We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach front hotel”
Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Blue Water
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel is about 45 minutes drive from downtown Colombo. It is a large property with a sprawling campus. We were welcomed with a fruit drink and cold towels. The check in was quick. The room turned out to be large with a attached balcony facing the sea and overlooking the swimming pool. You get a wonderful view of the sea from your room. The room is bit jaded but reasonably well furnished with comfortable beds, a spacious bathroom and with other facilities like a tea maker and safe. This hotel is right on the sea and the beach is more or less like a private beach. The swimming pool is one of the largest that I have seen with it being divided into two parts based on the depth of water. You can have a swim in the sea followed by a dip in the pool and can relax by the poolside and get served drinks from the pool side bar. We ate at the buffet restaurant which is a multicuisine restaurant. The food was good and the menu kept changing. They have two other restaurants and a bar where the drinks are reasonably priced. They also have a nice gym, a spa and tennis and squash courts. The hotel seemed a popular wedding destination as we witnessed three weddings in two days. Overall the hotel is a nice place to just chill out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Guest,
It is indeed a pleasure to read through your review posted on TripAdvisor and thank you for the compliments given especially to Chefs department and the service staff.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future and perhaps you would choose a club suit from our new wing on your next holiday.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

The perfect getaway for the weekend! Just 45 mts from Colombo and you can relax in the well appointed club suites in the new wing. They are spacious and comfortable with private balconies and toilets having Jacuzzi built in. As always the food was excellent. The large pool is kept very clean and the staff is very friendly. The management and staff Always committed to keep the guests happy at all times.

Room Tip: I always like to get a room on a higher floor since the view is better and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandrajith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of the future guest to the resort and glad to hear that you enjoyed accommodation in a club suit from the new wing. Your compliments to the service staff has been duly passed on and thank you.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future perhaps for a longer stay!
Yours sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We went to Blue Water for one of my friend's birthday treat. This is an awesome hotel. Food was really good(Sunday Buffet). Blue water has a very nice and a big swimming pool and very big area covered with grass so it gives a nice feeling. Easy access to the beach. Hotel staff is friendly too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed_Junkeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting the blue water hotel and taking time to review us on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest.
We are thrilled that your day’s experience exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcome you back to further experience our rooms and other facilities in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights after a 11 day tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel was great, all rooms have a sea view. In between the hotel and beach there is an extensive grassed area with palm trees, plus two large pools linked by a channel. This area is fenced off from the beach so you don't have the beachwear sellers annoying you. Although told to take care swimming in the sea, no problems, a smooth shallow sandy shelf extends out for approx 150 m which means the sea is about metre deep. The hotel had 3 restaurants, buffet, fine dining, sea food. only on B&B so we tried the sea food restaurant - out of this world - excellent food, service great - price for 2 approx £35. This restaurant is tucked out of the way which is a shame because it was excellent value.
In the morning one can watch the locals pulling the net

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddieMontrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as one of your holiday destinations in Sri Lanka and for posting a review on TripAdvisor!
We appreciate your lovely compliments, especially to ‘The Nautilus’ our newly open a la carte restaurant.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future perhaps for a longer stay when your travels bring you closer to us!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A long way from Colombo airport (2-3 hours by taxi).
Could feel isolated but trips can be arranged from the hotel and locally.
Beach is public and a low fence separates it from the hotel grounds.
Thus no sun loungers etc on the sand, but the hotel grounds are extensive and plenty of pool, garden, terrace lounger space available.
3 places to eat in the evening, the main and largest being where a buffet is held.
This was not our choice even though we tried it 3 times.
Buffet breakfast couldn't have been better.
The other options for dinner were excellent.
Hotel seems to be undecided on whether it wants to be a 5 star hotel or an all inclusive/half board resort. It needs to make up its mind and concentrate on that.
For example are swimming shorts and occasionally bare chests acceptable at the dinner table?
Many overweight and overeating all inclusive guests around.
Seems to have a large percentage of Easter European guests.
New wing with Suites provided superb accommodation. Pleased we upgraded for a reasonable cost on arrival.

Room Tip: 3 grades of rooms. Take one of the higher 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackoNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination in Sri Lanka. We appreciate your compliments to the new wing Suit rooms and the Nautilus restaurant as optional dining.
By the end of this year with the completion of outer circular road connecting to newly build expressway from the airport will lessen travel time considerably to the resort.
This 5* resort welcomes guest from all over the world on different meal plans for all room categories and my apologies for the apparent discomfort you have experienced in the restaurant and in the swimming pool.
Proper swim wear must be worn to swim in the pool and though we don’t have a strict dress code as we are a resort, we do insist on a shirt of some sort but certainly not bear chest!
Once again thank you for expressing your views which undoubtedly will help us to improve ourselves where necessary to serve future guest even better.
Look forward to welcome you back when your travels bring you closer to us again.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked this hotel since we figured it was a nice short drive from Colombo and a nice place to hang out with a few friends. The hotel in itself is lovely and well located. The rooms were clean and spacious. Room service was good, the waiter who served us was very accommodating of our requests and was very prompt. However, service at check in and in the main restaurant was not as expected. Though nothing was an issue, except that we had to ask for coffee twice at the breakfast buffet since the first waiter forgot and left us waiting awhile, we did not feel the warmth and true hospitality we have come to savour on most of our vacations out of colombo.
Little niceties like a welcome drink and hot/cold towel on arrival would have been a nice touch. Maybe an escort to the car as we were leaving and offer to help with luggage.
The general sentiment with regard to the dinner and breakfast buffets were that they were to standard. The lunch buffet was better than expected and had a wider variety.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GastroTraveller_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor of your recent holiday at the blue water hotel for the benefit of future guest to the hotel.
We appreciate your compliments to our room service and housekeeping departments and please accept my sincere apologies with regard to welcome drinks and cold towels service from the front desk and the coffee service in the main restaurant.
These concerns have been directed to proper department heads for corrective action.
Constructive criticism is most welcomed as it helps us to correct ourselves in order to serve our future guest even better. Thank you!
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed for a family reunion at this gorgeous resort for 4 days before Xmas, The hotel has an understated design but is absolutely elegant with its perfect beachside location, wide spacious verandahs and unfailingly courteous and helpful staff. The fabulous buffet restaurant served authentic Sri Lankan food in addition to conventional offerings and the chefs were extremely accommodating to guest requests. The rooms were spacious, each with a full fronted view of the beach, the pools were well maintained and at a perfect temperature and we enjoyed the spa as well as the use of the tennis courts. The multiple weddings and other functions were a bit intrusive although it gave us a bit closer look at the culture and style of the well-to-do Sri Lankans

The downside that had nothing to do with the hotel - the traffic and narrow roads that made it very difficult to venture away from the resort - a painful 2 hour drive from Colombo. Also not much to explore in the vicinity of Wadduwa.

Please avoid Sri Lankan airlines like the plague - unhelpful chaotic organization at the airport, clueless and rather less- than- truthful staff who, but for our aggressive self-advocacy, would have let us miss connecting flights in Dubai.

Room Tip: all rooms have a great view - cant go wrong - we preferred 2/3 floors but one can walk into the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dramchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing the blue water hotel on TripAdvisor for the benefit of the future guest to the hotel. Your lovely compliments to service staff and support service are most welcomed and have been passed on to the entire team.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future perhaps on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Your Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
17.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
5.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range: £69 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Water 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka
The Blue Water Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing