We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, but delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Quaint, but delightful”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A few miles south of smoggy Colombo, converted from an old colonial-style (1806) governor's mansion. I personally felt at home, back in the 1960s!
Our room was good, well fitted, although the bathroom was a bit dingy. There is a good seafood restaurant on the beach, although some might find it a bit breezy. The pool, bar and main restaurant overlook the beach in a lovely setting.
Dining was astoundingly cheap especially by comparison with London;; even wines were very affordable. The breakfast and dinner buffets were very extensive, supported by smiling, friendly staff. Even a harmonious musical group (Sri Lanka's answer to Westlife?) to set the scene. Patrons mostly of a "mature vintage", so for once I felt young!
Just edges a 5*

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    857
    350
    137
    73
See reviews for
534
964
141
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After visiting Mt. Lavinia again after ten years it still retains it's charm, but, like previous reviews,it is looking a bit frayed around the edges. All the staff were excellent, helpful & friendly, room were clean but this is where things could do with updating, especially bathrooms, although some work looks like it has already started. Food was, in general, good but the menu was the same as ten years ago. There is a great deal of developement going on in Columbo with lots of new hotels being built which will reflect on the service at Mt.Lavinia which can't survive on the past & weddings!
We were there at the same time as the Youth Conference & breakfast was very noisy, but we waited until after 9am when they had all left for the day & things were considerably quieter.
There are also constant weddings & photographers in the bar area.
It's also worth extra for a full sea view room, & if things aren't right - complain!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baddbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Without a shadow of a doubt I highly recommend this place.It is beautiful with a romantic story behind hotel. Food is a best of quality in the whole Sri Lanka with Chef Pablis in a lead! Loby Manager Tinesh and Concierge Manjula made our stay even more comfortable and pleasant. We were celebrating our 10th Wedding Anniversary witha big party on top of the roof, it was all well arranged and Manjula would go out of his way to make sure that we had everything we needed during our stay. Thank you Mt Lavinia for making our holidays enjoyable!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bapasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I had high expectations of this hotel but sadly feel it is running on its past reputation rather than current service. As others have said there is a bit of a time-warp element to the rooms which need redecorating, I am all for old world charm but not from as recently as the 1980s. Most of the staff were helpful and friendly, particularly the doormen and porters but we had a very unfortunate incident when a barman who had previously served us 'didn't see us' when we had Tamil guests, this attitude is unacceptable well anywhere but totally unexpected in an international hotel.

The setting is beautiful, we absolutely loved the beach seafood restaurant and the choice and preparation of food as well as the service there was great. The terrace bar service was a little erratic, even when there was no one else around it took ages for drinks to be served and the pool guy/life guard was clearly not enjoying his job at all!

This hotel, probably like many others, clearly makes a large proportion of its income from entertaining large groups. On the Sunday there was over amplified live jazz at the restaurant/pool and not being keen on this we decided to go down to the beach but there was a vast social day arranged for a Ministry so it was impossible to go there. so back up to the terrace and the over loud music. Unfortunately our last 2 days also coincided with the World Youth Conference and the entire place then turned into a sort of nightmare hostel/ airport waiting scene. There was nowhere to sit in the (only) air conditioned bar because the sofas were covered in sleeping bodies and rucksacks. It seemed that the hotel will take in these overwhelming large parties and are not concerned that these leave no facilities for their regular guests. I don't come on holiday to sit in my room, I can do that at home!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2adults2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Mount Lavinia Hotel. We apologise for any inconvenience experienced due to the large group guests and functions that took place during your stay. However this is part of our client repertoire and we do our best to provide a comfortable stay for all our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed the meal and service at our Seafood Cove and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Worth to stay for your holidays in Sri Lanka. Old western design, good seaview from the room, very friendly and helpful staffs. Just open the door in your room to listen to the waves, enjoy the Indian ocean. You can see lots of traditional wedding ceremony here to understand more about Sri Lanka's culture

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We just had an overnight stay at the Lavinia before flying out from Ratmalana airport which is ten minutes away by taxi (note: NOT the main Bandaraniake airport which is to the north of Colombo). So we didn't use the private beach, but it did look nice as did the terrace swimming pool. However, the hotel is now hemmed in by urban sprawl so don't expect a rural retreat.

The Lavinia retains much of its colonial-era charm. It is a bit frayed around the edges, but we didn't mind that as it seemed to contribute a bit of authenticity. Our room probably hadn't been updated for a couple of decades, which gave it a slightly dingy 1980s feel at odds with modern tastes. However it was fairly clean.

The evening we were there they had an Indian food buffet going, which was pretty good. A very early departure meant no time to try the breakfast.

Service couldn't be faulted in any serious way, although by the very high standards of Sri Lanka we felt it was a little graceless at times.

The Lavinia didn't quite hit Very Good in my rating, but it was overall a nice place to stay and I would certainly stay there again if I was using Ratmalana Airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magellan762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very nice old style colonial building,lovely sea view room,good decor,very helpful and polite room service staff.
We booked this hotel as B&B basis and arrived at the hotel at about 10.30 but according to the reception staff,our room wouldn't be available until 14.00pm so we waited in reception for one hour then staff member asked us to go to poolside restaurant for lunch but due to Easter Sunday, restaurant was fully booked so we didn't get the table....anyway after 12.30 pm we were given a alternate room on 5th floor to relax until our room would be ready,Anyway our room was very spacious and airy and room service staff were excellent,hotel has its lovely private beach,sunset view from our balcony was awesome.Apart from check in issue,we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Hotel has train line running at the side,ask reception staff to not to get the room on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snehal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
3.4 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Property: Mount Lavinia Hotel
Address: 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing