We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does not disappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Does not disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Very comfortable beds, clean rooms with sea view balcony, extensive breakfast spread with both international and Sri Lankan options. From the Sous Chef down to the clean-up staff, everyone was very helpful, attentive and took personal responsibility for their guests. Free wi-fi at their business centre is convenient.

The front desk staffing, though, leaves much to be desired. Virtually all staff were trainees, with only one visible fully-trained person. Not surprising that our registration which we had made from overseas, could not be found on multiple visits to the front desk, nor could our credit card number be found which we had given to secure that booking.

Mt Livinia Hotel could also be a better corporate citizen by cleaning up the garbage-strewn rocks flanking either side of the hotel leading down to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Guest thank you for writing to us on tripadvisor. thank you for the wonderful comments mentioned about our cuisine and facilities. thank you for highlighting the loopholes at our service points your feedback is highly appreciated and necessary action has already been taken to rectify same and make sure that your next stay with us will be nothing short of memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    850
    348
    136
    72
See reviews for
529
958
139
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

went there to this hotel for the sea food buffet every evening. great food and surprisingly non-5-star prices. location was also great next to the beach. the rooms also looked great from what we saw but sadly did not stay there. next trip to colombo i would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayankKhanduja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Dear guest thank you for the lovely comments regarding our establishment. Hope that you will stay with us during your next trip to Colombo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east lincolnshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Love this hotel, general areas are immaculate, pool amazing with lovely ledges to relax on in the water, restaurant food amazing but the hot buffet selection is in a non air conditioned area, which can become uncomfortable if queuing, also the staff clear your plates away even if someone at the table is still eating. All bar areas were efficient, with lots of variety, afternoon tea a definate favourite.

Spa, wow best massage I have ever had, worth every penny.

Bedroom, fabulous view over the ocean, where a local man fished every morning, no drastic noise from the train line, big room, fab balcony, beautifully air conditioned, bathroom was a really good size but on occasions the shower went really cold or really hot and to be honest cou.d have done with a little titivating.

Drive from airport was scary, of course not the hotels fault but something to bear in mind when booking.

Good restaurant up the road on the right, no air con but ask and they wheel a portable one over for you.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cazlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Dear guest thank you for taking the time to write to us on tripadvisor. Thank you for the lovely comments mentioned regarding the facilities we hope to indulge you again at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Built originally as a grand residence for four former British Governors, The Mount Lavinia Hotel is located on the beach at Mount Lavina, about 12km south of central Colombo. It’s a striking set of whitewashed buildings that greets you upon arrival and the charming smile of the guards dressed in white uniforms with Pith helmets will elicit a smile from even the most weary of travellers.
We arrived at 3pm on a Monday and it was clear that someone was getting married. I later found out that on that particular day, the hotel had paid host to no less than 13 weddings. Mondays and Thursdays are popular days for weddings in Sri Lanka it seems, and the Mount Lavinia is a very popular place for wedding receptions.
We were shown to room 107, a perfectly pleasant room but it smelt a little damp that day so we requested an alternative. This room is very close to the sea which might offer an explanation for the smell. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating and quickly offered us room 505 instead. This room was a little smaller than 107 but we preferred it and accepted straight away. We were in the refurbished wing of the hotel where the rooms are modern with tiled floors, modern shower rooms and uninterrupted views of the sea. I you prefer some old world elegance,;you might prefer rooms in the other wing where carpets, bathtubs and draped silk above the beds are on offer.
One reason we chose the Mount Lavina was the reputation of the Chef, the very famous Dr Publis Silva. He is a remarkable man who has worked in some of London’s top hotels and whose name is ubiquitous with the best Sri Lankan cuisine. The food here is delicious. The Governor’s Restaurant offers a choice of a la carte or buffet dining and both options are excellent. The buffet is incredibly high quality and some dishes are prepared to order as you dine. The choice is enormous and each evening they try to theme the meals, for example Mediterranean, Brazilian, Asian, etc.
Sleep on our first and second nights was disturbed by noise coming from the various functions around the hotel. Our particular room suffered thumping base music noise from the nearby roof terrace. On the Tuesday evening my patience broke and I made calls to reception to complain and eventually visited the night manager in person to make my complaint. The next morning a meeting with Mr Harinda Weerasinghe, resident manager, had been arranged. He could not have been more apologetic and understanding. He listened to our grievances and took action. He offered us alternative rooms but we elected to stay in our room after assurances that the noise would be controlled and would not go past 11pm on most evenings. He also arranged for me to meet Chef Publis who very kindly signed a copy of his book for me.
Mr Weeasinghe epitomises the human element of this hotel. At every level the personnel are simply delightful. You are greeted with a smile and with genuine interest in your activities. They want to make sure that your stay with them is a happy one. I was so impressed at how our room cleaner considered our personal preferences and arranged our room accordingly. The people in the restaurants were always willing to help and offer guidance on Sri Lankan food. They were attentive without being servile and they made one feel special.
The hotel has a large terrace with pool and one can take afternoon tea here – a highly recommended experience. Everything the Ritz has to offer without the stuffiness or the price! You get great views of Colombo in the distance too.
When the Indian Ocean beacons; succumb to the temptation. The Mount Lavinia has its own private beach which is clean and well maintained. There are sun loungers and towels for hotel guests to use and drinks and food available too. The Sea Cove restaurant provides the opportunity to eat delicious seafood meals by candlelight, with your feet in the sand (if desired).
On the north side of the hotel is the public beach which you can access by crossing the railway line (with all necessary caution I hasten to add). The beach is lined with restaurants and bars which serve a range of foods including Chinese and Sri Lankan. The food in these places is pricey compared to the eateries on Galle Road but one is paying for the location and the view of the ocean. My personal view is that the food at the Mount Lavinia, whilst more expensive, is actually much better value for money on account of its quality and variety.
Adjacent to the hotel is Mount Lavinia Railway Station. Trains run north to Colombo or south towards Galle. They are not that frequent, and although they hoot each time they pass, to warn pedestrians who walk along the track, the noise is more charming than it is disturbing. For a taste of Sri Lanka, I thoroughly recommend you invest 15 pence in a return ticket in third class and ride the train to Colombo and back. Sri Lankan’s are so friendly and you’ll have a great time on the train and see something to open your eyes to the reality of living in a developing nation. You’ll also see remnants of the damage caused by the Tsunami as well as the slow but steady progress being made to re-build shattered lives.

Room Tip: High rooms offer uninterrupted views of the sea, but could be more prone to noise from the frequent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Dear guest thank you for writing to us on tripadvisor…it’s always lovely to hear back from a guest. Thank you for the lovely comments regarding the facilities and cuisine…thank you for highlighting our service element in your review…our team is and always will be our biggest asset…areas of concern have been identified for further developments and we hope your next stay with us will be nothing short of excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loudonville, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Best view in colombo. Both day time and night views are good. The colonial setting is also great. The food is decent and a little pricey. We did not stay there but went for a visit. Eat outside on the varendah.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memeEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear reviewer thank you for the lovely comments on Tripadvisor…we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you visit Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

We only stayed one night at the end- I wish we had stayed a week. We had a great room with a sea view, massive comfy bed, very clean, etc. Ordered great room service. VERY GOOD STAFF- friendly and speak very good english and very efficient.
My only note would be at breakfast, the patisseries were great but the cooked food was a tad greasy- But i am really being ultra picky there as really the whole experience was perfect.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 4th floor over looking the sea- it was very quiet and had a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAT141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear guest thank you for the lovely comments mentioned on tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed the view and the service. Your comment on the cuisine has been passed along to the kitchen for necessary improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Beware Weddings. The suite rooms are OK, but the hotel survives on weddings night and day. It is on top of the railway, so expect to wake up at 5am. The food in the Seafood cove is fresh and nicely prepared. The food generally and buffet is 3 star adequate. We left a day early. But the room is kept clean, the room service is efficient, the wine list is drinkable and the spa does an OK massage. Is it 5 star. No way. Is it the best you will get in Colombo. Probably close.

Room Tip: High floor is essential to get away from the beach, weddings and railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear guest thank you for taking the time to write to us on tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. However considering the negatives highlighted the romantic legacy of the hotel does attract many weddings and honeymooners to our property. The railway line is no way connected to the hotel, it is run adjoining to the property. We hope to have you with us again during your next visit to Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
3.4 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Property: Mount Lavinia Hotel
Address: 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing