We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Ambience, disinterested service!”
Review of The Shore By O!

The Shore By O!
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, British, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A perfect spot on the beach, with good food and fantastic drinks!
Pondicherry, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience, disinterested service!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I feel beach properties in general enjoy the benefit of the ambience, no matter what u make out of it. SO here's another one of those. Nicely done up place, the lighting and seating are good. What lacks immensely is the attitude of the staff. They don't want to come to the table at all !

For us, one staff sprang up to take the order even before we saw the menu. The service was definitely very quick, so quick that u wonder if any of it was fresh! But the food tastes good! Which made up our annoyance in a way!

They have a band playing sometimes so its best to grab a good seating maybe around 9pm.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheReviewer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    84
    37
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“No way again !!! ”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

1 hour wait just to place an order plus 1 hour wait for the food to come ... The food was horrible ... We all had a hard time to chew the "deviled beef". The place is filled with tourist, to bad the waiters couldn't even speak english !!!! Never again !!!!

Helpful?
6 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Love this bar!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This bar is great! Aesthetically it is very pleasing, all white everything. Right on the beach. Table service. Went back 3 times during my stay in Mt Lavinia but would have travelled there from town!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“"Nice Bar"”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Yeahh , one of the best bar experienced, a friendly staff, taste of a mixed vodka, the ambiance of the bar , the tasty food and also the live band every night , first time to visit sri lanka and i found this amazing bar , scenic view by the beach , definitely see you again "THE SHORE BY O"

Vodka pleaseeeeee :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Idolkosiian23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pull your socks up.......! - 14/04/2014”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Your supervisors have no clue!

Ordered pork grease yaka style, served prawns. Mentioned we ordered pork the staff serving looked baffled. After repeating ourselves that we ordered pork the dish wash changed to pork. In 20 min. The staff bring another pork dish which we never ordered. When mentioned already got the pork dish the staff looked baffled again.

We also ordered crab and prawn curry with bread coconut sambol and dhal curry. The staff decide that they will give us steamed rice instead of bread. When we mentioned that we asked for bread and the menu says the dish is accompanied with bread the staff said that bread is not available, we said we requested the dish with bread he paused in confusion went with the dish upto his supervisor and asked wat to do the supervisor not even 5 feet away from us tells him quote 'tell there is no bread' unquote.

He could have come upto us humbly told us that he regrets the fact of the order being taken, and bread not being available not mentioned to us at the time of order, and given a substitute of fried or mashed potatoes or sautéed vegetables and we would have accepted of simply ordered another dish.

Instead he was rude about it, saying that bread is not available trying to argue with us regarding it and saying sorry in the most sarcastic way and walked away from confrontation.

Also one of us was served the pork chop he ordered and the cutlery brought to him after 15min. I wonder if the cutlery was brought for him to eat the bones.

Further more when did the supervisors of your establishment decide wat the customer eats.

Wat happen to somersby apple cider it was a hit and your staff say that it has not been available for 2weeks.

I have enjoyed my self many a time at shore by 'o' and it was practically home to me and one of the best places in town,

But sad to say YOUR SUPERVISORS HAVE NO CLUE!!!!!!

Helpful?
6 Thank Noel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shore By O! also viewed

Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 

Been to The Shore By O!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing