We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure”
Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Blue Water
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel , just The room need to upgrade ... But still love to go back , foods are great and the staffs !!! Lovely swimming pool lots of Option . Beach line are great , love the welcome drinks and the hot towel it make us deel fresh :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank GraceJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest to the blue water hotel and for the lovely compliments extended to staff and Chefs department and your comments on room refurbishment are well noted.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

This used to be one of the best properties in the area, but they seem to be loosing it fast. We stayed for 2 nights during the month of July when it is off season and you could expect great service as the place is not crowded. But it turned out to be quite different.
Front of house was ok , and restaurant staff was ok, Other areas, most seem to have con't care attitude, pool staff was the worst.
Makes you wonder if locals are not appreciated by the hotel.
Food was all right, but variety was limited. We saw no crabs and prawns throughout the period. This hotel was renowned for it's seafood earlier, we would just go there for the buffet earlier.

Room Tip: All rooms have the view of the sea, but the double rooms have very small double beds, better to go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tusitha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review as we appreciate your feedback very much and only regret that you didn't bring the disappointing encounter with the pool attendants to the management notice while in the hotel, as we are striving to serve our guest with highest possible standards of hospitality the blue water is renowned for, irrespective of the nationality of guest.
As for Crabs, we still serve them on our Sunday buffets every week and there is seafood on every other buffet may it be for lunch or dinner in different cooking methods, as you are aware of the mixed nationalities of guest and curry might not be everybody’s favorite all the time!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed 3 nights (in July 2014) at the Blue Water, Wadduwa to attend a wedding ceremony. It was a relaxing 3 days and I truly enjoyed the stay. The room was clean and spacious and had all the amenities one would need. Air conditioning unit worked noisily and was able to regulate the temperature effectively.

The view from the room with the view of the large pool and the ocean was great. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I had an issue with the TV and they responded quickly and fixed it efficiently.

The breakfast buffet was great with variety of local and western food, well presented. The food was fresh and delicious.

The beach (almost private) is clean and great to go for a walk early in the morning or evening.

This hotel is a great place to relax and I will stay there again during my next visit to Sri Lanka

Room Tip: Free Wi-fi Service was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AusiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the recent holiday at the blue water hotel on the TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest.
We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your vacation to the fullest and look forward to welcome you back when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

No welcome. Very poor and care from the front desk, reception and room services. Their only concern was the payment. Disturbedin many occasions to make sure that we leave before 12 noon.
Many more to comment.......

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sathis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,
It is with regret that we read your comment though without much details of a particular incident to address with a concern department as far as the service is concern, unless it is the two issues mentioned with regard to payment and checkout time to my comments are as follows:
An advance payment is required to guarantee your room reservation and it is a company policy that applies to all guests irrespective of nationality and 12 noon is the checkout time mainly to ensure that the next guest has the room ready by 2 pm to check-in!
Please accept our apologies if the above was not to your liking or these information was not clear to you at time of booking though very clearly mentioned on the registration form you fill out at time of arrival!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I recently booked 6 nights toI return to this resort which I was introduced to by other family members and would have received good value but had a problem when we tried to change our booking. The resort did provide a reasonable experience for the off season rate we paid but isn't five star. The rooms are clean but showing their age, the cushions in the outdoor seating area are dirty and the al a carte food was average and below average based on our purchases at both restaurants.

The real problem came when we requested to leave early. We booked using a travel website because of the inconvenience using the hotel's,s own website. We asked one of the staff at the front desk if we could leave early, he checked our booking, confirmed the date we wanted to leave and told us yes. We made a second booking and was charged the full rate for the additional 3 nights of our booking. We had misinterpreted the cancellation policy but also got the wrong information from the hotel staff. We never asked for full repayment because we had also made a mistake, we gave suggestions but weren't offered anything. I advised management that I would not be returning on a further trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Thumbs_Down2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor of your recent holiday at the blue water hotel for the benefit of future guest as well as giving the hotel management an opportunity to respond!
Management regrets the fact that you had to change your holiday plans for personal reasons and also the fact of miscommunication that led to you believing the hotel would refund payment which you have directly paid to the travel agent at the time of the booking! Please accept our apologies if what was communicated to you by the front desk receptionist led you to the understanding of a such refund which even if the management wanted to would be next to impossible unless the hotel to bear the full lost including travel agent commission which again any business organization would not!!
We do understand your disappointment hence it would be natural for you to be bias when rating rest of the services offered during your stay!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We were there on 30th June 2014, just for a night with another couple.(rooms 209,210) On arrival we got nice welcome drinks, receptionist give us the information we needed. Nice buffet restaurant. Food presentation, variety, service and the taste was brilliant.
Entertainment after the dinner was magnificent. Only drawback for us was the bathroom, bathtub was very old and just the shower works. Tap was broken. This is a nice 3 star Hotel in UK/US standards.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor of your recent holiday at the blue water hotel and please accept our sincere apologies for the maintenance shortcomings encountered during the stay and rest assured these have been already corrected for future guest use.
Thank you for all the compliments extended on service, food and entertainment offered during the stay and look forward to welcome you back in the near future when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

If you are looking to stay here you won't be disappointed. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The food is lovely but the best thing about this hotel is the lovely staff, they are truly a credit to the hotel, they cannot do enough for you. We stayed in room 229 which had an amazing view of the grounds and a sea view. Myself and my husband will definitely be returning here. Thank you all at The Blue Water.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cookiewalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest to the blue water hotel.
Your kind compliments especially to our staff have been passed on to the entire team and we look forward to welcome you both in the very near future when your travels bring you closer to us!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
17.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
5.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range: £69 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Water 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka
The Blue Water Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing