We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE COST EFFECTIVE HOTEL” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laya Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Laya Beach
Ranked #11 of 19 Wadduwa B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“NICE COST EFFECTIVE HOTEL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel has come a long way from its humble days. It is operated by the Sri Lanka Army and has a camp feel to it I feel the hotel could do without. The civilian staff are average and could benefit from better exposure and professional training if they are to attract and sustain a higher notch of a customer base.

There is ample parking but you may not find a corner to pull over if there were a wedding or function here. This hotel offers discount pricing to members of the military so it is not uncommon to see them here. Do inquire if they have events scheduled and the nature of the event before you reserve this hotel. The April/May season is often booked by various regiments in the Army to host their New Year functions. Throughout the year one may also encounter government department staff trips here. Depending on the nature of the event you may inconvenienced by the PA system blaring all day.

I would go BB on the reservation and order meals to the room. Although the menu is limited the food is delicious and prices reasonable. The ambience in the hotel is of a cheap one. This can be overlooked if you are checking in at a low price and need a place to sleep in the air-condition. This is a value for money hotel that is affordable to many.

We once arrived here without a reservation to find the hotel booked to capacity! There was not a hotel in the vicinity that had a room. So do ensure you secure a reservation before coming here.

On another occasion, we did reserve a room on the new wing. Upon arrival in the evening we were told to wait because a General was yet to check out of his room! After a lengthy wait we were assigned another room because he was a General and no one was going to remind him to vacate! Perhaps you would not be unlucky to experience such a double standard of hospitality. I would still visit here for a good night or two of reading, swimming and sleep.

The beach here is not great. Avoid the villa rooms on the lawn. I would opt for the new wing only.

Room Tip: Opt for the new wing. Avoid the villa rooms on the ground floor out on the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonfidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    11
    2
    9
See reviews for
22
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

if you want to relax,enjoy the beautiful view,listen to the wonderful sound of the waves of indian ocean and enjoy a real superb service, LAYA BEACH is the real place.

we arrived with 10 of us and first impression was really fantastic. those who working in reception came to us along with their manager and put fresh garlands with AYUBOWAN. we were really surprised and we stayed in few hotels sri lanka before came to LAYA BEACH. but we did not received that type of welcome in our previous hotels in sri lanka.the check in was very quick and The Manager made simple introduction of the hotel facilities and those girls accompanies to the rooms.we had a deluxe rooms with overlooking the ocean and the rooms were big with large balcony and bathrooms with all the basic requirement according to the international standard.the view from the balcony perfect.

RESTAURANT-the service is simply excellent. the staff is so professional and the restaurant had a buffet dinner and breakfast.there was fresh fruits and a egg station at breakfast buffet.PLEASE TRY TO ENJOY THEIR FISH AS ALL FISH VARIETIES ARE REALLY FRESH. The Manager explain on arrival that their kitchen team has won gold medals recently concluded cooking contest in sri lanka where the all hotels were participated.we can really recommend their food and service up to 5 star level.

the hotel has also an almost private beach and no high crowd.there are hotel security on patrol to ensure the guest safety and no way to any locals can come to their beach as it's like their own beach.their pool also lovely and only negative point that due to old building near the pool that we cannot see the ocean while we in the pool.anyway our overall experience at LAYA BEACH was wonderful and we really need come back soon.

Room Tip: rooms in new wing superb with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 255100Kevin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laya B, Front Office Manager at Laya Beach, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Valuable Guest
Thank you very much for your kind feedback.we are happy to know that you and your team had a memorable stay with us and have taken fond memories back home.we are delighted that you were impressed with our offerings and also experienced comfort.we welcome you to indulge in our WARM LAYA HOSPITALITY and we do hope that your next trip to Sri Lanka will be spent at Laya Beach.

Thank you very much for your patronage

Dinesh Lokuyaddehige
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Laya Beach Hotel is run by the Sri Lankan Army. It is a nice and clean hotel with a pool and a restaurant. You can eat ala carte or buffet. My parents and me stayed there 3 nights and had an relaxing stay. The beach is not for swimming! Only bad point was the price...the changed the rate at the end and we had a long discussion about the final payment!

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the main building not the bungalows in the garden. All is A/C and new compared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samten2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laya B, Front Office Manager at Laya Beach, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Ms Samten & Family

Thank you for Some Lovely Comments about your recent Stay at Laya Beach.we are very happy to know that Your Experience with Us has been both Memorable & Wonderful.

in the meantime we would like to apologize for the Experience that you got on your Departure. we highly appreciate your comments on this matter.i hope you will not let this incident deter you from visiting us again. also we would like to thank for your comments on our Buffet and ala-carte.

we look forward to welcome you soon at Laya Beach for Longer Holiday..........!!!

Dinesh Lokuyaddehige
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for two weeks while in Sri Lanka, and it felt like more of a family than just an impersonal hotel stay.

*Friendly staff who are only too willing to help you
*Reasonable Rates
*Spacious & Clean rooms and showers, no bugs. Serviced daily.
*Clean pool
*Great authentic food (we should know because we are Sri Lankan)
*Try their B&B package! - If you let them know what you’d like for breakfast the next day by the evening before, they will arrange it for you
*They can make fresh fruit juice (the papaya juice is amazing)
*Air conditioning was working perfectly for the entire two weeks
*Hot water was also working perfectly with good shower pressure
*Locals like to have their wedding receptions and photo shoots here so you can see what traditional Sri Lankan wedding costumes look like
*Minutes to the beach but it’s not a beautiful beach so we just stuck to the very clean pool.
*Railway crossing nearby but didn’t get woken up by the train sounds.

**Hope the management can think about improving the quality of the beach which has direct access from the back of the hotel.
Also it would be nice if the semi protected railway crossing right in the front, can be upgraded to an automatic gate, to make guests feel safe when they cross the raiway to come in and out of the hotel.

Will definitely be coming back here on our next visit! And probably trying one of the other Laya hotels. Really positive first experience – keep up the good service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laya B, Front Office Manager at Laya Beach, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Mr Priyantha Fernando & Family

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.we are so glad that you were able to end your trip to Sri Lanka on a high note of Laya Beach.

we are so glad that you found the rooms and other facilities at Laya Beach, so unique and worth of Such high praise. Thank you for also for your kind comments of Laya Papa Juice.

we look forward to welcome you soon at Laya Beach for a Longer Holiday..........!!!

Dinesh Lokuyaddehige
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel as our cousin's Home coming was held at this hotel.I have been here ages ago, and I was really surprised by the improvement.It was a pleasure to experience the new touch.
Rooms were wonderful, spacious and very comfortable.With a lovely balcony.Rooms were somewhat 5 star!
But If you are looking for the sophisticated and luxurious type this hotel isn't it.
We enjoyed the breakfast, no complaints about the service etc.
A reasonable average hotel I would say,
Good Luck

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rapz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laya B, Front Office Manager at Laya Beach, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Valuable Guest
Thank you Very much posting Comments of your Recent Stay at Laya Beach-Wadduwa. We are very happy to see that you have Enjoyed with the Laya Changes and Look Forward to Welcome You Back to Laya Beach, Soon.

Dinesh Lokuyaddehige
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

we stay only one night at Laya Beach Wadduwa. we just came to sri lanka for our vacation from Melbourne....anyway when we compare with other hotel we stayed in kandy,Pasikudah, and galle, this is the one of the best hotel in sri lanka.all staff were really helpful and willing to help their guest...specially the people who are working in Reception and Swimming Pool doing great job.they made our stay memorable. we will come back in next year with our Friends.

Room Tip: All Deluxe Rooms Are Fantastic with Sea View........
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 255100Kevin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is a really terrible hotel. Avoid it at all costs. The rooms, food, pool and ambiance are all terrible. Very poor quality and taste. The hotel has a real cheap feel to it. I would not stay here if you paid me.

This hotel is next door to The Blue Water. The contrast between the Laya Beach and the Blue Water could not be greater. If you are staying in Wadduwa, The Blue Water is a far better option.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LionLarger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wadduwa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
0.1 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Ocean View Hotel
Villa Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 10 in Wadduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
4.1 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#5 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laya Beach

Property: Laya Beach
Address: 286/3 Galle Road | Thalpitiya, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laya Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Laya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laya Beach Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing