We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

the hotel area is massive, food was fresh and tasty . Mr. Deepal who is the F&B Manager and the rest of the hotel staff looked us after very well with great service. internet wasn't working for the rooms but was able to use wireless from the reception area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dilania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    109
    70
    37
    60
See reviews for
89
148
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel in July 2014. And it was only 10 days. When we were going to visit this country we thought that 10 days will be a lot and we will get boring. But instead of this at the end of our holiday we had a feeling that 10 days is not enough.We didn't visit many excursions and that is why we can say with a full confidence that our vacation was wonderful only due to the personnel of the hotel. People working here are indeed very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and tidy. From the early morning the staff tidy all the things that were thrown by the tourists. The food is good for every taste. One can choose what he wants. One can find a lot of normal European dishes and at the same time there is a wide choice of local food that is of course spicy. But it depends upon the taste. I like to admit that most of all we liked the brilliant work of the staff in the restaurant. Especially Dinesh and Danushka. They were really the best guys. They are very pleasant and feel all the needs of the guests. We really appreciate their everyday difficult work with people. They have a real talent of communication and deliver best practice. And in general they are very positive both from their appearance and in their acts. And also we want to thank all the personnel of this hotel for their work that leaves only good impressions - all managers, all who work at the beach and near the swimming pool. Thank a lot for your work. Natalia, Konstantin, Nikita.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natallia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is located near the beach. The entrance is beautiful. A huge area is available to move here and there.
The rooms are isolated like cottages. Rooms are small but is having basic facilities needed. They are tidy and neat. But its little difficult to find the room due to many paths and random locating.
There is a good swimming pool too.
You can swim in the sea also.
Food is OK but not superb.

Room Tip: Find a room near any mark unless you may get lost. :) Also remember some coconut tree numbers near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madhawa_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great CS, Good varieties of Foods. Clean Rooms. Only thing is if you choose rooms very front, then at the late night and early morning you will be able to hear very noisy trains like every one hour. Apart from that overall it's great.

Room Tip: Rooms at the behind. Coz they have nice view and avoid the Train noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanka-Warna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have visited this hotel many times before & had a very good opinion of it.
But its sad that now it has " gone to the dogs" Literally !! There are stray dogs are cats all around the hotel, even following guests to their rooms. The bark in the lobby and even sleep in the restaurant while guests are having meals. The best part is the hotel management don't seem to care at all !! I have never seen dogs roaming in hotels !!

Since it was a "Poya" day, the hotel claims that there are not allowed to serve liquor & any meat or fish items. They claim its according "government regulations" which is total crap. There is no such thing in any other of the resort hotels at all. Poya or no poya the meal plan is the same. We were also not informed of this prior to our booking and this was only told to us after we had made our full payment.

Room Tip: Don't bother !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wadduwa hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had an outdoor function for 1000 pax in Villa Ocean View Hotel. That was amazing. All hotel staff are kind & helpful. Everything was in place as promised. I specially thank to Mr.Deepal & Mr.Chamal for giving us fully support.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Preshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

when we were booking did not say anything on their rules...
once we got there..could not even get bath towels..bad service..then they stated as having 3 nice pools ..once we got there they didn't want us in the bigger pool saying that's its ony forhouse guests or what ever crap which was not mentioned before..then told us to use the other pool which had insects in it.. promised that an elephant would be present in the hotel premises...no such thing was ever seen or done there..Food was ordinary ...there are so many hotels to choose from in Srilanka now and this one was definitely going off my list ! totally out

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudeshw439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
20.0 mi away
Induruwa Beach Resort
Induruwa Beach Resort
#9 of 9 in Induruwa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Beach
Hotel Hibiscus Beach
#10 of 11 in Kalutara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.2 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ocean View Hotel

Property: Villa Ocean View Hotel
Address: Molligodawatte, Wadduwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Ocean View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean View
Villa Ocean View Hotel Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing