We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome again!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Hotel Dolphin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Hotel Dolphin
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our second visit at the Dolphin hotel. Last year there was a renovation going on and we were curious how everything looks likes after the renovation.
What they have done with the hotel was amazing everything looks perfect the new rooms, the big swimming pool and area, the pool bar, the gym etc. Daniel you have done a great job!!
The service in this hotel is by far from the highest level.
I have only one complain, the entertainment in the evening needs improvement. They need someone who is a really good dancer like Kalum who can teach the rest of the team, that will improve the evening shows.
And there is one thing that I missed this year, the Zumba lessons from Sahan Lalitha. Because he didn't gave these lessons in the hotel anymore I went to his SLA Fitness school in Wennappuwa for a workout. Maybe next year?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurabono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    626
    204
    67
    48
See reviews for
544
1,086
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent two weeks here in June for our honeymoon and everything was perfect, a smooth easy transfer from the airport and straightforward check-in.

The pool is brilliant, so large and you always have space around you in the water. Make sure you do the water aerobics in the morning, great fun and such a laugh. Not really exercise but gives you an excuse to eat more.

The buffets were excellent and such a great variety of food. The srilankan dishes were fantastic and so well cooked. Tasty hot curry and vegetable dishes along with wonderful fruit for dessert plus a huge selection of sweet desserts. Watch those cocktails in the evenings as they can be super potent with local spirits! The local Lion lager is smooth and easy to drink.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Faron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I visited club dolphin sri lanka after 15 years with high expectations. I specifically asked for interconnected rooms coz we have three children under 12. When arrived Kids rooms were away from us so we refused to accept. Finally we were offered with interconnected rooms and asked to pay extra. When questioned why? I was told it's okay you don't have to pay. I thought I paid for all inclusive when I booked from Ireland and fancied a lion lager beer. I was told no ...you booked full board. I requested to upgrade to all inclusive coz kids wanted some drinks...... I was refused to upgrade.

I asked the front office manager Sampth if he could help me out. . he refused to upgrade. Siran and F and B manger tried2 help but Sampth front office manager was not happy to help us out. I ended up paying for all the drinks including kids juices. Full board means only 3 meals.

On the day of check out we were told to leave the rooms earlier than requested time and asked to go to another room coz Sangakkaras family is coming so rooms are needed immediately. I thought this was very unprofessional coz we were in the pool.

In general hotel staff and guest relations are very good and very pleasant. Nothing to admire wow...

Will I go again? No
Daniel



Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. I was happy to note that you are one of our repeat guests, and I am sure you would have noted some of the upgrades and improvements we have done at the property over the last 15 years. However, your review deeply concerns me because we were not able to ensure that you and your family had a perfect holiday with us, which is what we aspire to do.

Our associates had noted your request at the time of the reservation and kept two rooms next to each other arranged for you, however since you had insisted on interconnecting rooms, the hotel team had to mend a room which was out of order at the time of your check-in to accommodate your request. As you would have observed, the hotel had been operating on very high occupancy during the period of your stay. Therefore to provide both a room change on arrival and to offer a late departure from our standard check out time of 12 noon was a very challenging task which was undertaken by the front office associates with the intention of satisfying your requests. We also figured out that certain miscommunications had taken place during this check-in process for which we apologize.

Further I would like to reconfirm that there are certain procedures which prevented the front office staff from amending your reservation conditions upon arrival and your feedback has provided us the opportunity to review our procedures at a higher level and we hope to improve in these areas, in order to provide maximum flexibility for our guests in the future.

Since the room category you were occupying was fully booked on the date of your departure we had to request you to change your room, in order to provide you a late departure. This had been mentioned to you at the time we agreed to a late departure and I assure you that this is the only reason for the room change request.

We are glad to hear that you found the rest of your stay to be very good and pleasant apart from the above mentioned areas of dissatisfaction. I hope you would accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused and I reassure you of our commitment to provide our valuable guests like you a wonderful holiday experience.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Club Dolphin for 2 weeks in July and had a great time. The hotel is about 30 mins away from the airport. Check-in was very quick and straight forward, we were given cold cocktails while our passports were taken for copying. we stayed in one of the villas on the beach. this was very nice and clean with a lovely king size bed, good mattress and pillows. We stayed here with our daughter and another bed was put in the room for her. English plugs worked in the room no problem. 1 bottle of water per person was left in the room each day. There is a mini bar in the room but this is not included in the all inclusive. Jayasiri and his team that looked after our room did a fantastic job. Tea and coffee facilities are included in the room as are large umbrellas just incase you get some rain. The food in the restaurant was very good and the staff were very friendly, you could always find something to eat. post cards and stamps can be bought from the jewellery shop in the hotel. I had 2 rings made here and was very happy with them and the price also got proper certificates. There are another 2 shops in the hotel selling beach clothes and solouveners. we did one trip with our virgin rep and one with asda no problems with either. The sea was not suitable for swimming, but we knew this before we arrived due to the time of the year but we enjoyed walking on the beach and having a paddle. There are 2 pools in the hotel the large one and the quiet pool. We spent most of our time at the quiet pool. but our teenage daughter spent her time at the other pool with the animation team and had a fantastic time. the pool attendants are great greeting you at the pool making sure you have a sun shade etc and free sunglasses cleaning was a nice touch as was the fresh coconut that was brought round. Everybody in the hotel was super friendly from gardener to management and everyone in between. we would defiantly go back here again. I would say majority of the guests were German with a few English and other nationalities thrown in. Free Wifi is included in the hotel all over. We had a couple of devices so asked for extra codes no problem at all. Few points why I didn't rate it excellent not that these points would put me off coming again. We were a family of three and could have done with more than the one room key that was given to us. Wine or whisky is not included on the all inclusive. the hotel is about 40 mins away from the nearest town, if you need any extra supplies. I think the hotel shops are missing out on a good market here that they could expand in. There are a lot of dogs and cats around the hotel. To me it is quiet obvious that there home is the hotel and think it would be nice if the hotel gave them basic care as there are lovely friendly animals. The only animal I didn't like were the big black crows that were around, we witnessed these horrible birds peck at the poor dogs and one even swopped down on me to try and get my glasses. Anyone thinking of booking should go for it. You are in for a treat and hope to come back myself again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swissdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hi

Just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel - would recommend highly, great facilities, excellent and varied choice of food, great staff and beautiful location. Pools are clean and well maintained (no sea swimming during our trip however we knew this would be the case). Our 7 yo boy had a great time as well ( he even enjoyed the animation shows) - we didn't use the kids club or babysitting services so can't comment on those.

Stayed in a sea view villa closer to the quiet pool - well appointed room and great views

Room Tip: Sea View Villa was lovely - close to everything, quiet, beautiful views also
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed only 1 night in a Hotel Dolphin. First impression was good. Nice clean rooms with fantastic view of the sea side. Opted for buffet at dinner. Vast selection of authentic srilankan food. Appams was brilliant and so as the dessert selection. Buffet price is steep, regardless good quality food.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed only 5 days on our way to Maldives. Hotel has quite big territory, which was cleaned each day (mostly from leaves). We stayed in a beach villa which looks a bit ugly from outside but it's nice inside (there were some small damages like broken light in a wardrobe) but it didn't spoil our stay. We knew that we won't be able to swim in ocean (big waves) so both pools were clean and big enough - we enjoyed using them. This hotel is very good if you search for calm place, in case you want more life, activities, road shopping and restaurants, you should choose any other on a Beach road in Negombo, but when Negombo beach is full of locals, Club Dolphin beach is empty, clean and very attracting. Food in hotel restaurants was good and tasty, they have big choice of curries and fruits, cockteil choice is also good. On a territory there were a lot of cats and dogs, they are very friendly and ther is no need to be afraid of them. You can see a lot of squirels as well. The big minus is crows. A lot of crows. Like in Hitchhock movies. A sound of "cra-cra" follows you everywhere: you can hear them when you are in you bathroom or when laying next to pools. They were attacking even dogs.
Most of the visitors of the hotel are Germans, also a lot of Russian are there - everybody behaves good) On a beach you can find locals who propose excursions.
In general we were satisfied with out choice and stay there.

Room Tip: In June/July better to take not beach villas but rooms in main buiding (to loud on a beach because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikkal
0.8 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
3.6 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 42 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#5 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Dolphin

Property: Club Hotel Dolphin
Address: Kammala South | St. Sebastian Mawatha, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Hotel Dolphin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here on Sri Lanka's golden west coast, we believe that every moment of your time spent with us is precious. . Precisely why we offer a host of facilities for your comfort and opportunities for you and your loved ones to enjoy an unforgettable stay with us in Sri Lanka. Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE you can have the best of both worlds at Club Hotel Dolphin Waikkal. Our hotel is known to be the ultimate family beach holiday destination in the region.. PAUSE... Find a place under the swaying coconut palms, and re-discover that inner peace that you've been missing for so long. Take a long walk on the golden beach. Enjoy the sensation of curling your toes in the pure sands and revel in the warmth of the sun on your skin. Lie back and listen to the soothing roar of the waves as you slip into a deep state of relaxation at the spa. PLAY... Dive into Sri Lanka's longest swimming pool and score the winning point at water polo! Hit the gym, or take a water aerobics class. Say yes to adventure! Learn to paddle a kayak and explore the mangroves, or feel the wind whistle past, as you see the world from horseback trekking along the beach. Enjoy top notch entertainment and live shows, indulge in beach-side BBQ s and delicious buffets, take time for a romantic meal for two under the moon and stars... Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE at Club Dolphin you can enjoy the very best of both worlds... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Hotel Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Waikkal
Club Hotel Dolphin Sri Lanka/Waikkal
Dolphin Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing