We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Prakash_Jay
Chennai (Madras), India

It's your way of deciding!

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jun 2024
Stayed there for a overnight. Lot of restaurants are less than a KM away if you want to take a walk. Beach shore is very close and it was a nice beach. Hotel reception was supportive as i requested for a room change as it was small and it was done based on my room booking for family. Morning breakfast is good. I feel room is not fresh and cleanliness could have been better, I can watch the shore from the room, but the window glass is not clean and view is not that good and clear. You have train tracks very close and night sleep is bit disturbing.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maheshika Perera, Owner at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review
Responded 7 Jun 2024
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your three-star guest review. We take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you when you were staying at our hotel. We hope you can consider and give us another opportunity to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Management of Berjaya Hotel Colombo

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.4 miles from Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £119
  • ZenHotels.com
    £65
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
0.2 miles from Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Lol.travel
0.2 miles from Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Free Wifi
Free parking
£57
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £57
0.5 miles from Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
211
192
145
65
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
211
192
145
65
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool pleasant stay room boy sea view mount lavinia colombo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2024

Date of Stay: May 31, 2024

I attended the annual tour guide symposium organized by Laksala at Berjaya Hotel Colombo on May 31, 2024. The event started at 6:30 pm and had the industry minister and state industry minister as chief guests, although the industry minister did not participate. The event saw a turnout of more than 200 people.

Unfortunately, the experience took a severe downturn after dinner. By the next day, more than 100 attendees, including myself, fell seriously ill due to food poisoning. Over 10 people were hospitalized, and I am still suffering from the effects.

This incident highlights a significant lapse in food safety standards at the hotel. Such negligence is unacceptable, especially for an establishment hosting large events. I cannot recommend this hotel for any events or stays until they address and improve their food safety and hygiene practices.

Room tip: dont eat food
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
Thank chathura p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maheshika Perera, Owner at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2024

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Berjaya Hotel Colombo.
We are deeply concerned to learn about the unfortunate situation you and other attendees experienced following recent visit to our hotel.

Guest safety is our utmost priority, and we take any reports of illness very seriously.

At Berjaya Hotel Colombo, ensuring the safety and quality of the food we serve is of utmost importance. We strictly adhere to high standards of food safety and hygiene, with all our food and beverage team members trained to maintain good personal hygiene practices. This commitment ensures consistent cleanliness to protect the well-being of our valued guests.

We appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Management of Berjaya Hotel Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2024

Thank you Berajaya Hotel Mt. Lavinia for giving us a beutiful staycation. My kids wanted both kids pool and beach access and Berajaya Hotel Mt. Lavinia is the one and only place that came to my mind. Kids loved the pool expereince. Most importantly this hotel is probably the only hotel that gives guests the experience to witness train rides down coatal line from their own room! My kids loved witnessing the frequent train rides thet saw from the room. We went during the weekdays and therefore there was absolutely no rush in the hotel. The lunch we had on the day we checked out was too good!

Also I want to give a big shout out to the staff at the hotel. They were so warm and friendly from the begiining of our staycation. Thank you for everything. Generally my husband is very partcular about where we spend holidays and I kust say that you won my husband's heart Berajaya Colombo!. Looking forward to come back again!! Thanks once again💕😍

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manishawitharana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maheshika Perera, Owner at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2024

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to review your stay at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, and we are delighted to know that you all had a wonderful holiday with us. Your satisfaction with the facilities provided by the hotel seems to be very helpful for your pleasant and memorable holiday at the hotel. We extend our gratitude to you for your special mention regarding the friendly staff service, view of the Mount Lavinia Beach, and our swimming pool with the beautiful garden etc. We are also happy that you had enjoyed our food. You all are once again warmly welcome when you will plan your next holiday.

Management of Berjaya Hotel Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2024

we stayed one night,the way of the reception old man is worst,he is not even to welcome and not bothered to see our faces.he is siply sitting and watching computer.restaurant smell is very bad and food taste and quality is worst.luckages we need to carry send floor,no body help us.WASTE OF OUR MONEY

Room tip: NO
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nagaselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maheshika Perera, Owner at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2024

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, and we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at our hotel. We hope you can consider and give us another opportunity to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Management of Berjaya Hotel Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2024

This is our 4th time there.We are stay in there at two nights.the front office staff there are very frfriendly.

The room we received was very good, but the kettle in it was not very good.When we saw it, we immediately called housekeeping and asked for a new kettle. Although they agreed with him, it took an hour. They did not replace the kettle.We let the front office know about it later, and after that, the kettle was given to us.

The restaurant was quite busy, which was the second thing that caught my attention. On the second day, when we went to have breakfast, we couldn't find a table. Numerous tables were vacant, but none of them had been cleaned.We ate breakfast at a dirty table after waiting a long time.

The third thing is that there was a woman on the staff. She looked at us strangely. There was an absence of a smile. She wore a red dress that was short. It's probable that she didn't take us seriously because we're Sri Lankan people.

Overall, the hotel is excellent, but the service is subpar.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dammika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maheshika Perera, Owner at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2024

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your three-star guest review. We take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you when you were staying at our hotel. We hope you can consider and give us another opportunity to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Management of Berjaya Hotel Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

Stayed at the Berjaya for 23 days in March. The staff went above and beyond to look after us, especially Leo, Warren and numerous others.

The food was very nice and they accommodated our requests for extra items.

The rooms were well cleaned and looked after and the housekeeping staff were very good.

Overall a great stay, will definitely be staying there again.
Mr K. London

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maheshika Perera, Owner at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your experience when you were recently staying at our hotel. Your comments especially regarding our restaurant service and the house keeping etc. are encouraging us to further improve our hospitality. Our special gratitude is extended to you for your appreciation of the service of Leo and Warren. We are also happy that you had enjoyed our food. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel for TripAdvisor guests. We look forward to warmly welcoming you as our loyal guest during your next visit, and we extend our sincere compliment for your intention of coming back as our repeat guests and for the recommendation of the hotel for those who wish to visit us hotel.

Management of Berjaya Hotel Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews