We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome to sri lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hostel is probably the best choice to start your vacation in Sri Lanka! The staff and the owner will welcome you to their family and help you with everything you need! It was truly awesome how they helped us with our luggage problems we had after arriving. Even when we moved on, they held contact to us and gave updates regarding our missing bags and stored them after delivering at their place. You will feel home!
Mt Lavinia is the better choice to Colombo, as it has a beach right in front of the door...or by 60sec walk ;-)
The hostels lovely garden will help you to come down after a long flight.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stared out tour of Sri Lanka from here;0 what a fabulous hotel - staff so friendly just made a fantastic start to the holiday, Plenty bars - great restaurant & beautiful pool area - would have stayed longer but was on a tour- Certainly go back

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Ocean - Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GEDDY59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Quiet, relaxing home like stay. Close to the beach and supermarket nearby. Ladies (owners) were just lovely and very helpful organising tuk tuks when needed. I stayed in the dorm room which had 2 bunks and a single. Quiet comfortable. Great wifi.

Room Tip: This is a good place for a few nights. It's out of Colombo city heading away from the airport. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Beautiful place to stay! Everyone is so lovely! A short walk from the beach and shops. Hidden away from the busy road, so nice and peaceful! Everyone is friendly and easy to talk to. Definitely will be coming back ♥

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LissyWendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay, very close the the beach and shops.

Accommodation is basic, three beds in a nice sized room. Very pretty buildings.

Rita is lovely and always smiling.

Check out the food corner for breakfast, a lovely man.

All in all a nice place to relax.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Bryan_Jody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Rita gave us a very warm welcome and a very big smile when we arrived.

A welcoming glass of cold juice was just what we needed having had a very long journey from England.

the hostel is small and cozy with hot showers and facilities for cooking or making your own drinks if you want to. Rita also serves cold fizzy drinks and beer if you need them. Although why anyone would want to cook when the super fabulous "Food Corner" is just a 2 minute walk away and the wonderful hospitality of the owner there awaiting you, is beyond me. (breakfast 300rp - £1.50)

the location is excellent for the beach and beachside restaurants, shops just a 10 min walk away. the railway station is about a 30 minute walk, The turtle sanctuary is a bit further or a 100rp ride in a tuk tuk (45p).

Rita also let us leave our bags a bit after we had checked out until it was time to go for our train. We also took advantage of the lovely garden to sit for a while and her super wifi connection.

Thank you Rita - we would recommend anyone staying on a budget, to stay here

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Really nice place to stay, very friendly and helpful people. Don't forget to go for dinner at the foodcorner, amazing and cheap food, the owner is so friendly, a warm welcome to sri lanka! (turn left outside the gate, then right, cross the road with the tuktuks and you'll find the foodcorner at your right hand)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjolijnkoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.6 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#4 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#9 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#7 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel

Address: 6A, Samudra Mawatha, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10370, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: £10 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation at the Lavinia Beach Hostel consists of 10 rooms ranging from male, female and mixed dorms to private single, double, triple rooms with en-suite bathrooms. A/C is available for an extra cost of Rs. 500 a night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing