We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of tranquility”
Review of Villa Suriyagaha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Suriyagaha
Ranked #3 of 5 Waikkal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This was our first trip to Sri Lanka and we stayed at Villa Suriyagaha for 9 nights. What a fantastic place to spend your holiday!

Duncan met us at the airport and it only took 30 minutes to get to the villa. On arrival, after marvelling at the spacious en-suite room we had (with a great view of the pool from the balcony I might add!), we immediately set about relaxing with a couple of beers by the poolside. In fact we spent most of our holiday relaxing by the pool as it is such a perfect place to unwind and forget all about work!

Duncan and Sandie are the perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble - from providing a great breakfast (from fresh fruit salad to cereals and toast to full 'English' or all of the above!) to arranging a tuk-tuk driver to take you into nearby Negombo for a meal and a few drinks at one of the local restaurants/bars - Kamlo restaurant does a great curry by the way. If you don't fancy eating out you can have an evening meal at the villa and there's nothing to beat Sandie's home cooking! Duncan also arranged a driver and a guide to take us on a trip to Sigiriya (where we visited the Lions Claw - lots of steps - and had a ride on an elephant) and Dambulla - we visited an elephant orphanage near there. But be warned - it takes a long time to get anywhere in Sri Lanka - the roads are not briiliant and there's a lot of traffic. For our trip we set off at 6.00 a.m. and got back at 8.00 p.m. but it was well worth it. All the drivers and guides are from the local village and they all speak reasonable English I(and often German as well!) and are very friendly and helpful. Duncan also arranged for us to go on a boat trip down the local river - highly recommended.

All in all we had a wonderful time and enjoyed 5* hospitality at a very reasonable price. We are definitely looking to go back and stay with Duncan and Sandie again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2011

We went to Sri Lanka for two weeks, birding the first week and to Villa Suriyagaha the second.
The first week was exhausting with lots of travelling and the second was like finding an oasis in the desert-perfect !
The rooms, food and service were first class, nothing was too much trouble for Sandie and Duncan we even had roast on Sunday !
We can't recommend it highly enough and Sandie and Duncan are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil_swanwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This now being my 5th time staying at Duncan & Sandie's as always a fantastic holiday
always the perfect host's. Villa Suriyagaha is definately a must for a nice relaxing break with the opportunity to see many places like the fantastic Elephant Orphanage,Temple Of The Tooth,Sigiriya And many more cultural experiences and of course fantastic weather,fantastic food Sandie does a cracking Sunday roast !!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjb11d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Sandie and Duncan made our holiday special nothing was too much trouble for them
from arranging trips to Sandies fantastic cooking including a Sunday roast the rooms
were spotless cleaned every day by her lovely staff as was the pool and gardens.
trips were arranged using local people either by taxi or our favorite the tuk tuk.
We would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterwheeler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks and absolutely loved the villa, the rooms are very spacious and beautifully designed/decorated with lovely balconys over looking the grounds which are kept immaculate. The pool is fantastic and clean, great size as well.
Duncan and sandy really are the nicest genuine hosts you could hope for they treated us so good, arranged all our trips out, gave us guidance and advice of anything we wanted to know and gave us a touch of home warming with all the fantastic food of an evening not to mention a few drinks of course.
If anyone is thinking about going to sri lanka definately stay here you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumpinjackKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Simply the best place we have ever stayed, it can't be faulted.

My wife and I were visiting Sri Lanka on a birdwatching trip and stayed a total of nine nights at Villa Suriyagaha - three nights at the start, three between birding tours and three at the end. Birding tours can be exhausting, dawn till dusk affairs, and this was just the perfect haven to wind down and relax. However, the garden and surrounding area is full of birds so my binoculars were never far away and I recorded 53 species without trying hard!

We stayed in the bungalow and the main Villa and both were spotless and comfortable. Breakfast is included and was served on the patio. Whilst we opted fresh fruit, yogurt, cerial and toast, Sandie would prepare whatever you wanted - provided she could get hold of it! We also ate in at night and had some of the best food ever. Sandie's cooking and presentation is fabulous. Most food is European style including a traditional English Sunday roast but we asked for curry one night and its was truly superb. Lunch time snacks are available and, most important of all, Duncan always has a good supply of cold beer!

We found a real care and attention to detail and a willingness to help guests with problems. I, stupidly, dropped and broke a denture but Sandie arranged a next day visit to a dentist and a helpful tuck-tuck driver to help with any language problems. After just four hours, I was back with the denture repaired - simples! Amazingly, the cost of this emergency dental work was just £3.42!

So is there a downside to Villa Suriyagaha? Well not for us, however, some might find it a little remote. Please don't expect bright lights, shops and bars. It is perhaps more suited to couples than families with small children.

Duncan and Sandie are perfect hosts and we came home feeling we had made new friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEHShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Loved staying here with these very hospitable Bristolians!
We stayed in a gorgeous double room in the main villa and it was spotless. Beautifully decorated, comfortable bed, quality linen. Massive room and great balcony with view over the swimming pool.
The pool and dining areas likewise - spotless. And both Duncan and Sandie have made a real effort to ensure the villa and grounds are kept up to scratch.
Really nice people, and a very safe environment.
A great location to stay at beginning or end of stay in Sri Lanka, or as a base from which to do tours around the country, as Waikkal itself has very little to offer and the beach not great.
Will definitely be back guys post cider slush in Bristol :) Carolyn & Tim

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJBrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waikkal hotels
0 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,384 reviews
0 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
0 mi away
Suriya Resort
Suriya Resort
#2 of 3 in Waikkal
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Karunakarala Ayurveda Spa & Resort
Show Prices

Been to Villa Suriyagaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Suriyagaha

Address: Aluththota, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Waikkal
Price Range: £39 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Suriyagaha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Suriyagaha Sri Lanka/Waikkal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing