We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blue Water
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Privilege(Wadduwa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Turyaa Kalutara(Kalutara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citrus Waskaduwa(Waskaduwa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,508)
Filter reviews
1,508 results
Traveller rating
779
503
143
56
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
779
503
143
56
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub suiteruchi tourselephant orphanagesri lankanautilus restaurantday tripplenty of sunbedsa la carte restaurantpool barturtle hatcherytuk tukall inclusive packageyala national parktour companyovernight staygeoffrey bawarailway line
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 1,508 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

we are not long back from a 2 week stay at this hotel we went in 2011/2013/2014 we do plan to visit again but i think that will be the last time as it is a long flight and peg and I are not getting any younger, but once there it is so relaxing some people mention the birds but after a while they don't
bother us, the food is very good and varied we always go all inclusive so there is no worry about bills at the end of the holiday. The waiters are very good and some of them remembered us from last year and a couple of them even remembered that our drink is vodka & diet coke, and Sam the pool man made sure that towels were on the seats after our morning walk, and the waiter was on hand with a large bottle of ice cold water for us. New for this year were the meet and greet ladies at the door of the restaurant a nice touch,our next visit will be in 2016 i expect
so a big thank you to all the staff at the blue water for a very relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: we were in room 229 it was over the restaurant but no noise a good sleep every night
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peglex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your lovely review and for your repeat patronage to the blue water hotel. Your kind words to our service staff and the food department is very much welcomed and comments have been passed on to the entire team.
Once again we look forward to your next visit and to serve you again with the blue water hospitality.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed in the hotel for the fourth time on 14th February. Welcome at the reception was very poor. Don't care attitude. Person who serve the welcome drink should not be working in a hotel.
Lunch & Dinner was hopeless(not a 5 star standard). Shouldn't have booked full board. Room at the new wing was superbly done.
Never go back to this hotel.

RA

Room Tip: get a room in the new wing .They are all suites
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajesh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very sorry to learn that on the 4th visit to the hotel you were disappointed with the welcome at the reception and the welcome drink service!
It is also very sad to learn that you have not enjoyed Lunch and Dinner served in the Admiral’s restaurant although comments from other guests who stayed during the same period on food and service are contradictory; nevertheless constructive criticism is very much welcomed as it helps us to correct where necessary in order to serve our future guest even better.
Staff on duty at time of your arrival at the reception and the welcome drink service will be questioned and rest assured corrective action will be taken to avoid any repetition of similar laps of service to future guest.
Since you have been satisfied with all 03 previous visits we trust that you would accept our apologies and visit us again in the near future when your travels bring you closer to Wadduwa.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

After spending a week touring Sri Lanka we spent 6 nights at this hotel. The location is great right beside the beach with the Indian ocean pounding away. The hotel has a large pool one section of it being about 30 metres long. The pool is clean there were plenty of sun loungers and staff to bring towels, drinks etc. The room was large enough with a balcony and a bath with Jacuzzi. The rooms were clean and well serviced with a daily replacement of towels and mosquito tabs. The buffet was excellent for all meals and had a variety of international dishes and curries. As we were staying on Valentines day we decided to eat in one of the restaurants (Nautilus) and the food was well prepared and displayed and would have made any fine dining restaurant proud. Service was always good and everyone was friendly with time to chat. Having the beach right on the doorstep was wonderful with opportunities to do some body surfing. You could also watch the fishermen at work. There was really no need to go outside the hotel although there was a small village locally with several shops and the train ran near by which went into Colombo. Whilst we were there we witnessed several weddings both locals and English couples. The hotel made a special effort with the weddings. All in all a great hotel in a good location 2 hours drive from Colombo airport.

Room Tip: It was only about £90 for 6 nights to upgrade to a superior room which was well worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterKleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of the future guest to the blue water hotel.
Your lovely compliments extended to service staff and Chefs department, especially to the ‘Nautilus’ staff is very much appreciated and thank you!
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future on your next visit to Sri Lanka!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at the end of our sri lankan tour. We were initially given a ground floor room and asked to be moved to a top floor room. The hotel was full so we had to wait for two days to be moved but the staff went out of their way to show us the rooms we were moving to as they were not as big or new as the one we were leaving. It must be a nightmare running a hotel as the reviewer below didn't like the dogs visiting the first floor veranda, whereas we really enjoyed their company! There was a bit of a mix up with the timing of our move but once there we much preferred it as the view was stunning, although the room was a bit tatty. A few other things, this hotel is not for the bird phobic. We loved them but there are crows and parakeets screeching and flying around the sunbathing area all day. There is a railway line out the front of the hotel and the trains always appeared to hoot as they passed so you will be awake quite early. The staff and food were excellent - they need to advertise The Nautilus more as no one knows its there, we only found it on our last night. Good gym, good choice of equipment. If you want a favourite item of clothing copied or a suit or dress made to measure or a special piece of jewellery made visit Benetton, the shop opposite the hotel. The charming couple running this shop provide an excellent service. Overall there is something about this hotel that makes you feel comfortable, welcome and at home. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are refurbished to a higher standard than the higher floors, no doubt they will get around to updating them all.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annelizabethSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday at the blue water hotel on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest.
We appreciate your honest opinion of the hotel and kind compliments to service staff.
‘The Nautilus’ is the new restaurant serving a fusion a la carte menu for lunch and dinner giving the guest an extra dining option in a relaxed ambiance away from the main building towards the new wing. Your food for thought on creating better awareness of the restaurant is much welcomed and will be immediately actioned.
We look forward to welcome you back when your travels bring you closer to us again in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We returned a week ago from 12 nights, all inclusive at the Blue Water. We had a ground floor room right next to the pool, near to the pool bar. The room was well kept and clean but was spoil by two wild dogs who insisted on sleeping on our balcony and sometimes in our chairs. In the end we followed the example of a neighbour who had the same problem and blocked off the steps with a sun lounger every night. After complaining the staff did endeavor to keep the dogs away as best they could. Why aren't the gates to the beach more secure? This would surely alleviate the problem.
This did not deter our enjoyment of the holiday. The staff at the resort are always cheerful and helpful. We need to say a big thank you to Gayan behind the bar. His command of English is excellent and his friendly helpful manner made us feel at ease. The dining room staff were all lovely, the two ladies who met us at mealtimes very welcoming. Asun and a young trainee Irander were both quick at topping up the wine glasses at dinner and teacups at breakfast. Not forgetting the pool attendants especially Musar who had our sun loungers set up every morning. The staff at this resort are the greatest asset.
We ate in the buffet and enjoyed trying all the different food. We always found something that pleased us and it was all of a high standard with the chefs always there to advise.
All in all an enjoyable holiday. We would have no hesitation returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of the future guest to the blue water hotel and grateful for the lovely compliments passed on to the service staff and Chefs department.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the dogs and rest assured balconies of the ground floor rooms are secured and beach gates are also better controlled to keep the dogs away.
Look forward to welcome you all back again in the near future to the blue water hotel when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews