We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Stay At The Blue Waters” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Blue Water
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Awesome Stay At The Blue Waters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The staff are very helpful and efficient. I would say if anyone is going to Wadduwa to a Hotel... The Blue Waters is the place to go, cause all in all there excellent.. the pool the food and the garden space its just awesome....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jasongregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay at the blue water hotel for the benefit of the future guest. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the overall holiday experience at the blue water hotel and look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    455
    126
    51
    26
See reviews for
333
661
36
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at The Blue Water in Wadduwa on our Holiday (20th Jul 2013). We were greeted by very polite and very friendly hotel staff, and offered refreshments and cold towels. We were booked in for one night FB basis, during our stay the hotel made sure we were very looked after, with complimentary fruit basket which was sent by the Hotel GM, the food was fantastic and the room was very clean, we will surely recommended this hotel to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: Room number 237 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dishal-Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination and for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor.
Your compliments to the deluxe room accommodation, food and staff are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the entire team.
Thank you for recommending the blue water hotel to your friends and family and we look forward to welcome you back in the very near future perhaps for a longer stay.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at The Blue Water in Wadduwa, on our honeymoon tour of Sri Lanka and Maldives. After a long flight and a pretty hairy transfer (Sri Lanka roads are really something else - see Sri Lanka review), we were greeted by very polite and friendly hotel staff, and offered refreshments and cold towels.

We were booked in for two nights, during this time the hotel made sure we were very looked after, with free Spa treatments, A le carte dinners and sparkling wine / fruit in the room.

The room itself was nice, large bed and bathroom with a lovely view over a temperus Indian ocean. The pool is very large, and there is more than enough space in the grounds to find a secluded spot.

Immediatly outside the hotel, the area does look a little deprived, however this is a great stop for either the adventerous couple looking for a night or two, or for those who enjoy relaxing at a pool and reading a book for two weeks.

There is not a great deal of entertainment, if your into that type of thing.

Overall, very pleased with the stay, and it started out honeymoon out perfectly.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ichdienme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Time taken to post a review on your recent stay at the blue water hotel is very much appreciated. Undoubtedly your honest opinion of the standard of the hotel services in general will be a source of valuable information to future guest.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your accommodation in one of the Superior deluxe rooms and the striking view of the Indian Ocean and the large pool from the balcony.
The new wing also with 40 junior suits facing the Indian Ocean will be in operation from September this year.
Once again thank you for choosing the blue water hotel and our sincere wishes for a very happy wedded life filled with health, wealth and happiness to both of you!
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future hopefully for a longer stay.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at the Blue Water with our 4 year old son on all inclusive basis. First impressions very good, grounds, building and staff. Food, extremely good, catered for pretty much all pallets, even my son. They hold an Sri Lankan evening, therefore the food that evening is Sri Lankan dishes which me and my wife enjoyed but most of it was a bit too spicy for our little boy, but they specially cooked some plain chicken breast, but more importantly we didn't have to ask. But one thing that I did have to ask for was every time I got a beer I was only served the new bottle and not a new glass, its picky but something that can very easily be fixed. The rooms are basic but I understand that they are been upgraded, would of been nice to have an upgraded room. We did have one issue which I needed to speak with the manager, and to be honest was expecting excuses and not solutions.....BUT I will eat humble pie, the duty managers words where "What would you like us to do" no lengthy discussions and I was very happy with the outcome. This hotel does generally want you to have a great stay. I would certainly return to the Blue Water with my family again.

Trips when you are there I strongly recommened Ruchi Tours AKA The Beach Boys. We spent 5 out of our 10 day holiday with Thara and Dinesh, the trip I would say is a MUST is Yala National Park (Safari). Its a two day trip. When we did the safari we saw Elephants, Crocs, Monkeys, two many different types of birds to mention and the jewel of this trip was 4 leopards, of which one crossed about 10 metres in front of us. Although our driver took a call reporting a sighting of this leopards, he drove fairly quick then reversed about half a mile up this track and got us in front of all the other safari trucks, therefore give me my wife and son the best possible view of this leopards. When at the hotel you'll see them standing at the fence looking to sea, going have a chat with them there great lads and we'll certainly be keeping in touch with Thara. We used Facebook to located them look under GREAT HOLIDAYS.

One final thing, there a guy on the beach who fishes on the beach next to the hotel, he will ask you if you want to buy some shells. I spent a two mornings with this guy fishing, he's one the kindest people you will meet, he fishes to eat not for pleasure but to put food on his table, please buy some shells from this guy, he has nothing......spend a 1000 Rupees. You see him in the pictures I've put on.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing the blue water hotel on TripAdvisor! We thank you for your kind words on staff attentiveness, hospitality in general and of the food taste and variety. We are sorry for the incomplete beer service and serving a fresh chilled glass with every new beer served has been implemented immediately.
Most of the deluxe rooms have been refurbished and upgraded to Superior deluxe category and the new wing with 40 junior suit rooms will come in to operation in September this year.
Once again thank you for taking time to post a review and look forward to welcoming you back to the blue water hotel in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Agree with everything on the last review.

Service was fantastic, not in a self serving obsequious way but warm and friendly like welcoming friends. A prime example -I went to the bar to ask if the Wimbledon final was on and unfortunately they did not have ESPN. However they said give us 10 minutes. Right enough 10 mins later I was sitting in my comfy seat watching Andy with my beers being instantly replaced by my new friends behind the bar!

All the staff we spoke to were really well trained and very complimentary about their employer.

Keep it up Blue Water and I tell you what - you can teach some European 5 star hotels something about excellent customer service!

Room Tip: Standard deluxe should do unless you plan to spend a lot of time in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesmanWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review on the blue water hotel stay posted on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your compliments to our staff very much as we the blue water hotel family thrives in serving our guest with warm Sri Lankan hospitality in a friendly personalized manner.
We look forward to welcome you and may be more friends on your next visit hopefully in the near future to the blue water hotel and to Sri Lanka!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
190 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Where do I start!!?? This hotel was just fantastic in every way .... The staff are outstandingly helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble ... They really do go out of their way to make your holiday as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. They are attentive and remember what you like to drink at breakfast lunch and dinner! In particular , Sangith, Ranga and Amila all deserve a mention as their friendliness and service was outstanding.

The variety of food was outstanding at all meal times. For breakfast there is everything you could ever want ... Fresh local fruit , cereals , pastries , cooked , traditional Sri Lankan. At lunch time there is an amazing variety of salads, breads , traditional Sri Lankan and cold meats etc etc. Dinner choices were superb with a themed night every night but with a great selection of Sri Lankan as well as salads etc. I can honestly say that the food here is the best all inclusive food we have ever had.

The rooms all overlook the sea and have a balcony or patio. Rooms are of a good size, with air con , tea and coffee facilities, seating area and are decorated nicely. We even had a chipmunk visit daily that allowed us to hand feed it !!!

The pool area is vast and never an issue of where to sit and never a problem with people near you as the garden area is huge!! The pool staff are fab ... Always on hand with towels and with a weather forecast for you !! Thanks to Mussa and Fernando!

The pool bar is great ... Hot drinks and cold drinks all day and snacks as well. Gayan is great and mixes up some wicked cocktails and all round fantastic service with a smile!

We booked some fab trips though a great guy called Indi who specialises on tailor made trips . No coach load of tourists just my husband , me and our guide. The great thing about Indilankatours.com is that every trip is tailor made for you. The knowledge of Indi was great and any questions we had were answered.
There is a tour company near the hotel, but I would recommend you book with Indi and team at the website address above or email to info@indilankatours.com and they will tailor made the perfect trips for you and the prices were incredibly competitive!

We booked a 2 day tour that took in Yala national park ( and saw the leopards! ) , a river boat safari , gem mines , mask factory to name a few. We also booked a full day to Kandy which was just brilliant , visiting the Temple of the tooth , a tea plantation and factory which was awesome to see how tea is produced in Sri Lanka and tastes divine! This trip also took in the elephant orphanage and you can bottle feed the baby elephants!

The holiday was excellent in every way , no faults , no moans , just all round fantastic!! We will definitely go back here and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KatiebrightonSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,
It was indeed a pleasure to read through your review of the recent holiday at the blue water hotel on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for all the wonderful compliments to our staff, food and services. We have posted your review on notice boards for the entire team to read!
We are very happy that you found the deluxe room layout and the amenities to your satisfaction and appreciate sleep quality ratings which undoubtedly will be helpful to our future guest.
Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome you back to the blue water and to Sri Lanka in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

First of all the check in process was very slow and we were waiting around for our room to be cleaned and ready. When we entered the room, the floor was dirty and had not being mopped (sticky, dirty floor). There was a leak in the Jacuzzi which caused the water to drain downstairs, so we were unable to use the Jacuzzi for the rest our stay. Two men (later identified as maintenance/building staff) turned up at the door unannounced and was knocking and knocking louder and louder until I opened the door. Being female, alone in the room at that time and at night I was reluctant to open the door, especially since the lights outside in the corridor was not turned on. Two men were carrying torches and would not go away. A phone call from the reception would have been appreciated at that moment in time to inform me who these people were, which we never received! They had a look at the jacuzzi and left the tub in a muddy state.

The hotel staff was poorly trained and was unprofessional. We experienced poor service when:

1)ordered more tea bags - a man brought tea bags in his hand. I opened the door slightly only and popped my head through and this man was pushing the door..then I quickly took the tea bags from him but he would still try and push the door and he was pointing inside the room. Man then came inside to check the draws for tea bags and started counting how many there were before walking away! partner was having a shower in the room!! ( see through glass). That was very unprofessional!

2)we ordered bath towels- but they brought down small hand towels instead. when we asked for bath towels again, they were questioning us saying why? there are towels already inside the room.. Very bad service!
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone! Have been to this hotel before few times and the service has gone downhill. Already having experience of staying in many 5 star hotels, this place was not worth the money!! We will not return again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Don Udana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry to learn that you have had a disappointing stay with us through this review and only wished that you had brought these to our notice during your stay to take immediate corrective action!
Please accept my apologies for the water leak which was unexpected and for the inconvenienced caused thereon by the maintenance staff and also for the said incidents involving housekeeping staff with tea bags and towels. We have clearly identified the four individuals’ and now assessing their worthiness to the hospitality industry! Rest assured no room will be left for any repetition of same or similar incidents to any future guest.
You have mentioned of patronizing this property in a few occasions before and that the services has gone downhill, but have not mentioned anything of the quality and taste of food, services in restaurants, bars, Spa, etc. other than the incidents mentioned in your review!
Once again thank you for your constructive feedback as this helps us to correct our selves where necessary to continue providing true Sri Lankan hospitality to all our guest. We are confident that you will visit us again in the near future giving us an opportunity to serve you better the next time!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.4 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
18.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Property: The Blue Water
Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Water 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Holiday Gems and Travelbag so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka
The Blue Water Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing