We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blue Water
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Privilege(Wadduwa)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Turyaa Kalutara(Kalutara)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citrus Waskaduwa(Waskaduwa)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,508)
Filter reviews
1,508 results
Traveller rating
779
503
143
56
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
779
503
143
56
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub suiteruchi tourselephant orphanagesri lankanautilus restaurantday tripplenty of sunbedsa la carte restaurantpool barturtle hatcherytuk tukall inclusive packageyala national parktour companyovernight staygeoffrey bawarailway line
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
623 - 628 of 1,508 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent a week at the Blue Water over the Eid break, flying in from Dubai.

From the moment I began the booking process, the hotel could not have been more helpful. Daham in reservations answered all my questions (and I had a lot, given that this was our first trip with a small baby!)

We booked a standard room but had also asked about upgrading. We decided to delay our decision and wait until we arrived and saw the rooms. This was no trouble for the staff, and on arrival the receptionist duly showed us a standard room and a suite in the new wing. The standard room was absolutely fine but we chose a suite – with a small baby and a cot in the room we wanted a bit more space. The suites in the new wing are lovely and well worth paying for an upgrade if you can. A sofa area and balcony with wonderful view of the grounds and the ocean. There’s a fridge/mini bar and a kettle (useful with a baby).

One point: the hotel says it is 90 minutes from the airport. It may well be on a day when there is zero traffic (does that day ever exist?!) but on the way there it took us 3 hours, on the way back, 2. Just factor this into your planning.

The Hotel/Environment
The design of the hotel is stunning. In a typical Sri Lankan style, it makes the most of the beautiful outdoor whilst also sheltering you from any inclement weather. We visited during the monsoon so there was the odd smattering of rain during the day, but this didn’t bother us at all. Lovely to sit on the terrace watching the rain. The grounds and pool area are huge so even though the hotel might be busy, you can get away from people and it never feels overcrowded.

Staff
The staff are truly lovely at the Blue Water. Smiling, friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The first morning my husband got chatting to the chef and mentioned that he loved egg curry. Literally 20 minutes later the chef appeared, having rustled up a meal for him! This is typical of the attitude of the staff. Special mentions to the daytime waiter at the lobby bar and also the waiter at the pool bar. He is ex-Jumeirah, having worked in Dubai for 5 years. This gives you an idea of the quality. Some of the pool boys could do with a lesson in smiling and friendliness, it has to be said.

Food
The food is fantastic at the Blue Water. There’s a buffet restaurant which we ate breakfast in every morning. Unlike India where it’s curry for breakfast, lunch and dinner, here there was lots of fresh fruit, pastries and a good mix to suit Western palates. Having said that I love dahl for breakfast, and the dahl was amazing!

There’s a lovely lobby restaurant and they served us food sat on the terrace by the buffet every night. Mainly because of the noise from the lobby area – we had a sleeping baby in the pram next to us and wanted a more peaceful place to eat. The Tom Yum soup was to die for!

Entertainment
This is a matter of personal taste – the first few nights we were at the Blue Water there was a band playing – we couldn’t stand them AND they were very loud. Think bad karaoke. Thankfully this seemed to be only at the weekend and other nights there was a violinist which was lovely and much more relaxing.

General
There’s an elephant that visits the hotel! She’s absolutely gorgeous and was a highlight for us. There were a few weddings during our stay so she was in attendance more than usual. You can pay to ride her (no interest with a ten month old baby, thanks!) and be warned, her ‘minders’ will try to charge you to take photos too – which is a bit rude. They are a bit gruff generally, to be honest.

Couple of areas for improvement:

The area round the pool is lush and green and vast. When walking around the property we noticed some empty liquor bottles strewn on the grass. These were not picked up during the entire week we were there. Likewise there were sometimes bits of wire in the grass around the sunbeds- not ideal with a baby crawling around. It would take a few minutes each day for the pol boys to check and sort this – they are not overly busy.

There’s a spa on site and it’s beautiful. BUT the prices are ridiculous. $107 for a massage is far too expensive – I live in Dubai and that’s just slightly less than we pay here. If the prices were more reasonable I would have been in there like a shot every day. It could be a real money maker for the hotel as you are captive during your stay and like I said, it is beautiful and the staff seemed lovely.

I couldn’t not comment on the dreaded CROWS as there’s been so much discussion abut them on TripAdvisor. They didn’t actually bother me that much, until I spent a bit of time at the pool – and mainly because a stupid couple (hello fat lady in the black bikini) who insisted on FEEDING them! Jesus wept! This is why there is a problem. Some people are absolute idiots.

Overall we had a fantastic time and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: high floor gives you a good sea view. also the new suites are gorgeous.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a detailed review of your recent holiday experience at the blue water hotel on TripAdvisor for the benefit of the future guest.
Your kind compliments extended to staff and services are very much appreciated and the misinformation on distance has been noted and relevant staff has been advised accordingly.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night . Sunday lunch buffet spread was excellent
Rooms of course bit small . No hand shower or commode spray available in the the room. Not even toilet bowl , found and the service was very good . Ample parking . Huge pool and baby pool for kids available here. All rooms have TV mining bar hot water /safe lockers I

Stayed: August 2014
Thank CAP_PERERA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination in Wadduwa and for posting review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future perhaps for a longer stay!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I had first visited this property in 2010, when making a day trip from Colombo. At that time, I remember finding the resort to be absolutely lovely, but was immensely disappointed by the buffet lunch.

I finally had the chance to stay here for a night in the beginning of June 2014, and while the resort is a brilliant property, unfortunately the food doesn't quite live up to the rest of the place. In particular, I found most of the meat dishes to be quite tough. While I would otherwise welcome a long stay at this hotel for the lovely sea-facing balconies in the rooms, massive lawns, the swimming pool and the incessant sounds of the waves, I'm afraid that I probably wouldn't be able to sustain it simply because of the disappointing food, which in my limited experience does not seem to have improved between 2010 and 2014.

For travellers for whom food is less of a concern, I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at this hotel. For those who like to try the local alcohol, I was very pleased to find the stout variant of the local Lion beer, which I had not come across in other Sri Lankan hotels before. The staff is unfailingly helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: The hotel seems to be designed such that all / nearly all rooms face the sea. The first floor rooms have an excellent view of the grounds and the sea, and we were not too disturbed by the noise from the pool area, which may well be an issue in the ground floor rooms. Do note that if visiting during the monsoons, you run the risk of having your room flooded through the balcony (it happened to us), though I'm not sure how common this occurrence is.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvertoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor of your recent very short holiday at the blue water hotel and we are very sorry that you did not enjoy the meat dishes on the buffet and only wished you had brought it to the notice of the restaurant management immediately for us to compensate with a dish of your choice but nevertheless this will be looked in to by our Chef immediately.
We appreciate your compliments extended to the property in general and look forward to welcome you back if and when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Spend during the last weekend of July. Had a good relaxing time. Much enjoyed the swimming pool and could swim enough and enough! Good food. Much spaced garden which was well maintained.
I would love to be there on a full moon day.

Room Tip: I preferred the ground floor as I could have a direct access to the swimming pool!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newtonjsurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your short and sweet review on TripAdvisor of the recent visit to the blue water hotel and look forward to welcome you back in the near future, perhaps for a longer stay next time!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at the Blue waters in July for 3 nights, the service was very good. All the staff and management team were very friendly and were always ready to help.
we had a helicopter trip on our last day which was organised by the hotel due to a festival that was on so no alcohol was being served in the hotel, it was cheap too.
The room was clean and big, food was amazing, pool was lovely and the beach was gorgeous.
The only thing they can do is improve the room balcony with some new furniture and update it and the bathrooms could do with a update but besides that everything else was brilliant.

Room Tip: ask for a beach view room its beautiful
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Krish23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor of the recent holiday at the blue water hotel for the benefit of future guest.
While we thank you for your lovely compliments passed on to the service staff and chefs department in particular we have noted the suggested improvements mentioned and will forward same to the director board.
Look forward to welcome you back in the very near future on your next holiday to Sri Lanka!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews