We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropic Inn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mount Lavinia Hotel(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$69
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berjaya Hotel Colombo(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$100
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Lodge(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$85
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Mount Lavinia(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$79
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivi Ras Hotel(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anarva Mount Lavinia(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$78
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ivory Inn(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$39
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Mount Lanka Hotel & Suites(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$19
Expedia.com
View Deal
Royce Hotel(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
111
113
29
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
113
29
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tukrooms are basicsri lankamount laviniaopposite directionbudget hotelgalle roadsmall hotelmain roadcolombo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here for a night in early December of 2012.
Nice quiet location within 5 mins walk to the beach / 10 mins walk to main road.
We were given a refreshing welcome drink upon our arrival.
Our room was on the top floor on the right as you come up the stairs.
Nothing fancy - quite old but decent room w/hot shower and a mini tv.
Food in restaurant was pretty good, and the petite one-man-show gentleman running it was extremely chirpy, friendly, and charming.
You can also easily find street food vendors along the alley if you like.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in all. During first 2 nights probably room 26 or 27 room had very dull and depressing lights, TV was not working properly, at times tap water in bathroom stops and you have to complain. Stayed again for 2 nights while on return journey from Sri Lanka. This time given another room at 2nd floor which had no lock in the bathroom door, very funny. Upon query was told that management knew abt it, still they offered this room. Staff was friendly and helpful, particularly the man at reception who was single-handedly doing all the jobs, like serving, trying to mantain the rooms and also dealing at reception. Overall it is an average hotel and needs lot of maintenance in rooms. Cable tv was very ordinary it definitely needs more international channels for people from India, Pakistan and other regional states. I dont know how a certificate of 4 star was issued to it from tripadvisor which was displayed at 1st floor. It is an average 2 star plus hotel and needs lot of improvement in room maintenance and where AC remotes were also not working properly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naseem a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountlavinia, Owner at Tropic Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We try our best to give you the best possible rooms and service. As we have always told, our rooms are basic but clean. You get a good comfortable bed to sleep. A/C room, clean bathroom and free breakfast. We have basic cable TV channels with about 35 channels. If you are looking for 100 or more channel then you are at the wrong place. Most of our repeat clients are looking for this type of hotel room with affordable price. We are not a 5 star hotel and we do not charge $100 or $150 per room. Our room charge is $35 to $60 depending on how many people stay. Once again thank you for your review. We will do our best to make everyone happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

The service was friendly, but the room and facilities were average compared to what is available elsewhere in Sri Lanka. Decent but not overly clean and basic decor. The price was not average, charged much higher than advertised.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountlavinia, Owner at Tropic Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We will look into your concern. We are disappointed with your comment about "charged much higher than advertised". We never charge higher than what the hotel and the guest has agreed when booking. For that matter we don't even charge taxes for your stay. Our hotel is clean, has good beds, good linen, good A/C, good breakfast. All this from $ 35 to $ 60 depending on how many people are staying. Our goal is to satisfy our guest first.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the start of our trip and 3 nights at the end. Lasitha greeted us with his warm lovely smile upon our very early morning arrivals and was just so wonderfully friendly, caring and helpful!!!! Rooms are made-up daily, lovely hot showers, aircon and room 27 has a wonderfully comfortable mattress!!! Pillows are great - many other places were lumpy. Breakfast has much variety and is buffet. All the staff are very friendly. Location is just 2 minutes from the beach and is quiet. Fridge in room was great for buying Lion beer at Keels!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foximamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We've stayed our first two nights on Lanka in this gem of a hotel and it really helped us get settled in our new environment.

The layout of the hotel is great - the mahagoni staircase is impressive - the rooms small but tidy. Everywhere you can see, where the owners and personnel make an effort to make your stay with them as positive as possible: the hotel-rules-sign that makes you smile almost every line, the green-painted garden outside the restaurant, the seating in the open inner area of the house.

Apropos restaurant: breakfast was awesome and a very good way to get to know many of the Lankan specialities.

With Lasitha we've had the most comforting manager, who really helped out with every need and that in a kind and comforting way.

4 Stars for the cleanliness and great service, 1 star reduction for the rather basic room and bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying_Kilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews