We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to make holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Now we are the second time here and we have a very nice time. The service is good, the personal very friendly. We relax at the pool, enjoy the rough beach and the friendly service team. Specially I want to send greetings for the friendly animation team, Tushi and Hatuk and the helpfull manager Shan Dias, who helps us in many situations He speaks very good German and can help especially German people.
I com here with my parents and my son, it is not correct, that the manager Shan is a womanizer.
We will come again a next time.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms a bigger and colder than the bungalow-rooms. We were sleeping in bungalow 44, it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KarinWaldheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

i was in the hotel in firest week of may,The wellcome given by the frount dest was a saprice for me,room was given at the checking with in too minites an with coold tavels to hand,they all wase help to the client for the satisfaction of us,an the food was good an very friendly staff which willing to help at any time,all staff with smiling face,i say go their an enjoy your holiday

Room Tip: all the rooms are in a good standed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nadesha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I arrived at the hotel only to be told by the front desk my booking wasn't on the system. I asked for the manager, only duty manager (Suresh Fernando) was present as the manager to deal with my query. He asked me to pay £200 extra to be eligible for a room, as my booking wasn't on system and as I made my booking from UK. FERNANDO said my travel agency didn't pay them the money therefore they refuse to let me stay unless I pay them more cash in hand. I rang my t.agency straight away. Only to find out Fernando was lying to my face! T.Agency was willing to pay but Fernando wanted cash to be put throughout to his account before a certain time. He didn't want to receive agency's money in the correct way. Instead he refused to confirm the booking until someone from the agency puts cash into Fernando's account. He instead lied to me saying my booking was not on their system.
Piece of advice to all, please don't be gullible and trust the employees at this hotel despite however much they seem honest, because they are lying to your face after your money! My concern is if someone had No where else to go... they would have paid the £200 difference. And they would have taken anyone they can for a ride!
Don't give them your money. Please be careful and stay somewhere else. Mount Lavinia or Tangerine is great. They don't try to steal your hard earned savings!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank jelleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We had 2 weeks stay at The Ocean View Hotel,Very friendly staff,the ladies who worked in the grounds did a great job,the cleaning staff came in every day,the sheets were changed and a lovely flower arrangement on the beds.We could not fault the food,plenty to choose from and the staff were great.
We used Sri Lanka travel for our trips,reccomended on trip adviser(travelsrilanka 1 @hotmail.com)excellent travel guide and safe driver, a must for the roads in Sri Lanka
and were given packed lunches by the hotel.

All in all a very enjoyable holiday.

Val,Frank Feb 15th -1st march 2012

Room Tip: ground floor nice as you can sit outside on the grass,we stayed in 118
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

From the moment we walked through the door, we were made to feel very welcome, a cold towel and welcome drink were waiting for us. The paperwork at reception was done very quickly and efficiently.

The rooms are of a decent size, with the cabanas having good character. The deluxe rooms are spacious with basic, but no tea of coffee facilities, so make sure you bring your travel kettle!

All staff are very friendly, professional and most speak very good english. The Ayurveda centre offers good value for money with a back neck and shoulder massage for 30mins costing £7.50!

There is an air conditioned bar here where the weekly disco happens, the Barman Vijay is a must! Perfect english with a very good sense of humor!

The pools are a good size with the whole 14acres of hotel grounds being constantly looked after and always clean.

The restaurant food and staff are very good, a lot better than the main hotels found in Kalutara which we have visited before.

Room Tip: Higher levels in deluxe rooms and cabanas. All rooms just as good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed here 11/2/2012 to11/03/2012. we will give this hotel a miss from now on, when in sri-lanka
All-inclusive but must sign for every mortal thing.Poor service in restaurant had to ask for tables to be reset many times I did it my self,after reporting it to management,still no improvement.When the management sat at there table just to one side of ours they were treat like lords.No atmosphere in restaurant,plenty of curries/european food poor quality meat/chicken, after a few days the same food came round again.The best thing about this hotel, the garden and pool area.You need to be a strong swimmer to use the sea.Stayed in a cabana room,clean but dated, and ugly, poor maintenance a/c not working in our room after three goes two days later we moved nexst door,still working on a/c with new people moved in our old room A lot of Russian arrived near the end of Feb,most lacking in social graces, or just ignorant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimval34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have holidayed in Sri Lanka many times and have just spent two glorious weeks at the Villa Ocean View. We were very impressed by the cleanliness throughout the hotel and gardens.

We stayed in a Cabana room which was a good size with adequate storage, very efficient air conditoning and ceiling fan, satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a basic but functional bathroom with always very hot water. Bed linen and towels are changed daily and the room boy took a great pride in cleaning the room thoroughly every day. The rooms are sprayed against mosquitoes every evening and a fresh tablet put in the plug-in. We travelled with friends and none of us had even one mosquito bit. We had cabana rooms 25 and 27 which had an ocean view, were next to the pool and benefited from a lawn outside with a large tree for shade; the pool attendant set our loungers up outside early every morning in what was almost a private garden! The very tame palm squirrels and egrets would take peanuts from your hands! There are a few dogs which are said to be strays, but they all look in fairly good condition and are very friendly. We were adopted by a lovely tan-coloured dog (the one with the gammy hind leg) and he spent most of our holiday outside our room, sleeping on our terrace at night. We made sure he had some biscuits and other treats and fresh water every day. I did not see the dogs being ill-treated by the hotel staff at any time. There are also a few cats who appear at the restaurant at meal times, but again their coats are in good condition and they seem quite healthy, albeit a bit wild!

Food was excellent. Breakfast - freshly fried eggs and omelettes, scrambled eggs, baked beans, sausages, grilled tomatoes; cereals, including lovely creamy porridge! Huge variety of breads, including croissants, pains-au-chocolat, brioches, delicious fresh fruit, cheese, and a very efficient toaster! Lunch and dinner - fresh soups, always piping hot, salads, rice, pasta, vegetables, several hot meat and fish dishes, some for western tastes, some for lovers of hot and spicy curries. Desserts were amazing - looking as good as they tasted and including old favourites like bread and butter pudding or Queen of Puddings! The waiting staff were friendly and efficient and Chef would often come into the Dining Room and make himself known to the guests.

There is entertainment every night at 9.30pm and a disco a couple of nights a week. However, as is usual in Sri Lanka, at midnight you could hear a star drop out of the sky!

Yes, the hotel is next to the main Colombo to Galle railway line, but we could hardly hear the trains and they certainly did not disturb us in any way. There are a couple of gift shops, tailors and jewellers opposite the hotel or a short walk will take you to the main road where there are a few more shops including a Pharmacy; (turn right out of the hotel, cross the line at the new St. Patrick's Church and walk up the road). Tuk tuks are available outside the hotel and we used the Travel Desk in the hotel for longer trips. The prices were equal to the beach boys and the Travel Advisor even managed to get us tickets for the second England v Sri Lanka cricket test in Colombo!

We found all the staff (gardeners, pool attendants, dining room staff, room boys, receptionists) unfailingly friendly and helpful; we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at the Villa Ocean View and would return.

Room Tip: Cabana rooms are quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Srilankaphiles35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
1.8 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,431 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,201 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
1,017 reviews
2.0 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
832 reviews
3.3 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ocean View Hotel

Address: Molligodawatte, Wadduwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range: £50 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Ocean View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean View
Villa Ocean View Hotel Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing