We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ROMANTIC HOTEL & BEACH - READYMADE HONEYMOON DESTINATION.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ROMANTIC HOTEL & BEACH - READYMADE HONEYMOON DESTINATION.”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

An Hotel with Beach behind, just a walk with mindblowing villa stay and hottest scenes to see near the Beach shore and gorgeous Sunset to see in the eveing and IT IS A READYMADE HONEYMOON DESTINATION. Its pearl of Sri Lanka!!!

Facilities :

-Concierge/ Travel booking and confirmation
-Travel Desk
-Business Centre
-Wireless Internet
-Meeting Rooms
-Conference Facilities
-Day Seminar Facilities
-Hosting of Special Events
-Foreign Currency Exchange
-24 hr security
-Free Porter service
-On-call Doctor
-Payments Accepted
-Multi-lingual Staff
-Non-smoking rooms
-24 hr room service
-Three Bars
-Gymnasium
-Beauty Salon
-Swimming Pool
-Jacuzzi
-Children's Swimming Pool
-River Boat Rides
-Elephant Rides
-Bicycles available on rent
-Ayurveda Centre and Sauna
-Shopping Arcade
-Souvenir Shop
-Beach Weddings
-Laundry Service
-Safety Locker in the lobby
-Valet parking
-Wheelchair access
-Children's Play Area
-High chairs for children
-Baby sitting on request
-Children's Menu
-Outdoor activities
Water Polo
Tennis
Badminton
Beach Volleyball
Mini Golf Course
-Indoor Activities
Pool Table
Table tennis
Chess
Carrom

Room Tip: To stay in Villa Ocean View Hotel for travellers, near to Colombo (commercial hub city)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhu1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    108
    70
    37
    60
See reviews for
89
148
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I never usually write on this website, but I was so compelled to offer my opinions on the sorry state of this place, I just had to.
My wife and I have just come back from our honeymoon trip through Sri Lanka and spent two nights at this place on the final leg of the journey. From the moment we pulled into the place in our car, we both felt that something wasn't right.
RECEPTION
No one greeted us at the lobby, as was common practice throughout Sri Lanka. Check in was slow. The two young men on reception had a serious attitude problem. After we finally got our room key, they tried to force a neon coloured wrist ban onto my wife's wrist, which she questioned the need for (turns out it was to identify what meal plan guests were on, but this is the first time I have ever seen this happen- is this a hotel or a theme park?). They then proceeded to try and physically force the wristband onto her again and again, which she protested again and got quite upset about. Eventually they backed down. A very unpleasant start.
ROOM
We were placed in a 'cabana' room, which is an ugly two storey building within the hotel grounds. The room was on the second storey and was in a state of delapidation. The room smelt like a gym locker room. The bed as small and stained. The floor were greasy and dusted with the previous guests hair and sand. The TV was tiny (9 inches) and with no reception. The bathroom was not as bad, but has cracked porcelain and the drains smelt. The whole place was like a tired holiday camp in a tired English seaside town. We spoke to the manager about the state of the room and if we could have a room change. He obliged and we were moved to different room. The new room was exactly the same except there was no smell.
FOOD
Probably the least awful aspect of this place. Edible but very very bland. It seems clean though (which they take great pride of)
LOCATION
Stuck between a train line and an oil slicked beach. Local 'town' of Wadduwa is very small and has nothing to do. Shady characters hang around both on the beach and outside the compound at the back. Stray dogs roam the beach and grounds. Place doesnt feel safe at all.
CLIENTELE
Place is heavily catered for Russians and Germans on cheap holiday packages and this is reflected in the food and entertainment. Fellow guests seem to be heavy drinkers and noisy. It's not a good place to bring a family.
STAFF
Aside from the inept management and reception staff, the other staff were generally friendly.

We went to the Maldives immediately after staying here, which has only compounded my woes at wasting money staying at this place. Seems the place even has a bad reputation over here as well.
We strongly suggest steering clear of here and going to Bentota or Galle for a much better experience of Sri Lankan hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hamish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wadduwa hotels

Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My partner and I stayed at Villa Ocean View recently for 10 nights and simply loved it! We were welcomed with a cold drink and cold towels when checking in which was a nice surprise. We were shown to our superior room and were pleasantly surprised about the quality of the room. It was large, spacious and clean and were pleased we opted for this rather than the standard accommodation.

Food at the restaurant was brilliant. There is lots of choice and the hotel tries to accommodate both local and western tourists tastes. We highly recommend the curries they have to offer - available breakfast, dinner and tea! They tend to range in heat but they use fresh, local ingredients. Cookery lesson around the pool area gave an insight into how they make their curries amazing. Obviously this is what they specialise in so we opted for local cuisine rather than other dishes.

Drinks have to be ordered and tend to take a short while to come, but this is just a minor blip. Everytime you do order a drink you will have to sign for it (even if you are all inclusive).

One drink to try is the local tipple - arrack. Delicious (even if a little potent!)

The hotel's facilities are good and well maintained. There are 2 bars, one outdoor and one indoor and a decent pool area. There are plenty of places to sunbathe around the pool or next to the beach, under the coconut trees (just beware of falling coconuts and branches).

The hotel offers Ayurverda treatments, which were excellent value for money. Definitely recommend the foot massage.

Also watch out for Monica the elephant who comes for her daily bath in the hotel gardens, she is beautiful.

A special thankyou to all the staff for making our visit so welcoming. Nothing ever seemed too much trouble for them. A big thankyou though to Sujith who organised our excursions (2 day trip to Pinnawala and Kandy and trip to the turtle hatchery and Galle). We had an amazing time on our excursions and cannot thank him enough. Also his driver Niroshan who was so patient and kind, we cannot thank him enough!!

You can use the tour reps, but they are likely to be more expensive. Or you can use the hawkers who hang around the beach who are likely to be cheaper - but there is no guarantee you will get what you paid for! The hotel offered us the best value for money and would not hesitate to use them again.

For a relatively poor country that has been affected by the tsunami and civil war we cannot complain at the standards of the hotel, its facilities or its staff. We would love to go back as Sri Lanka, despite its past troubles, has some amazing sights.

Room Tip: Definitely the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LincolnshireFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

On arrival at the hotel, we were welcomed by the reception staff and a welcome drink arranged. The reception lobby is spacious,has a comfortable seating area including a small artificial waterfall and fishes.The check-in formalities were completed in quick time and we were shown to our room. Our luggage was brought separately to our room. The hotel itself is located on the coast and occupies a vast area including a lot of greenery.

We had a room in one of the cottage like structures (I think these are called the cabanas....) with 2 rooms at the ground floor and 2 rooms on the first floor.The room was not too big but spacious enough, had a double cot and a small TV. The bathroom was surprisingly big for a room of that size when compared to other hotels that we stayed in Srilanka.

The beach is pretty close from the hotel. The entrance to the beach is through a gate in a low wire fence. The beach is only about a few feet from the gate,you go out through the gate and you are into the beach already. The beach is calm and the colour of water during sunset is beautiful. The hotel had 3 swimming pools (one for children, another for adults and the third one for playing water polo with the goal nets also) and a jacuzzi.There is a bar close to the pool and one can always step out of the pool for a quick drink.

Breakfasts are delicious....spicy omelettes,fresh juice and fruit, pastries and diferent varieties of food to suit
everyone's palate. There is a tennis court and an outdoor badminton court also. Apart from that the hotel also houses a few shops where one could buy souvenirs, jewelry and gift articles.They have some entertainment programmes scheduled on all days of the week....discos, animation, live music etc.

Overall a great hotel to stay and make your vacation a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank yrajesh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We spent a very comfortable and relaxed two weeks 'All Inclusive' at the Villa Ocean View Hotel as part of a three week package arranged by Mercury Direct.
We were dropped off by Aitken Spence's driver, Praban, after a brilliant 4 day mini tour. We had been truly spoiled by the tour and cannot recommend it enough, so coming to the Villa Ocean View could so easily have been a terrible anti-climax. We arrived in the late evening in the middle of a monsoon downpour and were duly greeted by the management, shown our room and then taken to the restaurant for our first evening meal, apprehensions soon evaporated!
The first night the aircon in our room failed so in the morning a quick discussion with the manager had the housekeeping manager move our room with apologies and rapid service, none of the staff could have been more helpful and the roomboy dutifully kept the room spick and span the whole two weeks, fresh flowers every morning and mozzy spray and coil every night.
The lift smelt absolutely awful of damp, not helped by the old carpet, this was changed but only reduced the aroma!!
We had arranged for a superior room rather than the Cabanas in the gardens, this appears to have been a good move as these rooms are more spacious and comfortable, we would fecommend that you take this option.
This was our first experience with 'All Inclusive' so we didn't really know what to expect, we were more than pleasantly surprised by the variety of choice on the meal buffets, there was always something for all tastes though it did seem to be a bit more geared to German and Russians, there were only 4 brits including us! Local foods were fantasic and curries and spicy omlettes for breakfast were a great treat. Beef and pork did at times tend to be a bit tough and fatty so try to be selective.
Afternoon tea was served at the pool bar and was sanwiches and bicuits, basic but adequate.
Icecream was only served in the evening so would not suit anyone with children, as we hear that normally for AI this should be a freely available item, particularly as the temperatures do get pretty high in the middle of the day!
Drinks were always a bit of a bone of contention, when we there the hotel was fairly quiet and it could take a long time to go through the ritual of ordering, getting a slip, signing it off for two invariably short measure drinks, two mouthfuls and off you go again!! No chance of getting too much to drink and if it is busy, very frustrating as there are never enough staff. This is a really poor part of the whole package and is obviously geared to stop anyone getting a drink, you can only order a maximum of two drinks per room and you cannot order for others at the table!
The pools, grounds and beach area were always well maintained and clean, plenty of loungers with matresses and towels provided by the pool attendants. The beach is fenced off to stop hawkers roaming in and there are security staff to maintain this. The sea is very inviting but there is a strong undertow when the waves are a bit rough, only really safe to wade and paddle.
Monica the elephant is resident in the grounds and is shared with a local temple, she is very well looked after and her every whim is pampered to, she does occasionally give short rides in the grounds and seems to be very happy with her lot!
There are three Jewellers in the grounds and they all offer very good quality items and service but be prepared to barter over a few days to get the items that you want at the price you want to pay!!
Sujith in the hotel reception waqs very helpful in arranging a taxi for the day to Columbo and I am sure that any other tour he arranges will be fine but more expensive. The beach boys seem to have a good reputation, particularly Chami, again bartering is essential but make sure you have in writing what you want and the price agreed, we had an absolute nightmare with Samanthas opposite the hotel over the railway lines see:-http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic-g499081-i10012-k4600041-Horror_Samanthas_opposite_Villa_Ocean_View_Hotel_Wadduwa-Wadduwa.html where a full comment relating to this has been posted.

Internet WIFI connection is slow and expensive, normally you would expect this to be free!!

Basically a very reasonable hotel with good staff and management. We enjoyed our stay much more than we expected and would think that most people would have a great holiday here, though there is not a lot to do outside unless you are prepared to travel a bit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rustedandrotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I stayed at Viilla Ocean View in April 2011, and it was simply magnificent. The staff, the hotel, the views, and the pure relaxation it provides is unparallelled. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ahmedsarheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Hi! just back from our holiday in Sri Lanka. Myself, husband and 26 year old daughter.
It has to have been the most relaxing holiday ever. The journey from the Airport was an adventure in its self, that said we were behind the bus carrying the team that Didnt Win!so it took longer than the normal transfer time, traffic and people in abundance...it was great to see.
When we arrived at the Hotel the greeting was so warm and genuine it made you feel like you were wanted. The Villa Ocean View Hotel is everything it says.. forget about upgrading as the brochures say to the Hotel side stay in a Cabana. Before we went we asked for adjoining rooms as we didnt want to be too far away from our daughter, OMG when they showed us to our Cabana's we could not have asked for anything better ! it was just as it said Ocean View, and what a view we had (room no's 66/68) .right on the beach front. The hotel was fantastic. As we had never been all inclusive before we didnt know what to expect (you hear a lot of stories of how the food is recycled shall we say) not in this hotel. everybodys needs were met ( make sure you try the Sri Lankan omelette for breakfast) delicious! the staff were fantastic from the people that sweep the grounds to the manager himself we could not fault them and the guy who every day made our day, that was our room (boy) Dilum. the rooms were cleaned, beds and towels changed daily and he arranged fresh flowers each day oh and sprayed each night so no problems with any bugs although we did see an Elephant walking in the grounds her name was Monica. as you can tell this was a place we will talk about for a long time as we havent even started on the trip to Kandy or the jewellry we had made...
The brochures dont advertise this hotel as much as they should the Hotel should be listed higher than it is. Food, service, cleanliness and entertainment all given with a gracious heart and a smile for all.We could go on for a long time...thanks for taking the time to read this. Hope this helps anyone thinking of staying in this Hotel. From the Hart Family Liverpool

Room Tip: Cabana's give the best view, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank hannahsholiday11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
20.0 mi away
Induruwa Beach Resort
Induruwa Beach Resort
#9 of 9 in Induruwa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Beach
Hotel Hibiscus Beach
#10 of 11 in Kalutara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.2 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ocean View Hotel

Property: Villa Ocean View Hotel
Address: Molligodawatte, Wadduwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Ocean View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean View
Villa Ocean View Hotel Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing