We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Wadduwa experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Blue Water
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a Wadduwa experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Overall, loved this hotel particularly every single one of the staff that we encountered and that DOES make a difference.
Food was truly delicious, fresh, 'safe', and sufficiently varied. There was also the signature restaurant that we ate in a couple of nights. Such a pity we were there in low season, so the atmosphere was a bit quiet but the food and the service would not be beaten anywhere.
The hotel already know some of the bedrooms, particularly the bathrooms are quite dated and are working to sort that out. The view from the balcony was fab - out to the sea and the sunsets.
Loved the pool and gardens. Jimmy at the pool was very attentive! All the pool attendants were very professional and quick. We regularly had lunch at the pool restaurant, which was exactly what we needed. Nothing was too much trouble.
Criticism? Didnt even realise there were hotel shops until the last day! They really could sell themselves better.
The bar was drepressing.... really needs a revamp NOW. However all the bar staff we met made up for it!

Room Tip: Go to a newly renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIVODublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay at the blue water hotel and also for choosing us as your holiday destination in Sri Lanka, Wadduwa.
Your kind compliments extended to service staff is very much appreciated and has been passed on to the entire team!
We have noted your comments on gift shop advertising and also of the first impression of the bars and will be looked in to for improvement immediately.
Once again thank you and look forward to welcome you back in the near future on your next visit to Sri Lanka.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    463
    129
    51
    26
See reviews for
341
671
37
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
861 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

A nice seaside hotel.Went for a wedding, it has a nice ball room & the food was really great which was typical Sri-Lankan,

Unfortunately could not stay over as it was fully occupied, hope to make it again to stay over.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DilrukshiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor and for the lovely compliments extended to food department and the ballroom and its service staff. We look forward to welcome you back to experience the true blue water hospitality by spending a few days with us in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Lovely hotel, fantastic location. The hotel employees were attentive, knowledgeable and helpful. The food was fresh, delicious and always presented beautifully. We stayed for 12 nights and ate different foods every night.
We were throughly relaxed due to a great night sleep every night and amazing air con despite the high temperatures and humidity in the evening.
We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest to the blue water hotel and for your lovely compliments extended to service staff and Chefs department in particular with food selection, taste and presentation.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel with our family and the hotel was amazing. Their staff is friendly and the overall ambiance of the hotel is very relaxing. They have a private beach, which is clean and superb. Loved staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: Catch the beach-facing rooms. The view is mesmerizing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yrazvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination in Sri Lanka, Wadduwa and look forward to welcome you back for a longer stay perhaps the next time your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had an amazing holiday at blue water
Good rooms
Excellent staff, keen to help and efficient
Brilliant gym and pool
Beach not ideal for swimming though
Fab tours with local company ruchi tours, Thara was a star and knew his local stuff
Thanks to all the guys, Sam, lasantha to name a couple

Room Tip: New suites are very nice but old rooms more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTL955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination in Wadduwa and for posting a review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of the future guest to the hotel.
Your kind compliments are very much appreciated and look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed 2 night and was an truly wonderfull experience been going there many times they just keep getting more and more excellent
1. Rooms are clean ,Peacefull ,excellent sleep and well equiped
2. Staff's Deserve a start wonder full customer service smiling faces every where and not directed at your pockets.
3. Food is the biggest plus wide variety world class taste and satisfying (make sure you use the gym or else be prepared to put on loads of weight for the food which is too good to resisit)
4. easy acces to the shores and well maintained shore line
5.loved the ambiance and infrastructure does make memories happen
6. Swiming pools is big and clean but the clorine is on the heavy side make sure to use gogles


Truly fell in love with Blue waters waduwa it is hotels like this which adds value to srilanka

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool on the ground floor extra room and wonderfull view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGKumarlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination in Wadduwa, Sri Lanka and for all the compliments extended to service staff and especially to Chefs department.
We look forward to welcome you back in the very near future when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my wife and kid. Since its close to Colombo (25 km) it wont waste your time in roads. The room was clean and most of the staff was very helpful. I think the special thing in this hotel is nice food with many varieties.

With regard to things to improve I think the lift needs to replaced with a new one. Also some nice grading in the parking area would bring more beauty to the hotel. Also hotel should be more accessible to pushers and wheel chairs. Also deluxe rooms should have more attention of the management, specially with regard to bathroom fittings.

Any way you can have value for money stay here...

Room Tip: superior rooms are much better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeeva_SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for holidaying at the blue water hotel and for posting a review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest.
While we thank you for the compliments extended we have noted the cons you have pointed out for improvement and will be looked in to immediately.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future when your travels bring you closer to Wadduwa.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.5 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
18.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Property: The Blue Water
Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blue Water 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka
The Blue Water Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing