We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, but not worth the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropic Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropic Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service, but not worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

The service was friendly, but the room and facilities were average compared to what is available elsewhere in Sri Lanka. Decent but not overly clean and basic decor. The price was not average, charged much higher than advertised.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountlavinia, Owner at Tropic Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We will look into your concern. We are disappointed with your comment about "charged much higher than advertised". We never charge higher than what the hotel and the guest has agreed when booking. For that matter we don't even charge taxes for your stay. Our hotel is clean, has good beds, good linen, good A/C, good breakfast. All this from $ 35 to $ 60 depending on how many people are staying. Our goal is to satisfy our guest first.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    107
    28
    12
    10
See reviews for
32
62
59
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the start of our trip and 3 nights at the end. Lasitha greeted us with his warm lovely smile upon our very early morning arrivals and was just so wonderfully friendly, caring and helpful!!!! Rooms are made-up daily, lovely hot showers, aircon and room 27 has a wonderfully comfortable mattress!!! Pillows are great - many other places were lumpy. Breakfast has much variety and is buffet. All the staff are very friendly. Location is just 2 minutes from the beach and is quiet. Fridge in room was great for buying Lion beer at Keels!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foximamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We've stayed our first two nights on Lanka in this gem of a hotel and it really helped us get settled in our new environment.

The layout of the hotel is great - the mahagoni staircase is impressive - the rooms small but tidy. Everywhere you can see, where the owners and personnel make an effort to make your stay with them as positive as possible: the hotel-rules-sign that makes you smile almost every line, the green-painted garden outside the restaurant, the seating in the open inner area of the house.

Apropos restaurant: breakfast was awesome and a very good way to get to know many of the Lankan specialities.

With Lasitha we've had the most comforting manager, who really helped out with every need and that in a kind and comforting way.

4 Stars for the cleanliness and great service, 1 star reduction for the rather basic room and bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Kilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a long flight and were instantly made to feel very welcome by the staff, all rooms are air conditioned and have fans and are serviced daily with clean bedding. We travelled around Sri Lanka and wanted to return to Colombo, after e-mailing Lasitha Rajapaksha, restaurant manager he arranged for a room with balcony that was excellent.

Breakfast is included in the price, only slight note would be to vary breakfast menu, other than that nothing was to much trouble, Tuk Tuk's and cabs ordered and arrived on time and all staff were very well mannered and polite

Excellent service throughout our stay and would highly recommend if you don't want to be in the centre of the very busy Colombo city, Tuk Tuk to the centre of Colombo costs £2.50 for 12km bargain!

Two minute walk to the beach and Sunday is family day where families arrive from midday and stay until late in the evening

Kevin and Glen London

Room Tip: Room 22 has a balcony room 24 does not both on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was the best part of my trip in Sri Lanka. It is not in the noise city of Colombo, but just a tuk-tuk away. The staff were super helpful, and it had a wonderful restaurant. Stay no where else during your hopefully short trip to Colombo.

Room Tip: As with any trip to this side of the world: Bring exact change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Tropic Inn is a little bit old in appearance, but the highlight of the hotel is definitely their delightful staffs! The wonderful and always cheerful Lasitha always greet you with his sincere and smile, and very helpful too.

The room is clean and functional. Bathroom is nice too, but need some face lift. Breakfast is good, with choices of toast and jam, roti with curries, stringhoppers, pasta, fruits, juice etc.

Location is good too. close to the main road, and close to the beach too. All in all, a pleasant and relaxing experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

they offer a very good breakfast buffet. this is open even for non-hotel clients. the spread is not wide but a mix of western and sri Lankan, with fruits, juice followed by tea and coffee. eggs (always done to you choice) with toast. recommended cos it is very good value for money.

have been back for the breakfast many times after a morning stroll on the beach on weekends

Room Tip: the older rooms are far nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowenGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.1 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Lodge
Mount Lodge
#4 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#8 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Inn Hotel

Property: Tropic Inn Hotel
Address: 30 College Avenue | Colombo - Mount Lavinia, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropic Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Inn has been providing clean and comfortable rooms for the traveller for past 33 years. Our hotel facilities and rooms are upgraded to present standards to keep up with the current demand. We have 16 rooms and all with A/C and private bathroom. Free WIFI, cable T.V. Free breakfast. We have a restaurant that can accommodate upto 50 people serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Mount Lavinia is only a 15 minutes drive from capital Colombo. The only beach closer to capital Colombo. At tropic Inn we offer •Great customer service•Very clean rooms•Safe environment•A/C rooms & hot water shower•Free breakfast•Restaurantserving lunch & dinner•Free wireless internet•Airport pick up and drop service ( not free)•Early check- in, if rooms are available.Come and stay with us. You will love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tropic Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Tropic Hotel Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing