We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mount Lodge Boutique Hotel(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Lavinia Hotel(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berjaya Hotel Colombo(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anarva Mount Lavinia(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropic Inn Hotel(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)(Great Value!)
US$37
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ivory Inn(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$31
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Villa In Lavinia(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ranveli Beach Resort(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mount Lavinia Home Stay(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
51
40
17
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
40
17
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationlocation was perfectlocked gatesri lankamin walk to the beachdorm roommosquito netlavinia beachsmall poolquiet areamount laviniastayed nightsmain roadhot wateremilecolombosinks
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Only good part about this hostel was its closeness to the beach and price.
Very stinky and small rooms. The care taker was a little finicky. His reaction to every reqeat was a No at first but then after a little convincing he agreed!
Would suggest to find some better options.

Room Tip: Rooms at ground floor are better!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderluxuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed for 4 day in total in one of the dorms, the staff were friendly and everything you need is close by; good cheap curry, busses, train station and a beach.

Located in Mount Lavinia one block in from the main st. The neighborhood is quiet and close to supermarkets and restaurants.

Note: if you have the time it is easy to reach mount Lavinia by bus from the international airport, it cost me $1.50 as oppose to $30+ for a taxi. Here's how to do it:
Exit the airport and turn left, walk to the end of the taxi area and look for a big white old bus this is the free shuttle that will take you to the bus station. At the bus station look for the 187 to Colombo Fort station, you have two options; one of the big old busses 40R or a smaller faster bus 100-150R.
When you arrive at Fort jump on the 100 and ask the driver to let you know when you reach mount Lavinia. You can then attempt to find the place yourself or tuk tuk. All up it will take you around 3hrs.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We arrived really late at night (past midnight) but the lady who attended to us, Mala, was really nice about it. Although we booked 2 beds in the 6 bed dorm on the second floor, she gave us the dorm that was on the first floor coz she didnt want us to awaken the other guests. Hence, we got the entire dorm to ourselves, which was a bonus.

The facilities were pretty basic - bedsheets and blankets were provided and there was hot water. Breakfast consists of bread, butter, jam as well as tea and coffee, which guests can make in the kitchen. The hostel is a mere 5 mins walk to Lavinia Beach. It is also within walking distance to the main street which allowed us to take a public bus to Galle. However, the taxi driver who drove us from the airport to the hostel had some problems finding the place.

Don't expect anything fancy but for the price paid, it is worth the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Colombo beach hostel is the place to stay when travelling and starting to tour sri lanka. I spend a wonderful time enjoying the close by beach and having breakfast with the wonderful owners. They are very helpful and will figure out how to get anything you may need.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The best thing about Colombo Beach Hostel is the lovely young couple who run it - they are warm, accommodating and very laid-back. The husband is a doctor who spent a lot of time backpacking through Europe and Africa; the wife studied engineering in the UK and is wonderfully fun to talk to. Dorms are spare rooms in their house - you share a kitchen and living room with the couple and their mother - so you'll literally be staying with a local family. They often asked me to join them when they were eating at home, whether it was for a big family BBQ or for pizza and beer in front of the TV. They're so easy-going that they don't have even a sign-in process or official check-out time. Unlike many hostels in the area, they don't enforce a curfew.

I enjoyed my stay so much that when I passed through Mount Lavinia two weeks later, I returned to the same hostel. Unfortunately, due to a last-minute change of plans, I had to leave abruptly, but not after taking a shower, having a nap and using their computer - the owners were so nice that they asked me not to pay them anything. I was astounded at their generosity.

The name is a bit misleading as the hostel is in Mount Lavinia, not Colombo - it's a 30 min bus ride away from Colombo. However, buses are cheap and frequent. Mount Lavinia is cheaper and less congested than the city proper: the hostel is a 5 min walk from the beach! It's a great place to stay if you aren't tight for time. The couple also run Adikaram Sea View Hostel in nearby Dehiwala (10-15 mins away on the same bus line).

The hostel is easy to miss because the number (6A) has been painted the same colour as the walls - make sure you look carefully for it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normanmailerdaemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews