We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little spot in Mount Lavinia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivory Inn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely little spot in Mount Lavinia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay with them. We had just flew into Colombo airport and the taxi took 1.5 hours and charged 3000 rupees to get here, but it was worth while. The staff were eager to help and always greeted you every time they saw you.

The hotel is situated down a quiet street but close to lots of similar hotels and only 1 block away from the beach at Mount Lavinia, so a good spot to be in. It was less than a 5 minute walk to the beach for dinner every night and very safe.

A metered rickshaw will cost you just over 500 rupees to get into Colombo or if you are on a budget, just get the 100 or 101 bus to Fort train station as we did for 30 rupees each way!

The breakfast was very filling and included fruit, tea or coffee and lot of toast!

Would thoroughly recommend this place and can imagine it being very busy over Dec holidays.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiraz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
17
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights but could have easily stayed longer. The hotel was a beautiful building with clean, spacious and tastefully decorated rooms. Most rooms have air-con but we had a fan room which was OK. We didn't even need to use the mosquito nets.

A lovely breakfast is included (fruit, eggs, toast, coffee/tea) in the common area.

You can get wifi in some of the rooms but you get the best signal from the common area.

The hotel is only a few minutes walk to the beach and a 30 minute ride to Colombo city centre.

Reading a previous review of this hotel, I can see why it's not recommended for solo female travellers. The young male workers do hang around and although they are friendly enough, they may pay more attention to a female on her own.

Apart from that, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJI1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

The ivory inn is a save and clean location in the middle of mount beach just a road a way from the sand still fare enough to not have the train wake you in the morning! The bfast is basic it good and the stuff is great!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bertonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The place is clean and moderately comfortable in the Mount Lavinia locality of Colombo. Very close to the beach. But don't expect too much- they don't have a kitchen, and hence no lunch or dinner and very basic housekeeping..
The wifi's free but only in the reception area..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lopamudra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

The Ivory inn is probably the best spot in mount lavinia for a cheap guest house. The breakfast area and reception is lovely, and there's wifi on request.

The rooms are big and mine had air conditioning, a fan and mosquito net.

The bathroom was o.k but with a broken shower fitting that didn't get fixed whilst I was there although they said it would. I had quite a few cockroaches in the bathroom, but as soon as I mentioned it to the staff they came up and sprayed them.

The beds are o.k pretty thin mattresses so not super comfy, but I guess you get what you pay for!

All the staff were friendly, but I was travelling alone and did feel a bit uneasy there, generally felt like you were being watched. Perhaps it was because all the staff were ( at a rough guess on age) 18, 19 year old boys. One was always sat on the wall outside my room when I came back in the evening like an elf, beaming and showering me with complements which was a bit creepy, and made me get pretty quick at unlocking my door, getting into my room and and locking the door behind me! Perhaps I'm just being paranoid. Other than that, not a bad spot at all, i looked around most of the other guest houses in mount lavinia and this was the nicest in the price range.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian in Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I've stayed at Ivory Inn every time i've been in Lanka for the past few years, which is often. Great service, excellent attentive staff and clean rooms. I've always had a great stay here at a decent price and the gardens and breakfast area are comfortable and pleasant. I only stay in rooms with a fan, no AC, and with the balcony, they're great for my needs. I am troubled by the review left titled 'Not safe for solo female travelers' as I know the staff well, and that they would never consider behaving in this way. The review reads like a very paranoid person scared of a staff member knocking on her door, which could have been for any reason. The reason I write this is because reviews like this, posted without even checking with the staff as to what was going on, damage people's reputations and ability to hold a job. I'm not sure i've ever heard of someone being offended at being shown to their room at a hotel?!? If you're looking for a clean budget place to stay out of Colombo's busyness, stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephVajda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The ivory inn is a hotel in an ok location, it's nice and quiet, it's only the birds that'll wake you up. The rooms are big and bright with a nice little balcony. There is no view though, and i shared the bathroom with two happy cockroaches.

I would never ever stay here again though and not recommend it either, especially not to solo female travellers. In the evening the receptionist walked me to my room and asked to come along. He was quite persistinf and even tried again by knocking on my door 30 minutes later. It was a horrifying experience, I felt very unsaf, slept badly and left the first thing the following morning, leaving an apologetic receptionist and the cockroaches behind.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank holiday016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivi Ras Hotel
Rivi Ras Hotel
#9 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivory Inn

Property: Ivory Inn
Address: 21 de Saram Road | Mount Lavinia, Colombo, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10370, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivory Inn is conveniently located at 21, De Saram Road in Mount Lavinia, which is located about 10 km from the city of Colombo. Consisting of 15 rooms including 2 dorm rooms. It is in close proximity to one of the best beaches in Sri Lanka, the Mount Lavinia Beach which is a hop, step and a jump from the Ivory Inn. It is within walking distance to Banks, ATMs, Super-markets, Restaurants, Take-away outlets and Shops. It is situated close to the popular Mount Lavinia Hotel. The Ivory Inn offers affordable, clean and comfortable hostel accommodation for back packers and budget travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ivory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivory Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing