We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Hotel Dolphin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Suriya Resort(Waikkal)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Waterland(Negombo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetwing Sea(Negombo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emel Boutique Hotel(Kochchikade)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Araliya(Negombo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,454)
Filter reviews
2,454 results
Traveller rating
1,359
740
229
75
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,359
740
229
75
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet poolasda toursanimation teamfirst choiceelephant orphanagewaves restauranttuk tukmain poolsri lankalanka tourscanal gardena la carte restaurantday tripfish marketcurriessnack barfantastic holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,212 - 1,217 of 2,454 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stopped at the Club Hotel Dolphin at the end of January, I had read many reviews but certainly did not expect such a wonderful hotel, in a fantastic location with great staff at the hotel. Our room was lovely, clean and had an amazing large bed! I could not fault any part of the hotel, both of the pools were lovely and always plenty of sun beds. The food was very nice and always had different dishes. We visited Negombo a couple of times which was an experience, but after visiting the two Jetwing Hotels, we were really pleased we were stopping at the Dolphin. Negombo is so busy at all times that it is fun, but certainly not relaxing. We went to the Elephant Sanctuary & Elephant Orphanage which was amazing. It was the most magical thing ever. We paid about £160 for both of us for the trip for the day via the travel company, but would recommend getting one of the local taxi's outside the hotel as the same trip costs £50!! This is an amazing Country with amazing people!!! Fantastic job by the staff at the Dolphin. Well done!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorrayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for 5 nights but it was a fabulous experience. The property is quite large and the location was perfect! We stayed for my birthday and the hotel was so nice and brought a delicious chocolate cake.

Thyagi the Guest Relations Officer really took care of us throughout our stay. The only downside is that she requested us and other guests (we got to know), to write her name in the online review, we would do so anyway, if we appreciate the service of the staff.

Also we would like to mention Saman the room boy, always a smile on his face.

Our room did not have a view but we didn't care because who really spends time in the room? The beach front was beautiful as well as the sunset.

People reserve pool lounge chairs very early in the morning and usually keep it until sunset which We thought was not fair.

All on all we would return back to Dolphin.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Hairline80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a comment regarding your recent stay with us at Club Hotel Dolphin. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and encouraged by your kind sentiments.

We would like to apologise if our staff inconvenienced you in anyway. We most certainly will advise our associates and improve training in the areas of communication. Once again we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you require any assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel only for 3 days. This is our second time to this hotel. We stayed in a triple superior deluxe room because we have 2 children aged 5 & 6. The room was very big with bunk bed for children. The bathroom also was very spacious with all latest settings. We are really impressed with the staff who were very polite & caring. They arranged a welcome party for the people who visited them again, In that party we just mentioned that we love a tropical fruit called rambutan. It was not the season time. But next day during lunch time they brought plate full of that fruit to us, Nice food. We had a wonderful time there. Just wish we can go again & stay there for longer time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamsa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have stayed at the Dolphin many times, but this was our best visit yet. The hotel main accommodation buildings have been refurbished and are excellent. The staff seemed happy and worked efficiently together as one - which must be a reflection of the current GM. We returned for our 11th anniversary having been married there. The Guest Relations Officer, Thyagi certainly took care of us throughout our stay ensuring all our needs were met and even arranged our anniversary dinner in the a la carte restaurant. She made our stay the most memorable and our best ever visit to Srilanka - Thank you "Team Dolphin". Richard and Linda Finnis.

Room Tip: Superior sea view are excellent - closer to the sea the better
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardandLindaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

On arrival at Club Dolphin we were met with a warm welcome by staff, lovely cup of tea after our long journey. We were pleased by the quality of the superior rooms, which were kept spotless by Uppal who met our every need. Cleanliness of hotel second to none, good food plenty of variety to touch every palette, soup and deserts to die for. Great pools our favourite was the Cove bar, superb beach location, would recommend this resort to anybody.227

We would suggest booking excursions with Asda Tours who gave a well organised two day tour with overnight stay in Kandy.

On route to our destination we stopped off at a local pineapple plantation with fruit to try and a road stop to quench our thirst with coconut juice from the locals, really refreshing on a hot day.

Our two day tour started with the Elephant Orphanage, we had the joy of feeding the baby elephants, you had the option at an extra charge to ride the elephants , Temple of the Tooth Relic, Tea Plantation, Spice garden, gem centre followed, ending with the Cultural Show in Kandy, excellent local dancing and fire walking followed by dinner back at the hotel.

Day two saw us visiting Dambulla Rock Temple,Sigiriya rock climb followed by a superb lunch at local restaurant, we do advise leaving lunch until after the rock climb.

You must experience the half day trip to Negombo the ride in the tuc tuc thrilling, taking in the train ride followed by a trip to the famous fish market, local shopping and back downstream by boat to the hotel.

Value for money for both trips and a big thank you to Harry the guide and Emanuel the driver, who made our trips a safe and enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Superior room 227 recently refurbished great shower /comfortable bed /sea view good recommend paying extra for superior room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews