenka Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chamenka guest house has fully furnished 06 bed rooms with tiled floor,hot water,cable tv,free wifi,free breakfast,24 hour reception,self catering facility,free parking,travel desk,no curfew,transport arrange ments with reliable english speaking drivers,SPA facilities can be arranged,ayurvedic treatments by a world famous doctor at affordable price at Dehiwala,Tuk tuk service to Mount lavinia beach,and to any part of Colombo,tours to Sinharaja rain forest,visits to puppert musium-Dehiwala ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Chamenka Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing