We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great initiative!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Our Turtle Conservation Project

Our Turtle Conservation Project
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great initiative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Nice project from somebody who seamed to really care about these animals. It's a fine place to visit, although our tuktuk had difficulties finding it. The owner was explaining everything very clearly and the story was solid. After this you can make a donation if you want and drink something in the cafe.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    28
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting Project”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Fantastic insight to the plight of turtles and the wonderful work these people are doing to increase the survivorship of baby turtles

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
419 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A very worthy trip to help the turtles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

this sanctuary is just a bit further south on the beach from the Mount Lavinia Hotel.

It isn't well signposted but it is well worth the effort to find it

for a small fee of 500lkr (£2.40) Milan will show you all the turtles he has and tell your the story of how each came to be there. Some unfortunately will never leave due to their severe injuries.

Milan is passionate about his turtles and so i would encourage everyone to pay him a visit and donate a bit to help him along

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
419 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Wow! extremely worthwhile attraction on Lavinia Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

we stumbled across this when we had lunch on Lavinia Beach. the man in the restaurant said we should call in and we set off along the railway line to find it.

Just to the south of The Mount Lavinia Hotel (across a shabby stretch of beach decimated by the Tsunami) we found it.

we are so glad we did as this worth while cause needs all the help and support it can get.

it isnt some big swanky purpose built tourist attraction. It is a few passionate local people led by Milan and doing their best to help these amazing creatures, from huts along the beach.

they told us they lost 4 turtle tanks in the tsunami and are gradually rebuilding to accommodate more.

for just a small fee - 500rp or less than £4.50 - Milan talks you through the turtle tanks and lets you hold some of the turtles. He is trying to educate local fisherman and residents about the importance of protecting these magnificent creatures.

the climax of our visit was to release a turtle each into the ocean. Amazing feeling.

please take the time to seek him out and support him

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Our Turtle Conservation Project also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 

Been to Our Turtle Conservation Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing