We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Blue Water
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A little Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

the final stop on our 3 centre holiday, having been at Ras Al Khamiah in the Emirates and Filitheyo in the Maldives. Transfer from the airport took about 2 hours. We arrived at 9 pm and went straight into dinner. It was a Saturday night and the restaurant was very busy, buffet with a grill outside and there was plenty of choice. The weekends are busy with lots of local people staying at the hotel. We had read a lot about the hotel but were somewhat disappointed with the room which was clearly in need of refurbishment and we had also requested a king bed and were given twin, this was rectified the following morning but the room was of the same standard. Staff in the bars and restaurants were good. Pool bar served fresh cooked hot food. On occasion the buffet food was cold and was very repetitive. Also the public toilets in the reception area were in need of a good clean, the doors were dirty and there was a strong smell. Points were addressed with manager and we are pleased to say these were acted on. We had a day trip to Kandy and visited the elephant orphanage in Pinwala on the way, this was excellent, we also rode an elephant a short drive away. A trip into town in the tuk tuk is an experience and not expensive. We had a meal in the A La Carte restaurant at the hotel on our last night and it was excellent, food, presentation and service could not have been better. It was a nice way to finish our holiday. One drawback as well is that you leave the hotel 5 hours prior to departure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ustwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday on the TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest to the blue water hotel.
While thanking you for compliments extended to service staff we are thankful for mentioning areas for improvement on your view and will be looked in to immediately.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future when your visits bring you closer to us in Wadduwa.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    456
    126
    51
    26
See reviews for
334
661
36
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

While heading down the southern coast of Sri Lanka a few friends invited me to have lunch at Blue Waters. The food was delicious. There was a great mix of local and international cuisine. The restaurant/wait staff was very pleasant and attentive to the needs of the diners. It was a really nice experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad that you enjoyed our Sunday family lunch buffet very much and look forward to welcome you in the near future perhaps to stay a couple of days at the least.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

First the positives - and there are plenty
Collection from the airport was arranged by the hotel.
We arrived mid morning but were given our room early. No issues at check-in and nice to be given a drink and towels whilst paperwork was completed.
Room was big enough to have an additional bed for our youngster (11) and still have space. Bedding, towels etc were clean. I must say that the standard of housekeeping throughout our fortnight was excellent, and the house staff were friendly and helpful.
The pool and grounds were beautiful although you must be prepared for the crows. Don't feed them and don't ever leave food unattended. We had no issues with with the pool attendants who were friendly, consistently helpful and took food and drinks orders. Top tip - the club sandwiches were excellent value. We didn't have problems with the dogs and they certainly weren't aggressive.
Hotel grounds were very well kept. We used the tennis courts and they were fine.
Food generally was good although my son, who admittedly is a fussy eater, could struggle to find things he enjoyed. One evening we complained about a couple of the buffet dishes and the head chef came over afterwards to hear the said issues. But again we were generally fine with the food.
Now a couple of negatives.
The location of the hotel means that you have a long journey to anywhere worth visiting, mainly due to the road system. Therefore we did less sightseeing than we would normally do but the hotel pool was so relaxing anyway this wasn't a major issue.
Booking trips was made more difficult as the spoken English of the young chap in the Business Centre wasn't brilliant although he always tried to be helpful.
The beach, largely due to sea conditions wasn't used but the hotel staff could have at least cleared the litter piles which made it look like a tip at times. I appreciate it was a public beach but a bit of local willingness would go a long way.

Overall a very nice place to stay

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for the review posted on TripAdvisor of your recent holiday experience at the blue water for the benefit of future guest.
Your lovely compliments extended to staff and services are very much appreciated and the cons mentioned are well noted and directed for action accordingly.
Look forward to welcome you back when on your next holiday to Sri Lanka in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent a week at the Blue Water over the Eid break, flying in from Dubai.

From the moment I began the booking process, the hotel could not have been more helpful. Daham in reservations answered all my questions (and I had a lot, given that this was our first trip with a small baby!)

We booked a standard room but had also asked about upgrading. We decided to delay our decision and wait until we arrived and saw the rooms. This was no trouble for the staff, and on arrival the receptionist duly showed us a standard room and a suite in the new wing. The standard room was absolutely fine but we chose a suite – with a small baby and a cot in the room we wanted a bit more space. The suites in the new wing are lovely and well worth paying for an upgrade if you can. A sofa area and balcony with wonderful view of the grounds and the ocean. There’s a fridge/mini bar and a kettle (useful with a baby).

One point: the hotel says it is 90 minutes from the airport. It may well be on a day when there is zero traffic (does that day ever exist?!) but on the way there it took us 3 hours, on the way back, 2. Just factor this into your planning.

The Hotel/Environment
The design of the hotel is stunning. In a typical Sri Lankan style, it makes the most of the beautiful outdoor whilst also sheltering you from any inclement weather. We visited during the monsoon so there was the odd smattering of rain during the day, but this didn’t bother us at all. Lovely to sit on the terrace watching the rain. The grounds and pool area are huge so even though the hotel might be busy, you can get away from people and it never feels overcrowded.

Staff
The staff are truly lovely at the Blue Water. Smiling, friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The first morning my husband got chatting to the chef and mentioned that he loved egg curry. Literally 20 minutes later the chef appeared, having rustled up a meal for him! This is typical of the attitude of the staff. Special mentions to the daytime waiter at the lobby bar and also the waiter at the pool bar. He is ex-Jumeirah, having worked in Dubai for 5 years. This gives you an idea of the quality. Some of the pool boys could do with a lesson in smiling and friendliness, it has to be said.

Food
The food is fantastic at the Blue Water. There’s a buffet restaurant which we ate breakfast in every morning. Unlike India where it’s curry for breakfast, lunch and dinner, here there was lots of fresh fruit, pastries and a good mix to suit Western palates. Having said that I love dahl for breakfast, and the dahl was amazing!

There’s a lovely lobby restaurant and they served us food sat on the terrace by the buffet every night. Mainly because of the noise from the lobby area – we had a sleeping baby in the pram next to us and wanted a more peaceful place to eat. The Tom Yum soup was to die for!

Entertainment
This is a matter of personal taste – the first few nights we were at the Blue Water there was a band playing – we couldn’t stand them AND they were very loud. Think bad karaoke. Thankfully this seemed to be only at the weekend and other nights there was a violinist which was lovely and much more relaxing.

General
There’s an elephant that visits the hotel! She’s absolutely gorgeous and was a highlight for us. There were a few weddings during our stay so she was in attendance more than usual. You can pay to ride her (no interest with a ten month old baby, thanks!) and be warned, her ‘minders’ will try to charge you to take photos too – which is a bit rude. They are a bit gruff generally, to be honest.

Couple of areas for improvement:

The area round the pool is lush and green and vast. When walking around the property we noticed some empty liquor bottles strewn on the grass. These were not picked up during the entire week we were there. Likewise there were sometimes bits of wire in the grass around the sunbeds- not ideal with a baby crawling around. It would take a few minutes each day for the pol boys to check and sort this – they are not overly busy.

There’s a spa on site and it’s beautiful. BUT the prices are ridiculous. $107 for a massage is far too expensive – I live in Dubai and that’s just slightly less than we pay here. If the prices were more reasonable I would have been in there like a shot every day. It could be a real money maker for the hotel as you are captive during your stay and like I said, it is beautiful and the staff seemed lovely.

I couldn’t not comment on the dreaded CROWS as there’s been so much discussion abut them on TripAdvisor. They didn’t actually bother me that much, until I spent a bit of time at the pool – and mainly because a stupid couple (hello fat lady in the black bikini) who insisted on FEEDING them! Jesus wept! This is why there is a problem. Some people are absolute idiots.

Overall we had a fantastic time and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: high floor gives you a good sea view. also the new suites are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a detailed review of your recent holiday experience at the blue water hotel on TripAdvisor for the benefit of the future guest.
Your kind compliments extended to staff and services are very much appreciated and the misinformation on distance has been noted and relevant staff has been advised accordingly.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night . Sunday lunch buffet spread was excellent
Rooms of course bit small . No hand shower or commode spray available in the the room. Not even toilet bowl , found and the service was very good . Ample parking . Huge pool and baby pool for kids available here. All rooms have TV mining bar hot water /safe lockers I

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Praveen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination in Wadduwa and for posting review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future perhaps for a longer stay!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I had first visited this property in 2010, when making a day trip from Colombo. At that time, I remember finding the resort to be absolutely lovely, but was immensely disappointed by the buffet lunch.

I finally had the chance to stay here for a night in the beginning of June 2014, and while the resort is a brilliant property, unfortunately the food doesn't quite live up to the rest of the place. In particular, I found most of the meat dishes to be quite tough. While I would otherwise welcome a long stay at this hotel for the lovely sea-facing balconies in the rooms, massive lawns, the swimming pool and the incessant sounds of the waves, I'm afraid that I probably wouldn't be able to sustain it simply because of the disappointing food, which in my limited experience does not seem to have improved between 2010 and 2014.

For travellers for whom food is less of a concern, I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at this hotel. For those who like to try the local alcohol, I was very pleased to find the stout variant of the local Lion beer, which I had not come across in other Sri Lankan hotels before. The staff is unfailingly helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: The hotel seems to be designed such that all / nearly all rooms face the sea. The first floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvertoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor of your recent very short holiday at the blue water hotel and we are very sorry that you did not enjoy the meat dishes on the buffet and only wished you had brought it to the notice of the restaurant management immediately for us to compensate with a dish of your choice but nevertheless this will be looked in to by our Chef immediately.
We appreciate your compliments extended to the property in general and look forward to welcome you back if and when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Spend during the last weekend of July. Had a good relaxing time. Much enjoyed the swimming pool and could swim enough and enough! Good food. Much spaced garden which was well maintained.
I would love to be there on a full moon day.

Room Tip: I preferred the ground floor as I could have a direct access to the swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtonjsurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your short and sweet review on TripAdvisor of the recent visit to the blue water hotel and look forward to welcome you back in the near future, perhaps for a longer stay next time!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.4 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
18.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Property: The Blue Water
Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#2 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Water 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK) and Travelbag so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka
The Blue Water Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing