We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Seas Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for two nights and generally it was a restful and comfortable stay. James is very helpful and a wealth of information regarding the area and forward travel details. The rooms are clean and the AC, fans and hot water all worked. We would have liked more useful storage (maybe some more hooks on the doors) but when we asked we did get another table at once. The breakfast was tasty and the coffee plentiful. Do check the timetable though before catching a train from Mt Lavinia as we had to wait 2 and a half hours and ended up on a crowded 3rd class. This was a day before New Year, so thins certainly weren't usual. James is working hard for his guests and deserves his excellent rating

Room Tip: Check out the size of rooms and also storage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

It's hard to find a good budget guesthouses in Colombo. Blue Seas Guest House is definitely on of them. The guesthouse is run by an very thoughtful and friendly english guy called Steve. Due to him and his friendly staff the Guesthouse is in very good shape: Bright and clean rooms with nice antique furniture in it.

The included breakfast is good too. The hotel is situated in Mount Lavinia, 30 minuetes (by local bus) outside the city centre. It's just a 3 minuetes walk down to the surprisingly clean city beach.

Check this place out. It's a very good starting point when you just landed in Colombo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gregor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed at Blue Seas for only one night, but wish it could have been longer. The guesthouse is run by a great man named James. He went out of his way to help me with reservations and delayed arrival. He is so gracious, kind and friendly. How often are you asked if you are comfortable and happy with your accommodations?

Rooms are immaculate and comfortable. The house and gardens are lovely and the location is perfect. It can be noisy around Mt. Lavinia, but the guest house is set back from the road and is so peaceful and quiet. It is just a few minutes walk to the beach.

This a truly wonderful place to stay and I highly recommend it!

Longleat

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Longleat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Nice, quite location set in a lovely garden where you can relax and unwind, but only a few minutes walk from the Mt Lavinia beach and its many restaurants and bars. Impeccably clean, comfortable rooms, we had a air-conditioned room with hot water showers. James is great host, has a eye for attention to detail. He is really helpful and has good knowledge of Srilanka, and is a wealth of information. As someone of Srilankan descent I was pleasantly surprised by this. The staff are friendly and attentive. The breakfast is lovely with fresh fruits and juices. The place can't be faulted for its value for money, location and service. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denuka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This guesthouse is owned by a lovely British guy called James, who used to own Footsteps. His rooms were always clean, and beautiful and he is attentive and really friendly and helpful. I arrived after a long and exhausting bus ride, and it was the perfect place to shower, and crawl into the very comfortable bed.
He cooked the breakfast while we were there and the omelettes were fabulous (and that's a big call considering how many omlettes I had eaten in Sri Lanka by that time! ) - his staff were friendly and considerate. All the info I needed about the guesthouse was on a useful card in the room which always helps- and he was great at finding us taxis and other things we needed while we stayed.
James also owns a travel agent and can help with any extra travel needs while you are in Sri Lanka. I have recommended this place to my friend's sister when she visited, and she absolutely loved it. I will definitely stay next time I am in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salona75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Thankyou to James and team for a lovely stay in Mt Lavinia. The staff are friendly and ever willing to help and very attentive and always with a warm smile. Offering us string hoppers for breakfast as we are Sri Lankans was going the extra mile for us James, so thankyou for that. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the house has a charm of its own and situated in a quiet spot yet so close to the fabulous Mt Lavinia beach and good selection of restaurants, inexpensive yet serving yummy food. The teenagers absolutely enjoyed the wi fi access!
Nilan, Auckland NZ

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Nilan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Nice, clean and quiet place with a super friendly and helpful British owner, just a minute from the beach. We ended up there after an hour of looking for a good place with fair price at Mt Lavinia and after doing a research, I think this is the best option in that area. Big plus for a nice garden where you can chill out on a hammock and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DankaUrbanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james018, Manager at Blue Seas Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

I would like to say a big thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure having you stay at our Guest house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.6 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anarva Mount Lavinia
Anarva Mount Lavinia
#4 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Seas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Seas Guest House

Address: 9/6 De Saram Rd, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 31000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: £21 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Seas Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Seas Guest House is situated a two minute walk from Mount Lavinia beach, restaurants and a further 15 minutes to the heart of Colombo. The guest house has 15 bedrooms, some of which are air conditioned with hot water showers and balconies. Blue Seas has two common areas for guests to enjoy and also boasts a large private garden with shaded seating. Bedrooms are tastefully decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Zenrooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Blue Seas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing