We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming little oasis...”
Review of Reef Villa & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reef Villa & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming little oasis...”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We reached reef after our wedding, feeling the toll of the hectic week passed. Stepping in through the gates into a little oasis lined with foliage and pleasant ambiguity paired with the warm welcome, we were already relaxing! We were able to unwind in the privacy of our spacious yet cozy room which had a wonderful antique style. The spacious bath and outdoor hot tub were incredibly inviting! The eclectic collection of artifacts and ornaments in the main house set the mood perfectly... Food - fabulous! Whether it be western or local cuisine, their unique selection, I am confident, will not dissapoint. And to complement this beautiful property is an attentive, warm and hospitable staff that always greeted us with smiles! The management was kind and flexible allowing special requests we made as well. In short, we loved every bit of it! The only downside is that time has a sneaky way of slipping by when there so I recommend a minimum of 2 nights!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank thushinatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    28
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
94
322
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent a wonderfully relaxing week at Reef Villas. As soon as the hotel gates opened we were transported into a lush paradise garden full of tropical plants and fragrant flowers leading to the Main House. There are seven suites each decorated in Colonial style complete with canopied beds and fantastic rope ceiling fans made of pleated silk. The suites had all modern conveniences including wifi, but they have the look of a beautiful era from the past. In the Main House there are several seating areas decorated in Plantation furniture with local collectables and antiques all around creating a wonderful atmosphere. The hotel is surrounded by a moat full of Koi and other exotic fish. There are outdoor relaxing areas amid the huge and beautiful greenery with wooden paths leading all around the property. The outdoor dining areas facing the ocean provided a romantic view that made every meal very special. We chose to have all our meals at the hotel as the chef was outstanding. The menu selection was varied, from local dishes to more continental ones, very fresh, prepared with great care and attention to details. The service was extremely efficient and very friendly. The staff happily provided anything we asked for. We did take full advantage a very extensive spa menu staffed with very caring, attentive professionals and the Ayurveda treatment we received was simply magical. Words and photos just can’t describe the relaxing atmosphere and care and attention provided by the best possible staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Etienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We chose Reef Villas as a starting point (2 nights) and end point (1 night) for our trip in Sri Lanka as it was within a manageable drive to the airport (about one and a half hours) and a convenient stop off for exploring further south and east. It proved a very good choice. We booked through i-escapes but dealt directly with the property (Bernadette) in advance of our stay to arrange transport and found them very efficient and helpful. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find that Reef Villas is relatively small and personal with only 5 villas and 2 suites in the main house. The villas and main house are surrounded by a network of ornamental lily ponds teaming with fish and located in a large garden with a spacious lawn and coconut palms fronting the beach. We stayed in the Kekatiya and Sapumal Ocean Suite villas which are very spacious and ideal for us, 2 adults and 2 young children. They are beautifully built with old Keralan tiles and colonial style furnishings including wonderfully comfortable four poster bed and working punkahs (and, of course, air con and ceiling fans). There was plenty of room to spare even with the two single beds set up for our children. The bathrooms with indoor and outdoor shower are particularly spectacular. Each villa has a private veranda and swing chair overlooking the garden and towards the sea.

The restaurant, located in the garden served a reasonably varied and interesting menu and included children’s options. I treated myself to lobster twice as it was so fresh and perfectly cooked but all dishes we tried were excellent. If I had one suggestion it would be to improve the range of snacks available outside normal meal times; that said the spiced toasted cashews were the largest and tastiest I have ever tried. I also had a very good Ayurvedic Massage in the garden spa and my wife had a head massage. Also for our second stay we had a complimentary herbal and flower bath for two in the giant tub in our bathroom.

I can’t comment on the surrounding area as, untypically for us, we did not venture outside during our stays, which says something about the allure of the Reef’s garden. I am not sure there is anything specifically to see in Wadduwa which seems a fairly typical Sri Lankan coastal town. The palm fringed beach stretched north and south endlessly and would make a lovely walk but it was not good for swimming as the sea was rough. There were a few families with children staying on our first visit and as it was Sri Lankan New Year festivities, the staff organised some typical Sri Lankan children’s games which were great fun. This typified the great lengths to which staff went to ensure our stay was memorable.

But my abiding memory will be relaxing by the pool and playing cricket in the garden with my son and some of the other families and the staff. My son discovered cricket here and kept the very obliging pool attendants busy bowling to him. So, thank you Malith, Michael and all the staff; it is your personal touch that made our stay so relaxing and memorable.

I can thoroughly recommend Reef Villas if you are looking for a relaxing brief stop off during your travels around Sri Lanka or for a longer stay.

Room Tip: The 4 Ocean Suites each have a unique layout but are similarly spacious and face onto the garden and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Widelytravelled45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden
Level Contributor
177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at some marvelous hotels during our tour of Sri Lanka, but the best was saved until last. The Reef is simply superb, in every way and we have run out of superlatives to describe the location, grounds, main building & bedrooms which were furnished with antique furniture, the spa, the pool, the restaurant & its fresh seafood. Also, the staff who were friendly, courteous, helpful and professional.

Room Tip: A small supplement will get you upgraded to an ocean view room, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyageur775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in an Ocean Suite called Kekatiya at the Reef Villa last week and I have to say this place just blew us away with wow after wow. Over the years we've been lucky enough to stay in some very impressive hotels around the world but this place really stands head and shoulders above all we've ever experienced before. The reef is about extreme comfort and tranquillity without stuffiness and formality. That's the important difference between homeliness and a sterile hotel room.
From the moment your car enters the front gate, you enter a world of beautifully kept gardens, peace and quiet where I think it would be impossible not to relax. I wish I had known about this place before I retired from the oil industry - what a wonderful place to de-stress. You walk through several stunningly beautiful walled water gardens full of interesting plants and birdlife to enter the impressive main building for a friendly welcome by Brendan and Bernadette, the owners. As soon as you walk in and pick a comfy sofa, you look around in wonderment at the multitude of fascinating antique furniture, art and books housed in a very cleverly designed building. Every time we walked through the main building, we found something interesting that we hadn't noticed before. Checking in was pleasant, friendly and completely painless.
Then you are shown to your room and as soon as you enter, you just know its going to be a fantastic stay. Your luggage will have already been delivered and nobody hanging around for a tip! That's really nice in a heavily tip orientated country like Sri Lanka - Whilst recognising that's how the people make a living, it doesn't have to be "In your Face". Some of the other hotels we stayed at in Sri Lanka could learn from this.
The room was very spacious having high ceilings with ornate punkah fans overhead alongside antique working electric ceiling fans. All this is of course complimented by quiet and efficient remote control air conditioning. The rooms are decorated to a very high standard with ornate antique floor tiles, artwork and luxurious curtains alongside really impressive rosewood and mahogany furniture from the times of the Raj. All have been beautifully restored and gave an interesting insight into the days of the old British Empire. The rooms have been very cleverly designed to mix antiques with modern comforts and give feel of a home from home rather than a hotel room. The intricately carved 4 poster bed must be one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in and now I miss it! The huge adjoining bathroom had twin granite basins and a giant stand alone carved granite bath. As you soak in the bath there is a bath rack which features a mirror, holder for your glass of bubbly and a candle holder. It just makes you smile as you walk around see the great attention to detail which makes you want for nothing. Rain type shower inside and a waterfall shower outside in your own private bathroom garden.
We had our own private veranda with an antique Indian swing seat for two and edged by a water feature full of fish. This looked out across well manicured lawns and palms out to the sea.
The open aired but covered restaurant is located in the gardens with a view of the sea. It is divided into two sections so you can sit at a more private table if you wish. Menu choices are good and somebody will take your order late afternoon as everything is prepared fresh. Try the spicy crab ravioli starter - it's to die for. All the meals we chose over our 3 days were excellent and accompanied by very skilled but friendly service. Prices for imported wines, I thought were very fair. We were given a cooking demonstration for the coconut sambol because I asked how to make it. The kitchens were absolutely spotlessly clean and indeed we had to wash our hands and wear hygienic hair nets to enter.
The pool is large and the water appears very clean. I observed staff testing Ph levels at the same time every day. The temperature was just right and with only 7 suites here, the pool doesn't get crowded. There are two spas to choose from and my wife tried one which she thought was excellent.
High quality service is a big thing here. There is always someone at a discrete distance who is only to pleased to help if you need anything. Brendan and Bernadette, you should be really proud of what you have achieved here. I always thought that perfection can't be improved upon but somehow you have done it. I take my hat off to you and we're looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Reef Villa is a little relaxing paradise, we stayed eight wonderful days in this resort, directly at the beach of the indian ocean (you can always hear the breaking of the waves) we also enjoyed the food in this resort very much, the head chef Piyasiri Silva delighted us day by day with another culinary surprise. the restaurant is very intimate (only a few tables) and you can hear and see the ocean. Maybe it's no michelin-star-cuisine but it's incredibly fresh, and well done and a cuisine where the quality of the product is the central point, with oriental spices and fish served at his best, it was extra-ordinary and we loved it very much (and we went to a lot of michelin-star-restaurants in germany and were disappointed !). The rooms in colonial decor are really comfortable and luxury, the service is omnipresent but also very discrete and Brendan the owner is really a lovely host !!! This is my favourite hotel in Sri Lanka - enjoy this romantic spot to relax - it's a wonderful experience !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juergen_Badenerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We travelled around Sri Lanka for a second time in two years this March and actually checked out of a hotel earlier than planned to return to Reef Villa. We knew we would instantly relax and be taken care of. From the minute the gates of this beautiful hotel opened to the minute we left we again received service like no other. Malith and his team did everything to make our stay memorable and special (they even sourced some Ayurvedic bowls for us from Colombo and had them brought to us at the hotel)...nothing was too much trouble. Our children felt at home straight away - they loved seeing the fish, playing cricket with Nihal, seeing the elephant and swimming in the sea. The treatments we received in the new outdoor spa were fabulous and the food consistently good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
1.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
17.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.3 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
16.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
18.9 mi away
Saman Villas
Saman Villas
#1 of 23 in Bentota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Villa & Spa

Property: Reef Villa & Spa
Address: 78 Samanthara Rd, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Reef Villa & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Villa & Spa, is a spectacular luxury hideaway in three acres of beach side, exotic tropical gardens, just 45 mins south of Colombo, Sri Lanka. With our 65m sandy beachfront, all weather tennis court, large swimming pool, lush tropical gardens, Reef sets a new bench mark for luxury accommodation in Sri Lanka. Romantic, private, and intimate and just seven exclusive, palatial suites; the ultimate in elegance and luxury and a soothing blend of warm effortless service and harmonious spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Reef Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Villa Hotel Wadduwa
Reef Villa And Spa
Reef Beach Hotel Wadduwa
Reef Villa & Spa Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing