We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think of booking in here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wadduwa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saffron Beach Hotel Wadduwa
Ranked #17 of 24 Wadduwa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Awful from the moment we 'checked in' .....Service was begrudgingly inept from mgmt , shown our room by the beach......dirty ,musty smelling room , overhead fan missing (bare wires from roof),windows facing beach nailed shut , took 2 hours to get any towels, termite infestation in room .... Food was ok , saving grace was the Sri Lankan wedding in the garden that evening that gave us a glimpse in local .culture ... Moved out next morning and forgot about other nights paid ..
The area is really a Locals area not for Tourists . Nice quaint railway station close by ...
All in all , do not think about this place ever !!!

Room Tip: Find another beach much further down the Coast ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank derekcambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

I have visited Saffron few times and my last visit was during last weekend with a group of friends. Thought of writing my 2nd review on Saffron as the standard has improved quite a bit from my last review.

We went on a Sunday for a day outing with 10 friends of mine where some of them were expats. The management was nice to reserve us a clay cottage for very cheap price by the beach since I'm a frequent visitor.

There were many locals and some foreigners for the buffet and I think in total it was more than 100 people. We had a reserved table and were allowed to bring in our own beer free of charge since the hotel does not have a bar operating.

Buffet lunch was good for the price. It was just 1375Rs and these days it is a good price when compared with other hotels in same class. Good selection of meat items and vegetables. Fruit salad and ice cream for desert.

Towards evening our friends got in to the pool as the 1375Rs ticket included pool facilities and a welcome drink as well. Enjoyed the day very well.

And not to forget the lovely cuttle fish dish we had with beer.

Conclusion - I would definitely recommend Saffron for anyone for a day/night outing. Will suit any budget.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tharinduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This beach side spot has a charming relaxing feel to it for sure.

Tucked away from the main road 1hr out of Colombo accessed from the side road near the Wadduwa police station a short distance away and across the train tracks (be careful) a sharp dip on the road and you're nearly there - rough road leading up to the entrance but well worth the trek. But before you make your way here Saffron beach is BYO so fuel up a few KMs either way from the main road. Ask and people will be glad to point the way.

Prices seem fairly on the high side although portion size is more than friendly. Don't be surprised if your fruit juice selection is unavailable. There are only a few covered table options by the seaside - these are typically had by groups and are held fast! The tables below the main hut attached to the function hall are nice enough and get faster service anyhow. The view of the crisscrossing palms is quite awesome!

The sea may be quite rough so be careful, but picturesque nonetheless.

The pool presents a welcome but crowded alternative - its all about the crowds and day trips here.

We ordered 3 dishes - deviled pork, battered cuttlefish and a chicken fried rice. All of these dishes were tasty and all 3 dishes were ample to share between 3-4. The battered cuttlefish isnt the 'hot butter' variety which is very common in Sri Lanka. We took some leftovers home as well!

We paid with a tip and the waiter brought it back saying we have overpaid. This type of honesty is uncommon...

Overall recommend for groups looking for a decent spot not far out of the city less than 1hr or so. There are only 4 huts or rooms so it is not recommended to stay here unless you cant drive! Do not have high expectations here - this is a simple sri lankan sea side location thats all and is why its frequented by local groups.

Room Tip: Dont do the rooms here unless you cant avoid it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank reviewsplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We have been to Saffron Beach hotels many times as it is close to our home. Never stayed overnight, but have used almost all their facilities during multiple visits. This place has become our regular place to spend an evening with friends due to the location and value for money.

Service - Can certainly improve to get more professional staff and I see a clear improvement for the last 1.5 years we have been visiting the place.

Food - Is good and valuable for the money spent.

Location - Nice location next to the beach and they have 2 cottages made out of clay.

Pool - Is available till night and clean.

Rooms - Are average and for the price of 4000-5000Rs a night I feel it is worth.

No other facilities for the moment and I know they are working on some major construction to increase the number of rooms and facilities.

You can get more info from the website - http://www.saffronbeachhotel.lk/

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tharinduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

A relatively new hotel which needs a lot of work to feel completed. The beach was absolutely beautiful though! So was the pool which was clean and very nice to lounge in. The food had a Sri Lankan twist to it which probably caters to the many locals who come to the place to spend the day. There's not many areas to lounge, with limited lounge chairs and shade. Some buildings needed construction but the induvidual chalets were comfertable and minimalistic.

I personally like rooms and hotels with a little more amenities BUT if you are looking for a reasonable stay where the beach and pool is supreme, go for it. Great for kids and large crowds too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rainer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cellardor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wadduwa hotels
0 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
0 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,453 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Ocean View Hotel
Villa Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 10 in Wadduwa
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
473 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Nest Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Laya Beach
Laya Beach
#13 of 24 in Wadduwa
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saffron Beach Hotel Wadduwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffron Beach Hotel Wadduwa

Address: Sri Wickrama Road, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wadduwa
Hotel Class:2 star — Saffron Beach Hotel Wadduwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Saffron Beach Hotel Wadduwa Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing