We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best holiday i ever had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Blue Water
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Kingscourt, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best holiday i ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

i have just returned from our daughter wedding at the blue water resort, we were a party of 6 and i found everything to be first class. STAFF were more than good, willing to go the extra mile for visitors. Food and hygiene were excellent, no one in our party could find a fault. I hope i am lucky enough to get the chance to return to this wonderful hotel in the beautiful island of Sri Lanka

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay at the blue water hotel and we are thrilled to hear that all were up to your expectations and more.
Look forward to welcome you back when your travels bring you closer to our City in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    457
    126
    51
    26
See reviews for
334
661
36
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I never wanted to be for this hotel provided it was a very popular place among most of guests I have spoken (because I wanted to check in to places that others have not much visited).
But the from the moment I checked in It was proven I was wrong.
Pros:
What a landscape and architecture, well trained staff, gorgeous food with plenty of varieties, yet very reasonable. They got a massive beautiful pool.
Cons:
No 24 hr laundry service

Room Tip: If you need open space hotel with plenty of new air circulation, great food, trained staff, this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ausi-taipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination in Sri Lankan and for the lovely compliments extended to the service and food in general. We will definitely look at your suggestion with regard to 24 hr laundry service.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My second visit to The Blue Water, really enjoyed it both times. The gift shop and jewellery shops opposite are well worth a visit - the staff are incredibly friendly and will help you with anything. I needed to get some jewellery repaired and my mother went for her wedding rings and was extremely happy. Very friendly, fairly priced and fantastic service!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and for the repeat patronage to the blue water hotel. We look forward to welcome you back in the very near future when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Second time staying at this hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful and stylish, one of Geoffrey Bawa's creations, lots of open spaces with wonderful sea breezes and well looked after grounds.
We were here for 4 nights staying on an all inclusive basis. The rooms themselves are not that big and need updating, especially the bathroom with poor shower pressure and not very hot water either. I have to say though that housekeeping were fantastic.

The food was good, not great. There was enough choice for all 3 meals and whilst the staff on the door were friendly the actual wait staff were slow bringing drinks. Also there no fresh orange or apple juice, I think it may have either been a concentrate that wasn't diluted enough or it was a powder, minor detail but not what I would expect from a hotel of this class.

Pool service I have to say was terrible. Firstly it took ages to find anyone to set up the chairs and bring some towels. Secondly it was the slowest service that we encountered. It was quicker to go to the bar to get drinks, rather defeats the object of all inclusive. They seriously need to get more staff around the pool, we only ever saw one person taking orders and there was a lot of ground for him to cover. Not at all what I would expect from an allegedly 5 star hotel, especially when they are charging these sort of prices and I have to say that the service fell short.

Whilst this is a beautiful hotel, unless a huge effort is made to overhaul the service, I'm not sure that we would stay here again or even recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisydaisy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your repeat patronage to the blue water hotel and sorry to hear that the holiday experience has not been fully up to your expectation.
Room for improvement you have mentioned have been already addressed to the responsible departments and rest assured will be actioned at the earliest.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife & I have just returned from a 13 day holiday in Sri Lanka, during which we stayed at four hotels. The Blue Water hotel in Wadduwa was our fourth hotel, where we stayed for five nights.

Our previous hotel was the Tea Factory in Nuwara Eliya and despite having our own driver it still took us seven hours to get there. The standard of driving in Sri Lanka is the worst we have ever encountered, it might not be as bad as India but it makes travelling in a Tuk Tuk in Thailand seem calm and safe by comparison. Having endured the transfer we finally arrived at the Blue Water and as soon as we passed through the entrance gates our stresses from the journey disappeared. The hotel is, quite simply, the best hotel we visited in Sri Lanka, including several additional hotels we visited during our travels. The hotel was spacious in virtually all respects, the 3 of the 4 lawns were large, the main lawn with the pools spread the width of the whole property and was also very deep, so much so that there was never a problem finding somewhere to relax without being too near to other guests, if that is your preference.

The bedrooms were very well laid out and in some respect only slightly bettered by the Jetwing Sea in Negombo but there the comparison ends. The service was excellent and the food was by far the best hotel food we encountered in Sri Lanka, it was varied each and every day with what appeared to be a weekly cycle of different cuisines for each evening.

The staff were attentive, friendly and the majority of them were very professional. We didn’t make a note of the name of our preferred waiter in the dining room but as he was dressed more formally than the others we assumed he was one of or the head waiter. Without asking, he ensured we had the same table every evening and even arranged in advance to have our part used wine bottle from previous evenings ready and waiting in a chilled ice bucket. He went to the trouble to remember our tea and coffee preferences, all of this without any up front financial incentives, he was faultless.

We were given two half our vouchers for the Spa as an early booking gesture from Kuoni/ Blue Water. My wife used both of them for a one hour spa treatment. Instead of having either a Head & Shoulder massage or an Indian Head massage she had an hour long Full Body massage which was given by a young woman call De Sak, it was one of the best treatments my wife has ever had, it was even better than one in the Maldives.

The hotel is in effect on the beach as it is immediately beyond a small fence. During our 5 days the sea was too rough to safely use, so much so the adjoining hotel had a red flag permanently flying, our hotel didn’t, at least it didn’t until one of its female guests went for a swim and was almost knocked unconscious. 22 staff attended the incident. Fortunately the guest was ultimately OK and after half an hour or so of recuperation in a lounger she was well enough to return to her room. Only after that did the hotel decide to take their red flags from the nearby stash and fly the warning for other guests.

The hotel had two tennis courts, a squash court, the usual small gift shop, a small jewellery shop, a hair and beauty salon, the aforementioned Spa, an extra dining room at a surcharge, an exceedingly large swimming pool, a poolside bar (which needs some development), an air conditional bar with a pool table, and additional open plan dining area which we found very useful and cost effective and there was even a table tennis table although unfortunately it was on one of the landings next to the bedroom instead of being in a dedicated room or zone.

The only problem we personally encountered was on our last night, when there was a torrential downfall, one of the heaviest the staff had seen for several years and the worst of the rain lasted at least half an hour. Four of the rooms, including ours ended up awash with water as the five inch pipes on the balconies weren’t large enough to expel the water, which ended up raising so high the water forced its way past the balcony doors and spread across the entire floor of our room. This wasn’t however too much of a problem as the reception were informed and a team of staff were immediately deployed to rectify the problem. We were also advised that if the rain didn’t stop or they couldn’t dry out the room we would be given an alternative room. Within an hour the rain has stopped and our room was back in service.

The hotel was a two hour drive back to the airport in Sri Lankan morning “rush hour” and was overall the best hotel during our memorable visit to their country, we can’t recommend it enough.

Room Tip: If you try to choose a floor before booking then the 1st floor rooms are referred to as 2nd floor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as one of your holiday destinations in Sri Lanka and for posting a review for the benefit of the future guest.
We very much appreciate compliments extended to service staff and the food department.
Pool staff has been advised to be more thorough in determining whether the sea is safe or not in the future.
We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused due to unexpected rain fall on the said date and happy to know that the room service staff has attended to the matter with least discomfort.
We look forward to welcome you back in the very near future when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

After a week at Blue Water I offer the following observations.
On the positive side I would say the rooms are comfortable with a balcony and excellent views of the pool and ocean beyond. Access to the beach is very easy although there are no loungers or parasols provided there. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is good. They have a large swimming pool and excellent gym facilities.
Not so nice are the large number of crows that infest the coconut trees and mess everywhere and drink/wash at the pool. Fire crackers are used to scare them but to no avail. There is not a lot near the hotel and transport is needed to get to banks and shops in Wadduwa.
If you are thinking of going “all inclusive” please note that Sri Lanka law does not allow alcohol to be served in the hotel on full moon days and other occasions such as local elections and maybe other times ?? Also the house wine served by the glass under “all inclusive” is very poor indeed. The mini bar in our room was not particularly well stocked and had none of the free local spirits (Arrack), whilst chargeable spirits like whisky and brandy etc were there, ours had two small beers and a range of soft drinks as well.
Mary and Martin

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel in Wadduwa as your holiday destination in Sri Lanka and for posting a review on TripAdvisor.
Compliments extended to our service staff and Chefs department are much appreciated.
We are now in to Crows nesting season and they normally build nests on high trees (coconut trees)! Crows are the nature appointed garbage cleaners! They are there where there is food and though we have notices out by the pool and around the garden some guests still feed the birds. Please don’t feed the birds!
There are two cities with essential facilities like banking, supermarket, pharmacy, etc. on either direction from the hotel on a 10 minutes took took ride. Since we are a 14 acre beach front property, obviously we are away from the City limit. If you are looking for anything more the trade capital of Sri Lanka, Colombo is just 45 minutes away.
Hotel management has no control over government regulations on alcohol service on days like the full moon or the once in five years, Election Day. For all inclusive guests, as per their request of choice of alcohol, we do offer the service in their rooms by filling up the mini bar for that day. On other day’s all inclusive guests are served alcohol in public bars but beer, soft drinks and water are further offered in the mini bars as part of the package, along with a selection of imported liquor for any guest who wishes to purchase them and this is very clearly mentioned to guests who opt to go with the all inclusive package.
Your comments on the Wine served as been forwarded to the F&B manager to look in to improvement.
Once again thank you for your feedback which I am sure is of interest to future guests and for us to improve where necessary.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

just back last night after two great weeks at Blue Water a lot of positives and a couple of negative which I will leave to the end...

After a long flight prepare yourself for the wacky races trip through Colombo to the hotel it is 2+ hours of mayhem and a real eye opener...

Once arrived we were swiftly checked in and taken to our room which we found to be good ,spacious, great view and all that is required...

Food-we were all inclusive and would recommend this option as the food is excellent and you will want to try all that is available, there was possibly only one night that my wife and I were a bit disappointed out of 14 which is good going.

Pool, Beach-The pool staff get to know you very quickly and to where you like to position yourself which is ready for you the next day more often than not. The beach is on a steep shelf and is great for walking and also swimming in the surf there is an undercurrent but don't let this put you off having fun with the waves which is good fun.

Drinks-Again we were on the all inclusive and found that this suited us fine as it is so hot you constantly need cold drinks not necessarily alcohol.

Staff-we have been to many hotels over the world and without question we found the staff to be some of the best we have come across very happy,helpful,polite and go out of there way to make your stay as good as can be, this is the same for the rest of the island as well.

Overall we had a great holiday which included a 2 night trip(which we organised ourselves with the help of Suresh tours who were great) to the south of the island to the surfers resorts of Hikkiduwa and Marissa-brilliant beaches and waves- which we would also recommend especially the seafood beachfront restaurants enticing you in with all of that days catch-a fantastic experience. We also were lucky enough to witness a turtle coming out of the sea and laying her eggs-fantastic.

We also went to the elephant orphanages at Penegwalle which is a 3 hour drive away but well worth it, we rode an elepahant,washed her, sat on her back while she soaked us both we then fed some babies with milk bottles a great experience and worth the trip.

Negatives-I don't like complaining as everybody has a different idea of how things are but THE CROWS around the pool are close to being a health hazard they are noisy all day they start at 6 am and do not stop until dusk i was personally bombed twice which is not a great experience as well as the mess they leave in the pool and really think you must act quickly to resolve this issue as the airgun not only gives the residents more of a fright as the crows only make more noise and don't move.
Entertainment-The music during the evening is average and is not helped by the continual breaks that all the acts take ,they just start creating an atmosphere before they stop for another 15 minutes, people enjoy a dance and a few drinks at night and they need to create that atmosphere to finish the day off and why do they stop playing at 11pm and the all inclusive stop at the same time surely another hour would benefit all.

Those two things apart we enjoyed our visit and would recommend the hotel and sri lanka ......

cheers !!

Neil and Bev

Room Tip: all rooms have great views and the higher you are the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor of your recent holiday at the blue water hotel for the benefit of future guest to the hotel.
We are very happy to learn that your overall holiday experience has been up to your expectations except for the few cons mentioned.
As mentioned in previous responses also since the birds are protected by the law it is very difficult for us to really take action in any way that would harm them. Now we have employed a person from morning till evening to keep the pool area clean of the mess left by the birds and the birds hang around in areas where there is food hence we have put up notices in the pool areas requesting guests not to feed them!
Entertainment is selected to blend in with the atmosphere of this great architect Bawa’s concept of tranquility through sounds of the waves and waterfalls mainly but we will certainly look in to break times of the band so not to spoil a good evening!
Once again thank you and look forward to welcome you back in the near future when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.4 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
18.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Property: The Blue Water
Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blue Water 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka
The Blue Water Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing