We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say except “EXCEPTIONAL”! Truly beat our expectations!!”
Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blue Water
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What can I say except “EXCEPTIONAL”! Truly beat our expectations!!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is going to be quite a long review – but hopefully worth reading!

Before booking we’d checked all the reviews on Trip Advisor and the good reports far outweighed the bad. So glad we didn’t listen to any of the negative points! (You get used to the train, crows, stray dogs, cows in the road, cute chipmunks, etc. and tuk-tuks are cheap and can take you to the nearby towns if you want to get out of the resort!)

We arrived, very jetlagged, early afternoon on New Year’s Eve. Check in was painless and the staff at the front desk were very friendly and efficient. We were shown to our deluxe room on the ground floor which was clean and spacious, just what we needed for a relaxing 2 week stay. We spent nearly every evening on our balcony watching the sun set before going to dinner.

We were staying on an All-inclusive basis and every breakfast, lunch and dinner were a treat to behold! I don’t normally eat breakfast, but the choice of fruit, waffles, full English, Sri-Lankan, etc. really got the appetite going for the rest of the day ahead! No complaints at all about the all-inclusive meals and drinks. The only negative with the all-inclusive is the hideous orange wrist bands which by the end of our stay had turned white! Surely in this day and age someone can come up with a more subtle and eye pleasing item to show you are staying on an all-inclusive basis, rather than a tacky piece of plastic?!?!

We had a couple of fabulous dinners at the Nautilus A La Carte restaurant and again, amazing food and great service from the staff, especially RANGAf you’re into your seafood, then you’re in for a real treat! However large or small a fish you require, they’ll make sure it’s ready for you fresh that evening, cooked to your liking. We also had a special 5 course dinner prepared for us as it was our honeymoon. Again, we just had to let the staff know what sort of food we liked and we were treated to all our favourites by candle light!

The pool and surrounding gardens were absolutely stunning! Yes, the pool needs a bit of TLC, but not bad enough to spoil anything! Make friends with a pool boy on your first day (a small tip should do it) and then they will look after you during every day of your stay. Our special thanks to FERNANDO who had our sun-loungers in the right spot every day for us! And the same goes for the pool bar boys, who all have fantastic memories and remembered what drinks we’d like every day!

The beach was gorgeous, although we knew the sea would be rough. It is great fun though, if you are a good swimmer, to dive under the waves or body-surf back on to the beach. My husband loves fishing and was fascinated by the local fisherman who pulled in their nets every morning and then laid them out on the beach to dry in the afternoons.

TOURS – I cannot recommend highly enough the fabulous guys at RUCHI TOURS who can be found on the beach or across the train track at the back of the hotel (can’t miss the “Ruchi Tours” sign!). They made our holiday extra special by arranging every trip we required in true luxury style and at a very reasonable rate. Air-conditioned car or van, straight to the front of every queue, exceptional service. Having already seen the fab reviews from other Trip Advisor reports, I’d already befriended Ruchi’s cousin, THARAKA on Facebook, so he knew what types of trips we’d like to do and we’d seen photos of him before we actually met. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the gang. Prices were fixed before we went on the trips and we didn’t have to pay anything until after the trips were completed. The two party nights we had with them will remain firm favourite memories of our honeymoon!

Our early morning start to Pinnewala Elephant Orphanage was well worth it to be first in the queue to feed a six month old baby elephant and see the whole herd walk down the high-street to the river for a bathing session! The only trip I had pre-booked (as you get 15% discount booking on line) was the Millennium Elephant Foundation, 10 minutes down the road from Pinnewala. For 5,000 Rupees (about £25) you get a 1/2 hour elephant ride, get to wash him in the river and then get an elephant shower, courtesy of its trunk - my favourite part of the holiday!

Another fantastic trip was a wildlife river safari we did with Tharaka. Crocodiles, monitor lizards, owls, fruit bats, snakes, tree frogs – an amazing array of wildlife not too far up the river by small boat, all pointed out to us by our very knowledgeable river guide.

As we didn’t want an overnight trip to Yala, we visited the closer reserve of Udawalawe National Park, which again was an early start, but well worth it to see a herd of 20+ wild elephants in their natural habitat, as well as numerous bird species, buffalo and jackals.

MONICA the 50 year old elephant – one of the main reasons we’d chosen The Blue Water. I am elephant mad (hence Sri Lanka for our honeymoon!) On our first morning, about 15 minutes into breakfast, Monica appeared in the grounds of the hotel. As soon as we saw her we rushed over to meet this living legend!! She is so gentle and her mahout is a lovely man. While we were staying there she was used in a wedding and was dressed up beautifully for such an occasion. On our last morning I paid a little extra and had the privilege of riding on Monica’s bare-back through the hotel gardens and down the beach to the sea. She’s not at the hotel every day, but probably about 3 times a week.

Really can’t wait to go back to The Blue Water and do the trips we didn’t get time to do (Kandy, Yala, Sigiriya) and catch-up with Monica and the guys at Ruchi Tours again!! Everyone at The Blue Water and those connected with Ruchi Tours really did make our honeymoon an exceptionally special trip for us which we will cherish forever! Thank you to everyone we met. xxx

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Guest,
We are thrilled to learn that your holiday experience at the blue water hotel has exceeded your expectations and thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor for the benefit of the future guest to the hotel.
Your lovely compliments specially to The Nautilus restaurant staff and food department has been passed on to the entire team!
We look forward to welcome you again and serve you with true Sri Lankan smiles the next time your travels bring you closer to us!
Warm regards,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    466
    130
    51
    26
See reviews for
345
679
38
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Rooms

The rooms have everything you should need. They are fairly basic but are very clean and well decorated. They are also a good size and the room we have has a large balcony with outdoor seating. The air con in in the rooms is effective. The bathroom is a good size but could do with a bit of tlc - just some repainting of the ceiling etc otherwise it is fine. The shower is quite weak and this isn't too much of a problem.

Facilities

The pool is lovely and never seems to get too crowded. It is kept extremely clean. There is also plenty of seating around the pool, so there isn't any need to rush down in the morning to get a spot! There is also direct access to the beach - which is nice.

The hotel also has a spa which is reasonably priced. The treatments that I had were very good and extremely relaxing! Well worth a visit.

The hotel also arranges day trips and excursions if you want to see Sri Lanka and it is very easy to arrange the trips.

The hotel provides free wifi.

Food

The quality of the food is excellent and there is a very large choice on the menu. Very impressed. The drinks are also reasonably priced.

Service

What really sells this hotel is the service. It has been fantastic. Staff are very friendly and willing to help but they are never in your face.

We have had a very enjoyable stay here! As some reviews note, there are crows at the hotel and they can be quite noisy but we haven't noticed it too much for it to be an issue. It is also very quiet at night.

Great hotel - very relaxing and well worth a visit!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottsLegalEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday at the blue water hotel on TripAdvisor for the benefit of the future guest.
Your kind compliments to our service staff and Chefs department along with general maintenance of the property is very much welcomed and thanks!
We have noted your comments on room toilets and will be duly forwarded for higher management attention.
We look forward to welcome you back to the blue water hotel in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Have been to this hotel many a time but enjoyed the most this time around due to the introduction of the brand new rooms called the club suites. Completely new with dressing rooms and sitting areas and all modern requirements.
The normal rooms have aged. It's close to 15 years, so u can't expect anything new.
Check in & check out was a breeze though I had 3doubles and a 01single. They were kind enough to give us a early check in too.
When the hotel is during high occupancy try to be at the restaurants early as it tends to be full and service tends to go down a notch.
Keep it up blue waters and try sprucing up the normal rooms and the common areas.
The chief chef too was helpful when I visited to inspect about the halal issue of chicken. Thumbs up.

Will I return again- I will DEFINETLY.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FiyazIsmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review of your new wing suits on TripAdvisor which undoubtedly would be beneficial to future guest to the blue water hotel.
While appreciating your compliments to service staff and Chefs department we have noted your comments on restaurant service and have been directed accordingly for improvement.
Look forward to welcome you back again when your travels bring you closer to us!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Blue Water is a beautiful mid-century modern tropical paradise design by renowned Sri Lankan architect Geoffrey Bawa. The room, the pool, the beach and the service was great.This is the type of place that Don Draper would bring his mistress.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJ_Moodswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your short and sweet posting of your recent holiday at the blue water hotel and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were recommended by friends who had stayed here 2 years ago. Location is very nice as regards the gardens and pool but hotel is isolated and there is nowhere to go unless u take a specific excursion. On arrival the air conditioning in our room was not working and we had to move to another room after 3 hours and 3 unsuccessful attempts to fix it. The new room is generally ok bur air con still not as it should be and the room generally looks very tired. No shower gel, apparently only club suites get this. In light of the negligible cost this is pathetic. Disappointed with food in coffee shop, a lot of the vegetables are cold with main meals and a long wait for the food. Buffet is good but not inspiring. Service is patchy, some waiters understand English, others not so good. Had to ask for tea / coffee at breakfast , nobody came round to refill. The pool bar area
is really scruffy with grass growing between paving slabs and service poor. We are staying in this hotel until 09 Jan in room 234. As we bought a travel agent package including a 5 day tour we don't know what we paid for this hotel but I will definitely be asking for a breakdown when we get home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry for the inconvenience you had to face on arrival with the air-conditioning in the deluxe room you had booked and since the problem couldn’t be fixed you were upgraded to a Superior deluxe room.
Since this unfortunate incident on arrival, only yesterday late evening, after posting a review on TripAdvisor, you had come to the management with your other concerns; nevertheless glad that you did and will not further elaborate here but wish to request our future guest, though we always strive to provide all our guest with the best possible service at all times, unexpected maintenance failures or service laps can happen hence please bring your concerns to the management immediately for us to correct ourselves and provide you the service you were promised!
As for the shower gel, we have different categories of rooms, deluxe, Superior deluxe, Club Suits, executive Suits and a Presidential Suit and each category has specific amenities which I am sure you will understand!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was one of the best vacations I have ever taken! Definitely a 5 star hotel. Several wedding were taking place during our stay. The staff was professional. The food was delicious. The hotel offers tours and their driver went the extra mile for us. If you visit and need a ride ask for Sunil. He was very polite and helpful. I am so impressed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your review on TripAdvisor and thank you!
Look forward to welcome you again in the near future to the blue water hotel on your next visit to Sri Lanka.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Blue Water provided an excellent relaxing place for us to recharge our batteries after touring Sri Lanka.

From the moment we arrived when it was the manager's cocktail party (which was great fun) to our last night when a special meal had been arranged for us as honeymooners, we had a fabulous time.

It was my husband's birthday during our stay and a surprise happy birthday singing, cake and decorations were prepared for him. A lovely touch for his special day.

Every member of staff made it their job to ensure you were enjoying yourself.

The food was delicious and there was so much of it and so much variety.

Thank you The Blue Water

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday at the blue water hotel on TripAdvisor for the benefit of the future guest to the hotel.
Thank you for your lovely compliments to our staff and Chefs department which have been duly passed on to the entire team.
While wishing both of you a long and happy wedded life at this beautiful start to a new life together we look forward to welcome you all back in the very near future when your travels bring you closer to us at Wadduwa, Sri Lanka.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.5 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
18.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Property: The Blue Water
Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Water 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka
The Blue Water Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing