We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb one night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2008

After reading reviews about trains and renovations we were glad this was booked for just one night. How wrong could we have been?!
Yes there are a lot of weddings. Our driver explained that this hotel is the dream venue for many Sri Lankan couples and who could blame them. The hotel itself is very grand with lovely views and heaps of atmosphere.
We had a suite in the governors wing and my husband had to fetch me a chair to get onto the bed it was so high up! The room had four balconies but only three were accessible. The shutters did not fit perfectly and the night we were there we had a sudden storm - one second we were stood enjoying the view and next we were flying around trying to close shutters.
The food in the buffet restaurant was excellent - it was a Sri Lankan night - as I like trying different tastes I had a great time. The manager kindly moved our table so that we got a better view of the entertainment and also a huge plant that was obstructing our view! What service. We were both sad to leave and look back on Mount Lavinia as one of the top hotels we stayed at out of five.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l0ve-t0-travel-m0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,208 - 2,214 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2008

The Mount Lavina Hotel has a reputation which precedes it, but thankfully it did everything it was supposed to.

Check in and the service thereon in was perfect and the staff made you feel nothing was too much effort.

There was a choice three restaurants. The first serving help yourself buffet meals and open at breakfast, lunch and dinner; the second serving light snacks and open at lunch and dinner; the third on the beach and specialising in seafood - evenings only and reservations advised. We sampled all and found the food to be of high quality with excellent service.

The hotel has its own private beach and whilst swimming is not often advised due to strong currents, there is a lifeguard on duty to advise. The beach is long and tranquil and I was suprised by the lack of guests on it. I think I only counted five in the middle of the day! I have read that the waters are sometimes polluted from nearby Colombo, but I saw no evidence of this during my visit.

The rooms were well proportioned - larger than European standards, but smaller than North American ones - and well equipped. My room had a lovely view over the sea and up the coast towards Colombo.

The hotel is about 30 mins drive from Colombo and the hotel provides a taxi service and special tours to Colombo, as well as other nearby places of interest. There is plenty of opportunity to sample other areas of Sri Lanka without breaking the bank.

The hotel provides quite a few activities, but it should be noted that these are often restricted to certain days only, so if there is one thing you are keen to do, make sure you ring the hotel to check the days it is offered.

In summary, it did everything you would expect of a five star hotel - just beware the volume of weddings the place has!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babydrag0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We stayed in the Mount Lavina for the 1st night of our tour and found the hotel very comfortable. We ate in the restuarant on the beach which was lovely, we were able to pick what fish we wanted from the display they would weigh it and then cook it for us very nice.

Although we only stayed in the hotel for 1 night our rooms were very nice with a sea view and very clean. The staff were very attentive and we would have like to have stayed longer to really get a feel for the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We stayed as a family at the Mount Lavinia for two nights before starting a tour.
We were tired when we arrived and were a bit dissapointed with the rooms as they smelt damp and the room for the children (teenagers), only had twin beds in, however reception promptly sorted out an extra bed.
When we had recovered from travelling we began to enjoy our surroundings.
We liked the railway line by the hotel, and spent time watching out for the trains -although we might not of liked it if we had been closer!
The food was pretty good and we loved an ice carving of an elephant in the restaurant.We also ate at the seafood restaurant on the beach which was very nice
We did a historical tour of the hotel which was quite interesting but some of the rooms were being refurbished.
All in all Mount Lavinia was perfect for our first hotel- we had a chance to catch up on sleep and recharge our batteries before we set off on a tour.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainbow67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Very good hotel
Very good staff. Most of them come just after Hotel School.
Fantastic Location.
If you don't have time to stay one night, try to have a lunch in the buffet restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Service
Thank buzz1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We stayed at the hotel in June 2008 for 12 nights. Room in the Governors Wing which i felt left everything slightly damp. Also believed we were the only ones on the floor as it was not very busy. Standard of service very high and staff always willing to help and chat. Felt that the retention of the "colonial" feel was more for the locals who got married there and then had homecoming parties after the honeymoon - often as many as 10 wedings a day going on so often felt we were intruding as we walked around in holiday clothes.

Food was either a buffett at a cost of about £10 a head, good value if you can eat till you drop. Or in the Governors restaurant which was ok for a la carte. There was also a poolside snack bar. Beer and wine reasonable priced but a massive wine list was in fact over ambitious and they seldom had a choice of more than 3 or 4 types - even the staff were embarrased about constantly saying no we havnt got that one.

The town was pretty standard and bustling with nothing of note to see and down a long road to get to. Had a meal at the Lion Pub - (not a pub at all), very reasonable chinese and big portions. The little supermarket over the road from the Lion is worth a try as it has a cafe which does nice snacks sweet and savoury at local prices - so about £1 for a plate of samosas and nibbles of various sorts.

Restaurants nearby - down on the beach at the end of College Avenue to the left was the Golden Mile and to the right was saefood on the beach. Both are worth missing although they looked promising - or perhaps we ordered the wrong thing.

Our find was just outside the hotel about 100 yards called THE ANGLER. A small place run by husband and wife. Basically if you wanted local fare Mr Thushil would tell you what he had in today and his wife cooked it fresh in the back - all home made and lovely sauce spiced to your liking. Plus if you wanted english or chinese that was on too.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brian96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

We stayed at the Mt Lavinina in April 2008. Some confusion over the room requirement - we were 2 adults and 2 children, and shown to a room with a HUGE bed for 3!! Not ideal. However, the Lobby Manager dealt with us and secured us a room with a normal double bed and 2 singles for the children. Loved the hotel and facilities - pool is amazing for young children - prices are excelllent too. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, such is the appeal and attraction. Can't wait to come back here to be honest!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank frances68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#6 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anarva Mount Lavinia
Anarva Mount Lavinia
#5 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
18 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,431 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Address: No. 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: £76 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing