We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Governor's secret rendezvouz - Mount Lavinia's romantic legacy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Lavinia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Governor's secret rendezvouz - Mount Lavinia's romantic legacy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Dubbed the wedding capital of Sri Lanka , where four evening weddings could take place at a given time without disturbing the guests of the hotel, the romance of the British governor's victorian grandeur is very much alive,We stayed @ the hotel from the 12th to the 18th of August . The ocean view room was ideal for watching the day break and sunset over the ocean and experiencing the sounds of the sea from the balcony.
our baggage were delivered with care to the room on our arrival
The rooms mock four poster beds were even positioned to suite our needs when requested without any delay. even the house keeping manager and the resident engineer saw to it asap.
The rooms were comfortable,bathroom neat but heard these rooms will be refurnished/or housed in a new wing soon. i hope they keep the expensive wood.
The food was five star+. we enjoyed the srilankan and western breakfast spread every morning. The variety of fruit and herbal drinks we drank and the special cuppa of Dilmah tea made on request was something we missed in Europe and the USA in 5* hotels.
Evening buffet on every themed night lived up to t the billing.
we even arranged few dinners @ the mount for a group of our local friends who enjoyed the food as much as we did.(remember to eat at the sea food cove- fish cooked from display todays catcht from the fisherman)
The Gym needs more equipment. you can always jog on the beach to the left of the hotel or on the roads( early morning)
The service was excellent. We have never experienced so much individual attention.The front office managers,The food and beverage managers,housekeeping managers clearly understood the meaning of hospitality at its best.
will i stay at the Mount again - yes of course. Hope by then the new wing is ready to experience the full 5* comfort.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank senejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    831
    340
    136
    71
See reviews for
517
945
135
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

A long, busy drive from Colombo airport, arrived exhausted, but just time for a swim and dinner. Large bedroom with side balcony in the main building, attractive high ceilings and beautiful, heavy, dark furnishings. Yes the room was cold but blankets were delivered as soon as we asked. Probably wouldn't stay here again as a long drive back to Colombo the next morning for the start of our tour. Might be better to visit last before return to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suedancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed in a room which was facing the sea. Amazing view.
Buffet Breakfast is too good.

Reserve a table on the shore in the evening and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChennaiChandramohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Just returned from what was supposed to be an overnight getaway at Mount Lavinia Hotel. We should have stayed at the Galle Face or Cinnamon Grand.
The room was outdated, looks like it hasn't changed since the 1970's. The pillows were too soft and the bed too hard.
Was surprised the the room actually shook when the trains went by!
From previous experience I knew the waves at the beach would be big, and as expected it was even worse. There was no way to go out into the water, but can't fault the hotel for this.
The pool is not that large, seemed a little crowded.
Yes, the crows are a huge annoyance while trying to eat. My wife was pooped on, not happy.
I'll admit the burgers were good, oh, the food prices are higher than at the Galle Face Hotel or Cinnamon Grand.
Dinner was a disaster, at least for me. I ordered Vietnamese soup and Korean beef and kimchi. Oh my goodness! In what cookbook from hell did this come from! I had to send the "Korean beef" back, it was just that bad. Apparently the buffet wasn't so bad.
Breakfast. I got a waffle that was about 1/4" high, what happened to fluffy waffles? The omelet was runny. They made a good attempt at the coffee although it was rather flavorless.
We'll never go back and totally regret making the decision to go there.
If I could click the thumbs down 5 times I would.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njaneardude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed here on our first night in Sri Lanka and it was our least favourite hotel. When we arrived, we were offered a cold drink and taken to our room fairly promptly. The room itself was shabby and the bathroom was unclean and had an unpleasant smell. The view from the room was amazing - straight out on to the sea - but it would have been even better if the huge doors were double glazed and we hadn't been kept awake all night by the sound of the crashing waves! I'm sure some people would love this but it just wasn't for us after a long day of flying. On arrival, we weren't told or shown where the restaurant was or what time dinner and breakfast was served. The food was fine but nothing special and the same can be said about the service.

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank Pembu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
148 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

I doubt it is possible to find a better location that this in Colombo. What a fabulous view of the ocean, and if you had a sea facing room, you could enjoy it even more.

Having said that, I felt that the service was really bad. We had to carry our own luggage to the rooms. I reminded the reception desk at least four times for an adaptor, but I never received it. Eventually, I gave up.

At the breakfast, the juice was being served at room temperature, so I requested the waiter to serve me some cold juice at the table. He bluntly refused, and asked me to get the juice myself, and that he would thereafter serve ice on the table. It is a different story that he had to be reminded a couple of times before he actually got the ice.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SameerSah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We have been to the ML hotel many times, 20+, and we keep returning. The hotel requires the rooms to be upgraded and this is happening now, July 2010. The food is very good, one of the best breakfasts on the island, and the Sea Cove fish restaurant is excellent. It has the only private beach in SL and the beach staff are very good.
The big problem with the hotel are the crows, the hotel management do not seem to know what to do about them. Two people were pecked by crows while we were there and one of them developed an infectious cut. They constantly eat food off the breakfast table. Crows carry bacteria and I believe that it is unacceptable to have disease carrying vermin in a restaurant. They would not allow rats this freedom! Apparantly the hotel management think it is OK. They should ask those hotels who can manage the 'crow problem' how they do it. There are several spas around in ML, the Siddhalaepa Ayurvedic Hospital in Templars Road is always good, 1700SLR for a full body massage. There is an Odels at the top of Hotel Road. The auto rickshaw drivers outside the hotel are the most expensive in SL! Use one from Galle road and keep their mobile number they are half the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keralakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.4 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Property: Mount Lavinia Hotel
Address: 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing