We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Outdoor Function”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Wadduwa
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had an outdoor function for 1000 pax in Villa Ocean View Hotel. That was amazing. All hotel staff are kind & helpful. Everything was in place as promised. I specially thank to Mr.Deepal & Mr.Chamal for giving us fully support.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Preshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

when we were booking did not say anything on their rules...
once we got there..could not even get bath towels..bad service..then they stated as having 3 nice pools ..once we got there they didn't want us in the bigger pool saying that's its ony forhouse guests or what ever crap which was not mentioned before..then told us to use the other pool which had insects in it.. promised that an elephant would be present in the hotel premises...no such thing was ever seen or done there..Food was ordinary ...there are so many hotels to choose from in Srilanka now and this one was definitely going off my list ! totally out

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudeshw439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

i was wtih my friend in sri lanka for one week at the villa ocean hotel.am really appreciate the hospitality i received from the hotel staff.lady's are at reception smiling and helpful.lot of animals and birds in the garden monica is so lovely.room is clean but need to repair.bar and restaurant staff very friendly also restaurant managers too.we had trip to yala,galle and big temple closed to hotel by the river.in hotel it self lot of big palm trees.nice sea and land view in roof top. hotel need construction.you will really enjoy plan to visit next holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We (Wife and myself) stayed a night there on FB basis. Room is clean, but central AC system cannot be regulated by ourselves.So we had to switch off the AC frequently when we got frozen. Employees are not much polite, especially the reception. You are not allowed to bring anyone inside to your room due to the hotel policies and they are impatient if you stay long time in the lobby. Food is excellent.

If you select this for your wedding, be careful to have a look at their two wedding halls called Amethyst and Emerald, since they cunningly sign the contract for emerald (the small hall) after showing you Amethyst, the main hall. My sister in law faced that unfortunate situation and they even didn't apologize on that.

It has its own military rules and policies for local guests. Better avoid if you are not willing to be discriminated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Me and my wife had wonderful time at the villa ocean hotel,very nice and friendly staff,
tropical garden with large hotel,we love sri lanka,we will definitely coming back to enjoined traditional hospitality from villa ocean hotel

Room Tip: Cabana rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter7485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel was an utmost dissapointment. we (4 girls - 2 pregnant) went there for the day / buffet and even after spending 13k for a room + buffet the service we got from them was horrible. 1st of all, the pool boys think there are the CEOs there. we were not allowed to use half of the pool saying one side is only for the residents. (basically only foreigners were allowed). then when we asked for pool towels they said 'only for the residents'. the only service that was given was only for the foreigners. then we tried to sit on layed tables at the buffet and tea, the tea boy is saying pls dont sit on layed tables, sit only on empty ones.. unbeleivable attitude from the staff. dont ever go there!! they service only the white! not the locals. u should put a tag line next to ur hotel saying only foregners are given prefernce. worst hotel ever been to.

Room Tip: basically dont go there!
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
6  Thank Medhini G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Gave a report earlier in the year . We were told life would be put into this hotel.... it needed so much TLS. Unfortuntely it would seem the owners have not done anything. Shame - as it could be a great place if a little money was spent on it. The staff were delightful therefore it is the Management and owners who are at fault here

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamelala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
1.8 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 9 in Wadduwa
1,471 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,265 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 9 in Wadduwa
481 reviews
2 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ocean View Hotel

Address: Molligodawatte, Wadduwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range: £39 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Ocean View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean View
Villa Ocean View Hotel Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing