We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Colonial Styled Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Visited the Mount Lavinia Hotel on early July 2014.Excellent architecture , but in some areas its a bit run down.
The doorman were dressed as a British Colonial soldiers in white , they are very friendly.
The surroundings was amazing , walking distance to the beach , and we saw a maze of railways just in front of the hotel.Stunning view of the pool and the breakfast area.
Everyone were nice , and polite , overall its a very nice experience.Great hotel.

Room Tip: Sea View room would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Erwin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,250 - 1,256 of 2,668 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

On arrival we were received very well by the door man and the front desk. We immediately loved the ambiance and decor of the main lobby.As requested we got the ocean view room, however we were not given proper directions to our room (as no one accompanied us and Mount Lavinia is like a maze )and for a good 15 mins we were trying to figure out the way and finally to our saving grace we found a staff who escorted us to our room.On reaching our room a big plate of uneaten scattered food was kept just to nxt our door, uncalled for ,but happens.

The room: Ocean view rooms are spectacular, not for the amenities but the view and natural breeze,rooms as such are Clean, basic and mid sized,bed is well made and comfortable, bathrooms are basic provided with minimal toiletries there was no dental kit,hand towel,comb,shower cap etc...After settling in we headed to the famous sea food cove restaurant by the private beach and asked for directions at the front desk,and again unclear instructions were ranted out in a jiffy,as expected there were no signage's to guide.
The restaurant was lovely,great staff,courtesy and great food.The private beach adds on to the whole charm.The buffet breakfast has a decent spread and is a mix of Srilankan and English breakfast.The service is average as the table is not well laid, Staff is a bit rude ,on asking a table spoon he got us a soup spoon and expected us to use it , It took them a good 15 mins to re-fill our glasses with water.

However, I still would recommend Mount Lavinia,for its great location, private beach,great view and its heritage value.

Room Tip: opt for ocean view rooms for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yasha_pnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for a day at this place. The ocean view rooms are great . The food spread was excellent though we just had a breakfast. The staff needs to be a little more polite though. The strange part was that the rooms had a see through bathroom!!.. Quite surprising until you realize that you could put a blind . Overall a great experience. Would love to stay again.
A colonial style hotel with the door men dressed in traditional attire. .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VijayBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Spent 10 days at the Mount Lavinia Hotel in May 2014. Super service, great food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and courteous staff. Front desk as well as back of office is most helpful. Well done guys!

Will definitely stay again in my next holiday to Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Go for a ocean front but it can be a bit noisy due to crashing waves in the off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Channa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great visit with friendly People and lovely service, i really reccomend this place, best regards to lomini in the restaurant, Very friendly girl Who helped us with lots of tips what to do in colombo..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vikarn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here just one night. What a stunning hotel! From check in to departure we couldn't have had better service from the friendly and helpful staff. Thank you to Mahesh for the warm welcome. Lovely room - with huge and most comfortable bed and nice touches like fresh flowers and complementary fruit basket and chocolates. The room/balcony looked straight out on to the ocean so we went to sleep to the sound of the waves crashing below - otherwise perfect peace. Pool and surrounding area was very enjoyable (plenty of sun beds). Breakfast great with good selection and excellent service. Don't miss the fish restaurant on the hotel's private beach - amazing setting, great food and very good service.

Room Tip: Direct ocean view - top floor - for dramatic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We decided to route to Mount Lavinia before our trip back home to Singapore for dinner. We ate the Seafood terrace. There, they serve tasty seafood eg. oysters, calamari, prawns & lobsters. All these for 2 pax at 100SGD in total, the pricing was really decent. The waves by the Indian Ocean were rough so if you're bringing kids there, be careful. It has a romantic feel where you eat under a shack, good for friends, families and couples. Pays to stay a night there even and take a drive trip around the big colonial hotels in the vicinity of hotel road. It's a lovely sight or ask your guide to drive you around. The Galle Face (which i only found out about its name after) is a lovely promenade along the indian ocean coast, right smack in the middle of Colombo. This is also very near Mt Lavinia, take an evening stroll it will be worth the while.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AyemeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anarva Mount Lavinia
Anarva Mount Lavinia
#3 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#6 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
132 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
11.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Address: No. 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: £74 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing