We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is the best hotel in the area!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royce Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is the best hotel in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

When we were there the hotel was not full so we felt as if we were in our own summer house. The staff is very polite and helpful. If you ask them about something they always say " yes, no problem " :) the hotel has a beautiful garden with variety of flora and fauna. The beach was good, clean and spacey but local young boys disturbed by watching us and sometimes following to trying to take photos. We are a couple with a child and an elderly lady so it's just weird. I can't imagine what if there were a few young girls sunbathing alone. The hotel's breakfast was very good. Always hot tea and coffee within a day. Thank you, guys! Wifi works very well. Room cleaning every day, hot water, mosquito nets, beach towels. Wish we could stay longer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fainadivchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    40
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
20
61
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days when we were at Mount Lavinia. We highly recommend this place to everyone. The location is superb - one hour from the international airport and right next to a quiet beautiful beach. Colombo is 20 minutes away. The hotel is wonderful - clean, beautiful and prompt service which is such a rarity in Sri Lanka. Our host was most wonderful and the staff is friendly and sweet. The rooms are big with TV and AC. There are excellent dining places at a walking distance away on the beach. Thanks. We are sure that the next time we are in Colombo we are going to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms in the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khushboo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linköping, Östergötlands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had the greatest visit at Royce hotel. We travel a lot an appreciate what this hotel gave us, calmness, service, honest faces and the closeness to the beach. The breakfast was lovely to have in the small garden.

Best Regards from Tommy and Martina

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Royce hotel for 10 days, we had wonderful service from friendly staff and the breakfasts were great. It would have been nice to have more clothes storage in the room and perhaps a kettle, but tea was readily available. We would certainly return there.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marya9858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Excellent environment
Excellent service
Excellent hospitality & service
Recommends peaceful & happy stay with safe. Love the place greeny environment.Mr.Gino & his team excellent, very respected.Like a dream place & white angel house

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeogendra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Nice frontage to a colonial style building. Rooms need updating, especially the bathroom and they look out on scruffy buildings. No bar and service was inexperienced. Nice people but not good enough for the price

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abe1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donetsk, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We decided to spend 14 days at this hotel. Pre-booked room. When we arrived and saw this hotel, we decided to cut our STAY in it from 14 to 2 days. In this case, Mr. Gino offered to pay a penalty for late cancellations. At night, Mr. Gino brought us out of the room in the hotel lobby, closed all the doors, and threatened by the police and required to pay him for all 14 days. He scared my child, in spite of the fact that the child was crying, he threatened us, do not let the room all night kept us in the lobby. Since we were together, my daughter and I, we were not helping anyone, my daughter had a tantrum, we had to pay the full amount. That's how we got into a hostage. I do not recommend staying in this hotel. It was the most horrible holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank irina_a_belyaeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRR_Management, Manager at Royce Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Miss Belyaeva,

We read you review with much disappointment.

I am sure you know within youself that your review of our hotel is entirely untrue and an incorrect account of what actually transpired.

You have booked for a 14 nights accommodation at our Hotel. As per our booking policy, cancellation made 3 days before arrival is fully refundable. Cancellation within 3 days of arrival will incur full charge of the total stay.

Upon your arrival, you were very happy and expressed delight in your room and the hotel. However, on the second night, after meeting some beach Boys at the beach, upon their advice, you have decided to go to another location with them. We told you that your cancellation policy required that you cancel at least 3 days prior to arrival, otherwise full charge of the total stay will be charged. We further explained that our hotel is fully booked during your period of stay due to a Medical Convention held during that period and your cancellation without full payment would cause great loss to us. You became agitated and threatened to walk out of the hotel without paying. We had no choice but to advise you that if you walked out without paying, we would have to call the local police. At this point you turned around and yell to your daughter that we are not letting you and your daughter leave and we are not allowing her to go to the other beach location. Upon hearing that, she started to cry. We think that was a very cruel thing that you did to your daughter.

To calm the situation, I offered to give you a free night accommodation, charging you 13 nights for the 14 nights you stayed. You were happy and accepted the offer.

Throughout your stay, our staff took good care of you and your daughter, making sure you have enough of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Even on the day you returned from your trip with the Beach Boys and complained that they cheated you; overcharging you for a tour you thought was only for $100, our staff took care of you even more to help you enjoy your holiday.

You and all guests staying at Royce Hotel are our utmost responsibility and we always ensure all our guests have a safe and pleasant stay.

We are sorry that you feel this way about Royce Hotel, and even more sorry that you have written such an untrue review to try to hurt us. I hope you have it in you to realise your mistake and revoked your review.

We do not claim to be a 5 star or even a 4 star hotel. We are, however, a small hotel which runs on true hospitality and genuine concerns for the comfort and safety of our guests. All our staff are selected for their honesty and sincere approach to customer service. And we ensure that we give back to the local community by pledging to donate a percentage of our net profit to local charity organisations.

Based on all the positive reviews from previous hotel guests, I am confident that we are on the right track and will continue to strive to provide the best service to our guests.

With Best Regards,
Royce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Lodge
Mount Lodge
#4 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rivi Ras Hotel
Rivi Ras Hotel
#8 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Property: Royce Hotel
Address: 8 Barnes Avenue, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 31000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royce Boutique Hotel is a charming boutique property situated within a 5-minute walk of Mount Lavinia Beach and 1 hour from the Airport. It offers free Wi-Fi access in its public areas. Royce Boutique Hotel is a 10-minute drive from Dehiwala's National Zoological Garden and the city of Colombo. Bandaranaike International Airport is a 45-minute drive away. Fitted with mosquito nets, rooms offer air conditioning and a fan, a flat-screen TV, and an attached bathroom with hot shower facilities. Some rooms include a private balcony. At Royce Boutique Hotel, guests can head to the reception for assistance with services such as airport transfer, laundry service and Tuk-tuk shuttle. Free public parking spaces are available at a nearby location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing