We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ideal location for Couples”
Review of Serene Pavilions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serene Pavilions
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Ideal location for Couples”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Serene pavilion is an ideal place, if you wish to spend your vacation in a paradise. The pavilion concept is superb and each pavilion has it's own butler. Suminda's(our Butler) service was very friendly and excellent. Foods at Serene pavilions are the best.Every cuisine served to us was Just perfect. Specially Sri Lankan foods. we enjoyed our stay at serene pavilions. They made it a memorable one.Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Garden Pavilion will be the best option if you prefer privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aushadhee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    26
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
28
162
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In a striking contrast to more ordinary and large hotels which might be both extravagant and luxurious but rarely anything else, the guests at Serene Pavilions – in the village of Wadduva – experience an unusual and rare atmosphere which is best described as a "paradisiacal idea". With the care and attention to each guest shown by the staff, Serene may only be described as whole-hearted, genuine and maybe also unique. To our experience, after a 10 day stay in a garden pavilion at Serene in July 2014, the reason must be the exquisite concept: A limited number of guests, the measured staff and in particular the level of professionalism throughout the organisation. This is why we will remember all the dedicated employees who helped us: The persons who thoroughly cleaned the pavilion and decorated our beds with unforgettable flower arrangements, and the receptionists and the barman who carried out their tasks in a personal and well-informed manner.

In addition to managing the pool area, lifeguard and swimming expert Mahinda "escorted" the family to a swim in the Indian Ocean despite capricious ocean currents at this season.

At the dining table Chef Suminda regularly reminded us about the possibility to be served food at our request, and he also suggested alternatives outside the regular but wide-ranging menu. The kitchen at Serene is at the same level as any international or fashionable restaurant. Suminda and his kitchen staff deliver gastronomical experiences and creativity in presenting the food.

Our personal butler Thusitha made our stay at Serene Pavilions more interesting and remarkable. Besides serving us in a professional and quiet manner, Thusitha shared his knowledge about the social, political, cultural and religious Sri Lanka. We enjoyed the knowledge obtained through the conversations we had with him.

In our opinion Serene Pavilion continuously follow up in any matter that the guests bring to their attention. The few negative comments made in previous reviews, such as cracks in a private pool deck and difficulties in finding cheap transportation from the hotel, has to our experience ceased to exist.

We will return.

Kristin, Dina & Johan

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this fabulous hotel and we cannot recommend it highly enough. The service is impeccable. Each pavilion (room) has it's own butler. We had Suminda and he looked after us with a friendly, professional efficiency. Anything we needed was dealt with immediately and (unlike the other hotels we stayed at on our recent tour) the staff went out of their way to anticipate our needs. The rooms are very well equipped and very comfortable with large beds (4 poster) very good quality linen, lots of large thick towels. One tiny tiny complaint ... The hair drier is one where you have to keep your finger on the on button all the time which is quite annoying ....maybe it's a health and safety issue. Anyway it didn't matter everything was so glorious at this superb hotel. The chef is brilliant and the food is not only very plentiful but utterly delicious and very imaginative, the scrambled eggs at breakfast were the best I have had. Also excellent cocktails. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Saracjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a great time..We spent two nights at serene pavilions as part of our honeymoon and it was awesome. We had planned this trip much earlier and due to some issues we could not make it. However, the hotel was very kind and changed our dates without any fuss. It was very convenient and Thilini, who handled our reservation was very helpful.

From the time we came to the hotel, it was bliss..

The hotel is situated not too far from Colombo and if you hate long drives like me, then this is the ideal place. Upon arrival, we were taken to our pavilion and Mr.Chaminda, our butler was very good. Explained everything to us and made our stay special.

Think it was only us (my wife and I) at the hotel and it was very peaceful. I heard that no kids are allowed and if so, then it should remain the same throughout i guess.

All in all it was a great experience and we loved every minute of it!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for privacy, I suggest the garden pavilions as the ocean pavilions are open to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sahan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our feelings from this place are mixed at best. We had really high expectations and the place didn't live up to them. We have spent here almost a week and that was just too long in first place.
Food was average at best.
Butler service was very very poor.
The deck around our pool was kinda damaged and we had to be careful not to get injured while walking there.
Several times the AC just wasn't working.
Butler was more recommending outside food than the services of the hotel.

Well, nice try, but not again...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a fantastic place. Great place to relax and be pampered after several days touring. very peaceful - a great place to relax in beautiful surroundings. Couldn't fault it and we are very "picky travellers". Stayed for 9 nights March /April 2014. The service was fantastic - thoughtful but not intrusive - thanks Lahero (our butler) you were amazing. The room had everything we needed and some. Go for the ocean view suite there is a great cooling breeze and the view of the sea is amazing. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean pavillion is the best - sea breeze and amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

stayed at Serene Pavilion for one night as the first stop in our honeymoon. Simply amazing experience. the chalets are beautiful and spacious with each having its own pool and Jacuzzi, personal butler service. The chalet has all the luxuries of fine living and perfect for a special get away.
The food is fantastic and the little area near the pool/porch is a lovely place to enjoy a meal in privacy while enjoying the sound of the ocean and cool breeze.
Very friendly service from our butler, chaminda, and from the guest comments it seems everyone is well trained and efficient.
Enjoyed every minute of our stay there..

Room Tip: Ocean villas offer the best view. Make sure you book a meal plan as ordering off the menu may prove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
0.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,380 reviews
1.0 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
17.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
4.6 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Pavilions

Property: Serene Pavilions
Address: 20 Upali Mawatha, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#4 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serene Pavilions 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Pavilions is a spacious tropical haven, located on the Southwest coast of Sri Lanka. The boutique hotel comprises of 12 Balinese-inspired pavilions, spread over 5 acres of landscaped gardens dotted with coconut palms and lotus ponds. Each pavilion offers a sumptuous bedroom, large living and dining areas, a marble bathroom with Jacuzzi, a kitchenette. The delightful outdoor area features a private plunge pool, and a wooden sundeck with outdoor dining space. With an emphasis on personal service, Serene Pavilions can craft your dream escape. Start the day with breakfast served by your private butler by your plunge pool, or take a dip in the Indian Ocean. Unwind in your villa, where a mix of Sri Lankan and Balinese furnishings create a natural style and tranquil atmosphere. Play tennis, swim a few laps in the central pool, enjoy a spa treatment, or sit back on the beach and wait for the spellbinding sunset. For dinner, choose from the daily menu, or book a private dining session and give the chef free reign to create something new. Then enjoy a nightcap at Amritha Bar as you listen to the waves roll in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serene Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Pavilions Hotel Wadduwa
Serene Pavilions Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing