We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, fair price, good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropic Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropic Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location, fair price, good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I arrived very early morning to Tropic Inn, where Lasitha (who proofed to be the best host you can whish for) took care of me. Offcourse it was not a problem to allready go in the room, and didnt have to pay an extra day (It was 6.30 in the morning and some hotels would charge an extra night.) I had to wait 10 minutes while my room was being cleaned, Lashita offered me free cold water and I could take a well deserved rest after 30 hours of traveling. The room was decent: A/C, ceiling fan, good beds, proper shower. In my case: good wifi in the room. And for Sri Lankan standards it is a fairly cheap place which is worth the money!
The location is somewhat far away from city centre. But in the case of Colombo that is good thing. There aren't that many things to see there, Tropic Inn will arrange a cheap ride with a metered tuktuk and you will be happy to return to laidback Mount Lavinia in the evening. Mount Lavinia is the probably the best place to be, when you stay in Colombo. The beach (less then 5 minutes walking from Tropic Inn) is relaxing. Many beach restaurants and bars to unwind (especially try BuBa on the southside of Hotel Lavinia).
I had a great stay and would recommend Tropic Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huttnkkoas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    107
    28
    12
    10
See reviews for
32
62
59
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Tropic Inn on the last of our six night trip through Sri Lanka. Our main reason for selecting this location was due to its reasonable proximity to the Colombo airport (roughly 1.5 hours drive). The hotel is located off of the main street in Mount Lavinia, and is within a short walk of the beach.

The reception area, which is adjacent to the hotel restaurant, was a bit cramped and could have used a good scrubbing to brighten it up. We found the same situation in the restaurant that was staffed by a very friendly young man.

Once in our room, we did find that the bathroom was fairly clean, but the bed was made with sheets that had several stains on them. The only resolution provided by the front desk was another sheet, with a hole in it, which they simply put over the top of the stained sheet. Not very impressive.

The restaurant, like many in the country, had an extensive menu of items of which they appeared to only want to (or be able to) make 2-3 items. The food was decent overall.

We would not recommend the location despite the ratings we see on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoOhTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

When I arrived I was rather dumbfounded. No signs but the house no. indicated that I was at the right place. When I entered though I found myself in a clean and nicely furnished hostel.

Was shown to my dorm room which didn't have a door or windows that could be closed thus no A/C. However it was clean and there were closets that you were able to lock your stuff in so except the temperature and the occasional noisiness during the rush hour on Duplicate Rd there was nothing to complain about if you don't bother about not having a door.

If you have bad luck you won't get a dorm with a shower and have to use the toilet/shower cell downstairs.

Good Wifi, nice breakfast, say yes to the fried egg and stay away from the coffee! Couldn't be asked to drink this dirt water ever again! Not even for money!

Atmosphere, the Hostel itself seemed pretty dead, didn't meet any other guests before the evening, maybe because it was off season.

Location, well it's close to the Majestic Mall (which really doesn't deserve that name but nevermind) and other shops. Galle Rd. is literally in spitting distance so you're able to catch a bus or TukTuk direction Galle or Colombo.

Even though the receptionist seemed really lazy he was really helpful when it came to getting around the city and finding out where to get sim cards etc.

So to sum it up: Clean, boring place close to the city for a decent price. Go there if you are staying in Colombo and are on a short budget ;)

Room Tip: Let them show you the rooms! One of the dorms cannot be locked (i.e. no door at all) and windows can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLayabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the tropic inn for 5 nights in March 2012, and found it a welcome haven from a city we really found little to enjoy about. The rooms are clean and spacious, the aircon, tv and hot showers all pretty reliable. The location is ok - a long way from the city centre, but its a cheap and interesting train ride.

The service in the hotel was fantastic, the same guy was there most days and was excellent on all accounts - really eager to help. Would absolutely recommend the hotel, though I wouldn't recommend going out!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat_Nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

It was pretty difficult to find a good B and B in Colombo since every place is super expensive.. With good luck in hand and with the help of Tripadvisor we came across Tropic Inn. Instantly we shot out a mail to the concerned person and everything was set with prompt replies.

Just to remind you the Tropic Inn has different branches. We requested the one which is right in the center of the City at the De Vos Avenue in Colombo 4. This place looks amazing. Its probably an old bunglow converted into a B & B place.

We were a group of 6 and we booked 2 triple rooms. We entered the place and we where shown to our rooms by one of the caretaker who by the way is Extremely LAZY! the whole time we just saw him sittin in front of the TV doing nothing. But this did not affect us much since we were not in the room for half the time. We were also given a glass of juice which was pretty refreshing considering the High Temp in Colombo , The rooms were pretty clean , The AC was working fine bathrooms were small but good enough.

They also have a common room where you can also meet other travelers too. The good thing about the De Vos Avenue branch is that you are in the Center of the City and lot of good places are pretty much at a walkable distance.

The Gallery Cafe is 15 Min walk from this place(do not miss the Gallery Cafe). But all in all it was pretty good, we requested them to also arrange a Cab to the airport and a nominal rate of $30 was charged.

PS: the airport is pretty far from this place so plan well ahead so that you dont miss your flight.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rugheadrohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed for 8 nights, the staff were very polite and helpful. The rooms were cleaned every day the Tropic Inn was ideal for what we wanted and value for money. Considering you can stay here for $34 and walk 10 minutes to the Mount Lavinia and use their facilites for £5 and also have a very good all you can eat buffet for around £12, why would anyone want to pay $187 to actually stay at the Mount Lavinia! The only negative was the Air Conditioning Generator could by quite noisy at times.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerri1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Tropic Inn is a good place to start a holiday in Sri Lanka, it's just outside Colombo, so away from the dirt and noise of the city. Its close to the beach and beachside resturaunts. The room was clean and the shower was good. The bed sheets could do with replacing but they were a minor fault. The staff were helpful and friendly and overall the hotel was good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoveIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.1 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Lodge
Mount Lodge
#4 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#9 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Inn Hotel

Property: Tropic Inn Hotel
Address: 30 College Avenue | Colombo - Mount Lavinia, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropic Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Inn has been providing clean and comfortable rooms for the traveller for past 33 years. Our hotel facilities and rooms are upgraded to present standards to keep up with the current demand. We have 16 rooms and all with A/C and private bathroom. Free WIFI, cable T.V. Free breakfast. We have a restaurant that can accommodate upto 50 people serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Mount Lavinia is only a 15 minutes drive from capital Colombo. The only beach closer to capital Colombo. At tropic Inn we offer •Great customer service•Very clean rooms•Safe environment•A/C rooms & hot water shower•Free breakfast•Restaurantserving lunch & dinner•Free wireless internet•Airport pick up and drop service ( not free)•Early check- in, if rooms are available.Come and stay with us. You will love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Tropic Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Tropic Hotel Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing