We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel and great wedding venue!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Hotel Dolphin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Hotel Dolphin
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Certificate of Excellence
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and great wedding venue!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Where do i start, me and my wife spent a week at the Club Hotel Dolphin in mid december (2012). There was a group of 12 family and friends who joined us for our wedding at the hotel.
We really can't fault the hotel or its positioning one bit, from the beach location, the great spacious clean rooms, pools and outside bar area and the fantastic choice on offer in the all inclusive buffet morning, noon and night. And if the buffet isn't to your liking you won't be disappointed with the food in The Waves Resturant which is well worth a visit.

Both the hotel staff and barman were all so friendly and helpful. A special thank you must be said to Miss Maureen and the other wedding co-ordinator for organsising our special day and their attention to detail that has left us which such fanatastic memories of the day.

We went with Virgin Holidays and found our rep Shirley very helpful. He also organised a trip for 9 of us with Walker Tours to the Elephant Sanctuary which was very enjoyable and well worth a visit.

As for the wedding we really couldn't have asked for a better day!! So well organised from start to finish, everything we hoped for and more. The beach location for the ceremony, photographs in the garden and the Beach bbq in the evening by camp fire with calypso band playing in the background. The photographs were amazing so much better than we had hoped and the beach bbq served up such fantastic food, some of the best I have ever eaten!

A massive thanks to all the staff at the hotel.

I would recommend not just the hotel for a fanatastic time but Sri Lanka as a whole.

We will certainly be back!!

Hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gymdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    633
    205
    67
    48
See reviews for
550
1,097
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed for 10 nights for our honeymoon with our 4 year old daughter, it was splendid, especially the service from the staff. Our room was big enough for 1 full size single and 1 king sized bed, the room was clean, needing a little attention in the bathroom mainly. We were in room 227 and had a fab view over the pool.
The restaurants were good, food very varied and nice. Lots of choice. Serving staff very nice and welcomgn to children.
Our room cleaning guy was amazing, with marvellous creations from every few days from towels!
The reception staff helpful and friendly, especially kokila who was amazing with our daughter.
There was a kids team but we did not use it as not many kids there at the time, and we wanted to be together, disappointed that lack of kids meant no entertainment for the few that were there, but ion the nights entertainment was on it was okay, but very amature - much better in Mediterranean rand Caribbean resorts.
Would have liked to stay longer, loved hotel position and pool was the best ever, so clean and not packed, we spent most of our time in the water, it was perfect for younger guests as lots of shallow areas to play in. We visited the quiet area several times, that pool is lovely and the bar nicer, so would recommend to go there
The beach is nice, but waves rough that only my husband went in the sea each day, only once for me and that was tough as need to be strong swimmer, no was was our little one going in at all!
All in all, would recommend club dolphin to other people, a fair mix of nationalities, so not overwhelming, I especially think young children would like it for the pool alone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 227 overlooking main pools, fab view of sunset. Much preferred to be in main buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmersandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

friendly, tasty food, massive buffet and seafood a la carte. entertainment on stage is poor. our friends wedding there was amazing we all loved it and had dinner on the beach. get in the sea and have fun getting thrown around by the strong waves (under tow ! ) the girls went off on a catamaran and we went sea fishing on speed boats and saw loads of dolphins and locals fishing. they helped with excursions to elephant sanctuary and a trip to kandy. canoe down the river next to them, very peacful. their local town market is an eye opener

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttersben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel 18th dec-06jan, nice resort but need s a revamp espessialy the rooms,The staff were nice the food was fair . except you cannot fry eggs on a hot plate. One of the good features of the hotel is you have two areas,the busy area by the main pool and the quiet area ctering for everyone One of the drawbacks is the isolation, also the excursions are expensive.Should you want to use a taxi stay away from emmanuals use club dolpin cars

Room Tip: stay away from the low 100s if you can make the stairs choose the second floor. some ground floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

This was our first stop after a long journey and what a wonderful way to be introduced to the country and its people. The staff were extremely accommodating and helpful. The accommodation was of a high quality and the setting was stunning. We would have liked to stay another couple of days but there's simply too much to see and do in Sri Lanka to stay put in one place for too long.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srejtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljungskile, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Our honeymoon :)
My husband and I be happy at the hotel and we saw it's finest location.
We have cozy and watch the star in the sky because we are happy that we are there to feel one top :)
Wonderful pool and everything.
Nice place in the hotel :)
Lovely villa on the hotel.
Good food and among others

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johanna1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

We were treated extreamly well from the moment we arrived and untill we left. Our daughter got married in the hotel and all the staff made it a day to remember, nothing was too much trouble. We went as a party of 11, and we all had the time of our life. We took a 4 month baby with us and she also had a fantastic time. The rooms were large and kept very clean. The food selection was unbeleavable and very tasty. Our Virgin rep Shirly was very helpful, organised a trip for us. Can not praise this hotel with its fantastic staff enough

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikkal
0.8 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
4.1 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Dolphin

Property: Club Hotel Dolphin
Address: Kammala South | St. Sebastian Mawatha, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Hotel Dolphin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here on Sri Lanka's golden west coast, we believe that every moment of your time spent with us is precious. . Precisely why we offer a host of facilities for your comfort and opportunities for you and your loved ones to enjoy an unforgettable stay with us in Sri Lanka. Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE you can have the best of both worlds at Club Hotel Dolphin Waikkal. Our hotel is known to be the ultimate family beach holiday destination in the region.. PAUSE... Find a place under the swaying coconut palms, and re-discover that inner peace that you've been missing for so long. Take a long walk on the golden beach. Enjoy the sensation of curling your toes in the pure sands and revel in the warmth of the sun on your skin. Lie back and listen to the soothing roar of the waves as you slip into a deep state of relaxation at the spa. PLAY... Dive into Sri Lanka's longest swimming pool and score the winning point at water polo! Hit the gym, or take a water aerobics class. Say yes to adventure! Learn to paddle a kayak and explore the mangroves, or feel the wind whistle past, as you see the world from horseback trekking along the beach. Enjoy top notch entertainment and live shows, indulge in beach-side BBQ s and delicious buffets, take time for a romantic meal for two under the moon and stars... Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE at Club Dolphin you can enjoy the very best of both worlds... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Hotel Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Waikkal
Club Hotel Dolphin Sri Lanka/Waikkal
Dolphin Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing