We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Club Hotel Dolphin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Hotel Dolphin
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Visited Dolphin Hotel in November and found the accommodation to be excellent, we stayed in a superior sea view room which had been refurbished to a high standard, our only criticism was the position of the toilet which did not leave a lot of room between the it and the shower.
There was a wide choice of food at all meals, yes you could have curry at every meal or choose more European cuisine, we enjoyed both. Also the sweets were delicious, top marks for the ginger and date pudding.
We booked a day trip to the Elephant Orphanage and Kandy with Sam the Hayes and Jarvis rep from the Hotel which was excellent and we also booked a Tuk Tuk, Train and River Boat tour into Negambo with Harry from Asda Tours (off the beach) this was a super half day trip and excellent value for money NOT TO BE MISSED.
The Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful as were the locals.
A very enjoyable holiday and one we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenx2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,080 of 2,235 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

An experience never to be forgotten. We spent the first week of our honeymoon at this hotel and there were plenty of positives:
Great Service
Great food
Lovely sea view villa - good vantage point for amazing sunsets
Clean rooms (room boys do a good job)
But a few negatives:
Stray dogs - around the pool and beach
Horses kept next to the spa (can ruin a nice peaceful massage)
Monkey chained up on beach - not to mention Mr Asda and Mr Tesco trying to sell excursions ALL of the time!
Hint - we went with Virgin - the rep was very annoying!!

Room Tip: Sea view villa's definitely worth the extra. 57 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simona326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I booked this holiday for Semptember as a special holiday of a lifetime for my partner and myself but sadly it was not to be. Although I was informed on booking there were renovations going on we were assured it would not affect our holiday. On arrival we found that the large pool which is one of the reasons we came and features prominently in the advertising for this hotel was not usable due to building work and various facilities were not available.If we had known this we would not have booked. As with another review which prompted this one the food was always luke warm and never improved although mentioned often to the staff. However the staff and the Sea view villa were very nice. I booked the sea view villa and paid extra to make this a holiday to remember as it was my first trip abroad for over 47 years so I was upset to find people upgraded for free because there was not room in the main block. Also if you do book a Sea view villa be prepared for a bit of flooding when it rains. So make sure if you are thinking of coming to Club Dolphin that everything is in order. Best of luck. Disappointed!!

Room Tip: If you want a good view book sea view villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear that you liked the service of our staff and the villa rooms situated on the beachfront.

We are saddened to hear that you felt disappointed with your stay with us during middle to end of October 2013, predominantly due to the activity pool (large pool) being closed down for refurbishment. We are concerned as to why you did not have access to this information at the time you made the reservation as we had clearly informed our partners selling our property in the UK which facilities will be effected and how long the renovation is expected to be carried out. If you could provide us an opportunity to connect with you direct by email or phone, we would like to pass on your sentiments to the travel agent you made your reservation, hoping they would provide an explanation to you regarding the miscommunication. However we understand your disappointment and hope you will not hold this incident against us.

Further regarding the room upgrades, yes a few room changes did take place because the initial block of refurbished superior room which were released had a few teething issues. I hope you will agree that this was to deal with a situation which arose as an exception.

We have noted the point you made regarding the food serving temperature. Our executive chef is already reviewing the food temperatures and will take necessary action to improve the temperature inspections that take place during the main meal servings. We are also sorry that you had a little bit of water coming into your villa, which rarely ever happens, but if at all, only during very heavy monsoon rains. We do apologies for any inconveniences you experienced and hope this would not discourage you from returning to us in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require any assistance in the future and thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

i think dissapointed is a apt discription of our holiday
we travelled with another couple and we are all 60 plus
we arrived back in england on the 1st of november having spent two weeks in the hotel
the couple we travelled with rob and sue had visited the hotel before some years ago and said that it was a very good hotel.we were informed by our travel company that renovations would be completed before we arrived unfortunately they were not,only the bar at the small pool and a bar close to reception were open,rooms were very good and well looked after by the room boys,animation team seemed to take turns doing the animation and working on the building site.
but did a good job with games round the pool.the food was varied but a lot of the times it was cold in the tureens even with the tea lights lit beneath them,was it cooked and left in the kitchen cooling before it was put on the tea lights? overall the staff in the resturant were friendly and efficient.on the dining experience our friends that had been to the hotel before had a red band whilst ours was blue rob and sue got a free glass of wine with dinner we had to buy ours.another
point it seems that a religious festival once a month the hotel cannot serve alchol on particular festival days even though we paid for all inclusive months ago,and guess what in room fridges had beer so we drank them on the festival day and yes we were charged.taxi guy at gate godfrey is genuine nice guy,been to a lot of all inclusives mexico cuba dominican mauritius and carribean don!t think club dolphin is on my list to visit again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyboyCastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to sharing your valuable thoughts and views regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you liked the rooms and found the service of our associates to be friendly and efficient. .

We have noted your comment about the ongoing refurbishment during your stay from middle to end of October 2013. We are surprised that the correct information had not got communicated to you as we had informed all our travel partners well in advance about the refurbishment with a detailed time frame of work. If you could provide us an opportunity to connect with you direct by email or phone, we would like to pass on your sentiments to the travel agent you made your reservation, hoping they would provide an explanation to you regarding the miscommunication. However we understand your disappointment and hope you will not hold this incident against us.

It was indeed a pleasure to welcome back Rob and Sue to their second home and as a small gesture of goodwill, we have a special program for repeating guests to our property. This enables us to express our gratitude for the continuous patronage of our resort by our valued repeat guests and we hope you will provide us the chance to extend these treatments to you if you decide to return to us.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in Sri Lanka.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This our 5th time at this wonderful hotel. I didn't think I would be the type of person to go to the same place twice, let alone 5 times. I've seen improvements to the hotel in the 5 years and we always stay in one of the beach front villas, which are superb. The hotel was in the final stages if an extensive refurbishment, but this did not affect our stay in any way. The food as always was extremely good and the chef made us a wonderful prawn curry. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sri Lanka as it is only about half an hour from the airport. The staff are fantastic and nothing is to much trouble and they are genuine. We are hoping to return next year and would like to thank Daniel Ludwig the general manager for being so helpful as always. I think we class the Hotel Club Dolphin as our second home and can't wait to return to see all our Sri Lankan friends.

Room Tip: The seafront villas are amazing and you go to sleep with the sound of the waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cas1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting Club Hotel Dolphin for your recent holiday and returning to us for the fifth time. We are grateful to your continuous patronage and are delight to know that your holiday was an enjoyable one.

Our philosophy and culture drive us towards continuous improvements both to the product and services we offer and we are happy to see that the improvements that has been done to the property so far is appreciated by our special loyal guests such as yourself.

We appreciate you pointing out your experience of the ongoing refurbishment work which I am proud to say was completed and the whole hotel opened as scheduled on 1st November 2013. The entire hotel including the refurbished main building areas are now accessible including both our swimming pools. We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home, Club Hotel Dolphin for your sixth visit to the hotel.

Thank you so much for your kind appreciative sentiments which I have already shared with our associates. Your words have provided great support and encouragement to us to strive even harder in delighting our guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require any assistance in the future and thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

In a word - SUPERB!
Could not fault this hotel in any way. The staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful. The beach view villa we stayed in was excellent, the facilities very good and there was a wide veriety of food.
Looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: Room 51 - great sea views and you have a great view of the sunset every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MandMHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience of Club Hotel Dolphin.

Your kind sentiments are a great inspiration to us and all our associates take great pleasure in being able to deliver an experience which you felt was ‘Superb!’.
Your words of praise were shared with the hotel team and we take this opportunity to thank you for reviewing your experience of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back and I will be happy to assist you if ever you need any assistance in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was our the first visits to a Serendib group hotels. Spacious rooms, Room comforts are even better than a 5 star hotels we've visited recently. Excellent food and all three menus had excellent choices for me and my family. We had a wonderful time at Club Hotel Dolphin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lasitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikkal
0.8 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
4.1 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#2 of 43 in Negombo
503 reviews
8.7 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 43 in Negombo
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
522 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 43 in Negombo
1,514 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 43 in Negombo
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Dolphin

Address: Kammala South | St. Sebastian Mawatha, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range: £56 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Hotel Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here on Sri Lanka's golden west coast, we believe that every moment of your time spent with us is precious. . Precisely why we offer a host of facilities for your comfort and opportunities for you and your loved ones to enjoy an unforgettable stay with us in Sri Lanka. Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE you can have the best of both worlds at Club Hotel Dolphin Waikkal. Our hotel is known to be the ultimate family beach holiday destination in the region.. PAUSE... Find a place under the swaying coconut palms, and re-discover that inner peace that you've been missing for so long. Take a long walk on the golden beach. Enjoy the sensation of curling your toes in the pure sands and revel in the warmth of the sun on your skin. Lie back and listen to the soothing roar of the waves as you slip into a deep state of relaxation at the spa. PLAY... Dive into Sri Lanka's longest swimming pool and score the winning point at water polo! Hit the gym, or take a water aerobics class. Say yes to adventure! Learn to paddle a kayak and explore the mangroves, or feel the wind whistle past, as you see the world from horseback trekking along the beach. Enjoy top notch entertainment and live shows, indulge in beach-side BBQ s and delicious buffets, take time for a romantic meal for two under the moon and stars... Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE at Club Dolphin you can enjoy the very best of both worlds... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Hotel Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Waikkal
Club Hotel Dolphin Sri Lanka/Waikkal
Dolphin Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing