We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Bad Service and no coordination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 9th to 11th of August,14. Hotel is beautifully located next to beach. But Service is very poor. Once you talk to some body at reception than told they will get back to us. No body ever call or let us know to resolve the issue. Once you go back there, again no body( new guy) has any clue of the problem and again you need to narrate the whole story.
Food is pathetic, no taste even at the beach restaurant. Service is very poor. We found one lady in Coffee Shop (sorry do not remember the name now), looked prompt to all your demand. In general very poor service. Need to wait long for your order in any place.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle are better than corner one for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

As I went for my first trip back to Sri-lanka since my adoption, my friend had booked us on Berjaya hotell wich was a great visit. The staff were wery serviceminded and friendly. The envirement were beautiful and relaxing and the restaurant at the beach had great food. We appreciated the friendly staff wich we came to knew very well since we stayed there for 5 days. We actually stay there for 2 days and then we went away to explore Sri-Lanka. But when we came back to Colombo we returned to Berjaya hotel beacuse we found the hotel as one of the best.
We will definitly return there the next time we go to Sri-Lanka.

A big thanks to Berjaya hotel for making our visit very pleaseant!

/ Mrs. Linda and Mr. Jack Kulhan

Room Tip: The view is fantastic if you get at room at the ocean side but if you are sensible to noise then you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This place is brilliant and the best thing is it's location , were all the rooms have an opening to the Beach.. The hotel stuff is very kind n caring and there is a hotel stuff by name Mr.Sampath he is one of the best person I hv ever come across jn hotel industry till date.
Thank you for making it a memorisable experience.
Cheers

Stayed: August 2014
Thank zuhair a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived here after a long flight to stay for one night. We were there for about 16 hours in total. For these purposes it was perfect, but any longer and I think we would have been unhappy.

The main negatives were the train that went past the hotel room often (after the initial excitement of seeing sri lankans holding onto the doors etc it soon wears off) and the pool was a major problem. The chemicals used were not good and it was all a bit messy up in the top pool area (which had no water and weeds).

The main problem I think was that it was massively under occupied so not many people about.

The food was very nice. We were half board basis but at dinner time (there were only one other couple in the restaurant at the same time as us) we were able to choose whatever we wanted from the menu. Very good quality and tasty. Breakfast was a buffet but again, plenty of choice. We are vegetarian and it suited us just fine!

We enjoyed our stay, and anybody needing a budget hotel to rest their heads would do well here. It is clean and food was good quality. The employees were also very friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1234qwerty5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just last week we had been to Berjaya hotel, Colombo. We went from Vietnam with a group of 36. They meeting room, restaurants were great. The service was also top-notch. There were lots of variations for the breakfast; and it was being refilled.
We planned to move to Kandy after 2 days. But then one of our team mate got sick. 3 of our team had to stay back in Colombo. This was the time when we got tremendous professional support from the hotel. I wish i could give you 6 stars!!!
I am definitely coming back here soon!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sayakdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Location of the hotel is perfect, and the services second to none. The Scenario and the serene and exquisite touch are difficult to forget.

The staff are courteous and dedicated, but I especially enjoyed the perfection and dedication exhibited by Berito, whom would be a perfect front desk officer. His humane and service-oriented dedication and perfections are commendable.

Any traveler that wishes to enjoy the luxury of paradise at an affordable and pocket-friendly cost should not neglect Berjaya Hotel.

Deborah E (Nigeria)

Room Tip: All the rooms are just perfect; choosing a room therefore cannot be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Onyigbuo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at Berjaya Hotel Colombo in Jun. Very pleasant hotel with hospitable staff which l;ooked after me very well. Good Food and near the beach. Wud recommend this good value hotel. There is some shopping nearby the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDhanjee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
0.4 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#7 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anarva Mount Lavinia
Anarva Mount Lavinia
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#4 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
153 reviews
3.1 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 54 in Colombo
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Hotel Colombo

Address: 36 College Avenue, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka (Formerly Berjaya Mount Royal)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: £42 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Hotel Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 10km south of Colombo, the largest city of Sri Lanka, also renowned for its ancient ruins and histories. Berjaya Hotel Colombo consists of 90 rooms equipped with contemporary facilities with simple and soothing interior. For business purposes, thriving conferences and meetings are to be held idyllically at its Royal Room and 3 separate meeting rooms. On savouring the convenience Berjaya Hotel Colombo offers, guests may also utilize the amenities provided. From water-splashing in the pool to luxurious sunbath by the beach, the fun goes on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Berjaya Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Mount Royal Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing