We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful for a few nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We started our 11 day tour of Sri Lanka here for 2 nights and found the place to be a lovely starting point! The hotel has some great history, is a beautiful place, and is close to Colombo, if in need of a little renovation in the rooms. However, the pool, restaurant and bar facilities were great, just what we needed after a long flight, and the food was very good (we tried both the buffet and a la carte). The hotel also has great views, and the staff we lovely. I'd recommend it for a few nights if you what some charm and to experience a bit of old Sri Lankan hospitality.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Katy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear guest thank you for recommending our property to our many tripadvisor readers. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return for a longer period during your next stay in Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,468 - 1,474 of 2,671 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Imposing place. Big and elegant. Incredible breakfast. Great pool. Good size rooms. A bit past its prime. Our room had A/C but it didn't work, so it was unpleasantly hot. Worth the money. Trust the pictures, but realize it's not quite as polished as it may seem.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Everycountryplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our heritage property...we are currently undergoing renovations to ensure that all the modern comforts will be available to you during your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Mount Lavinia is definitely a grand old colonial hotel with great views of the ocean from the private beach. There is a very good fish restaurant right off the beach on property. The hotel was prepping for Prince Charles birthday party so I imagine during my one night stay the activity was above average. The Mount Lavinia is not a new hotel so it wouldn't be fair to compare it to a Westin or Mandarin. The room was huge with a fairly spacious bathroom. The bed was descent. The furniture in the room was sparse and very uncomfortable. There were two showers in my room, one in the tub and one small stand-alone unit. This is a old school hotel with big heavy key to lug around. Breakfast was very nice, with plenty of seating in and outside. The staff was great. Hopefully we'll see a refurb in the next few years to take this hotel to the next level.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear reviewer thank you for choosing to stay at our iconic heritage property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to inform you that we are currently on the process of refurbishing and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Always a must to go spend a day at the beach and have lunch pool-side. The staff are always friendly and very welcoming. I have stayed at the hotel on various occasions and have never had a bad experience. My most recent trip in November 2013 included a couple of visits, including a day during CHOGM when most Colombo hotels were turning away visitors, this was not the case with the Mount Lavinia, we were welcomed with open arms! We also had a spa which was brilliant although not cheap!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear guest thank you for recommending the Mount Lavinia hotel to our many tripadvisor readers...whilst thanking you for your repeated patronage we do look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Hotel was in a great location easy access to train station, making it easy to travel around. Food was good and staff were lovely. Great Jewelers on same Road, called SCIA very friendly and good prices. We had afternoon Tea there. Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the new wing and not the original, Rooms facing the Ocean are the best of cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest thank you for choosing to stay at our property we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and wish you many more pleasant times with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

An interesting history to this very old hotel. Breakfast was excellent.
The staff in the lobby were helpful and friendly. Unfortunately, waiter service at the lounge bar was poor. The room was not up to the standard of a 4.5 star hotel; it needed a good clean! In truth, the room was long overdue for its refurbishment! We had booked 2 nights and did not get our money's worth. We also ate at the Seafood Cove on the beach, did not get the Jumbo King-size prawns we ordered but got included in our bill to pay for them! Have to say that the rest of the seafood that did arrive at our table was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Come103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear guest thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on tripadvisor...whilst thanking you for the positives mentioned we also thank you for highlighting the aspects that needs to be improved as we as a property believe in continues improvement in order to ensure that your next stay with us will be nothing short of delightful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Mnt Lavinia is an institution, or so i've been told. So i had high expectations for my stay. Sadly these didn't materialise.
The room I stayed in was nice but nothing special, it was quite bland and generic. It lacked the small touches which made it unique to the Mnt Lavinia. Overall, the hotel needs to undergo some cosmetic work to give it a 5* feel and the rooms need to feel more colonial if that's the theme they are going for.

Finally, it is pretty obscene to charge $7 for wifi. That is a blatant rip off.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellBelle740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Guest we are truly disappointed that your recent stay at our property was not up to your expectations. Please be assured that your constructive feedback is much appreciated and that we are working on our shortcomings to ensure that the best service is offered to you should you chose to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Anarva Mount Lavinia
Anarva Mount Lavinia
#3 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#6 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
132 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,436 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Address: No. 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: £74 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing