We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel but location let it down.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Blue Water
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but location let it down.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I had the first week of our honeymoon at Blue Water. As the taxi drove through the streets on our way from the airport our hearts sank. The area in which Blue Water is located is like no other I have experienced, slum like. We felt so relieved when the gates opened to reveal our paradise hotel! Beautiful palms with a view if the beach & ocean greeted us. Once the gates closed we felt safe. & promptly upgraded to all-inclusive as had no intention of leaving our hotel for walk abouts or sampling street food as previously planned. Staff were friendly, helpful & couldn't do enough for us - if perhaps a little slow with service waiting times. Pool was wonderful with excellent attendants. The one downfall was the abundance of crows in the palms. Constant noise & messing on towels & on bodies as we tried to sunbathe. They would swoop down on any unattended food or drinks & mess all over your towels/table. Attendants changed towels and occasional fireworks would attempt to scare them off but only made them fly around noisily & mess everywhere! Very annoying! Rooms were clean and very nice. Mosquito plugs provided and changed daily too.
My husband and I were however very upset at the end if our stay as we're asked by the General Manager to take a 400g package back to London for her! Dried Fish apparently! Absolutely gob smacked! We obviously refused and were told "that's ok, there are other English couples here, I will ask one of them" Highly suspicious & totally disgusting behaviour!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanamissy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Your review on TripAdvisor of the recent holiday is very much appreciated for the benefit of future guest and thank you.
It is unfortunate that streets and houses found in UK was not to be seen in this tropical Island but glad that you found the hotel premises to be to your liking.
Our apologies for the Crow menace which is troublesome only if you leave food around or choose to eat by the pool instead the restaurant. Crows are also rightful inhabitants to this Island and killing or causing any harm to their existence is against the law.
Some of our repeat guest request from us to send some of their favorite food items to them; please accept our sincere apologies for the unprofessional approach from the person who contacted you with regard to the parcel.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future if and when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    463
    129
    51
    26
See reviews for
339
671
36
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Havent stayed overnight, but have spent an afternoon and dined at the buffet restaurant, after a dash in the pool and a sea dip.
Great buffet, especially the sea food on offer. Great pool. Excellent beach too.
Very friendly helpful staff

Room Tip: Sea food is Great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeromAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent day outing at the blue water hotel on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future gust.
While we thank you for your lovely compliments specially to Sunday family lunch, we look forward to welcome you back perhaps for a stay over next time your travels bring you to Wadduwa.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

just returned from the blue water hotel have visited the royal palms and the tangerine hotels but the blue water was by far the best hotel from the moment we arrived the staff went out of their way to make it a wonderful holiday so thank you all for a perfect holiday see you all next year mr and mrs siegertsz

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your vacation destination in Wadduwa, Sri Lanka and for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest.
While we thank you for lovely compliments extended to staff and related services we look forward to your next visit when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Myself, partner and my parents recently returned from our holiday to The Blue Water. My parents had previously visited other hotels and highly recommended them, so there was a lot to live up to from this hotel.
From the moment that we arrived, we were made to feel so welcome. This continued throughout the week. Every member of staff was polite and could not do enough for any of us; pool staff, waiters, bar staff, room attendants, reception area, all of them!
Our room was perfect, beautifully set out with a view of the pool ( we were ground floor) the bathroom was large, with a bath tub and shower, all spotlessly clean and in perfect working order. The room was spacious and had air conditioning and an additional ceiling fan. The room was also cleaned twice a day.
Each night there was a different theme to the food that was served. Our favourites were the Chinese and Sri Lankan night. Plenty of choice at breakfast, lunch and tea; if curry wasn't for you then there were many alternatives. We also used the pool bar for snacks, a great selection, extremely filling and very tasty too.
The last day was horrible weather all day, continuos rain. But the hotel put on extra entertainment and took great measures to ensure all the visitors were safe and dry. The weather did not stop us, we decided to venture to the local temple and learn more about the culture and religion.
I could go on and on with a list of positives. We all loved every minute of our holiday and were very sad to leave. We have made some great friends and cannot wait to return next year.
Thank you to every single person who works there and made our holiday so special!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest to the blue water hotel.
Your lovely compliments to staff, services and food selections are very much welcomed and have been passed on to the entire team.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Words cannot describe what a great resort The Blue Water is. Staff are so friendly and hospitable. Rooms are huge. Pool is well maintained. Food is excellent. We were in Sri Lanka for over 2 weeks, but only spent 2 nights at the Blue Water. I wish we had spent more nights here, because it was the epitome of calm. It is probably the only two days spent in a hotel where my family felt completely relaxed and refreshed. A place everyone must experience while in the beautiful paradise that is Sri Lanka!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor of your recent holiday for the benefit of future guest.
Your kind overall appreciation of the property and services are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in 2 interconnecting suites (family of 5). Rooms were simple, but very clean and relaxing. We had rooms overlooking the ocean. Pool was lovely and the beach was just amazing - watch the littles ones though. The waves can be really strong - but hotel lifeguard goes out to the beach as guests leave the hotel grounds toward the beach.
Food was lovely - although would be good to have a few simple dishes for the children.
Across the road is a tour guide named Ruchi - he is AMAZING!!! Arranged great tours for a group of 9 of us (2 families traveling together). He got us into feed the elephants, watching the elephants bath in the river, elephant ride, personal washing of one elephant in a secluded river. Herb and spice garden tour, tea plantation - all without queuing, or paying enormous entry fees and we had the best vantage point every time!! You'll find him on the beach outside the hotel if he's not on a tour for the day. His English is amazing and he has loads of knowledge on the history of Sri Lanka.
We will return here again and stay a lot longer.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Your review on TripAdvisor of the recent holiday at the blue water hotel is very much welcomed and appreciated by the entire team.
We have noted your comment on selection on food for children has been noted.
Look forward to welcome you all back in the near future when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The main reason for our (wife and I) trip was to see the Kandy Festival (excellent) early August. We stayed from August 6th to the 17th at Bluewater based on the overall comments from Trip Advisor. So, rather than repeat what has already been said, I will give, hopefully, helpful comments - with saving the best to last.

We stayed on a B&B basis to give flexibility on what we ate and when. The all-inclusive risk is that you will eat and drink "because it is there". The various restaurant options are excellent and VERY reasonably priced. The overall cost of our eating and drinking was less than half of the cost for all-inclusive.

Upgrade to a top room in the new extension. We stayed on the 5th floor and had excellent views across the gardens, beach and sea as well as a superbly furnished room.

Find out the days that Sri Lanka believe are the auspicious days to get married. We were there purely by luck, but were treated to three weddings a day at the hotel for four days. Brilliantly beautiful (browse Kandyan brides to get an idea) and an excellent chance to see the culture of the country on full display. The hotel is very popular for weddings.

Do your research on trips before going. We used the services of Chamila from Remarkable Paradise (http://www.remarkableparadise.com). Discuss with him what you want to see and he will give advice and sort the logistics. All trips we took were just the two of us plus a driver/guide - very knowledgeable and flexible - if you see something you want to look at, they will stop and help you. Want to change the schedule/timing - easily done. Want to photo some monkeys - they will find them. And all at very good value for money. Many thanks, Chamila.

Kandy seems to be on everyone's "must see" list. Avoid trying to do it in a day. Two days is the minimum to see Kandy, Lions' Rock, tea plantation and the elephant orphanage. We stayed at the Galavilla Hotel (http://galavillaspa.com). As I sorted our arrangements for the Kandy Festival a bit late (but at least before we left to go to Sri Lanka) just about all the hotel rooms in the city had gone. Galavilla is about 20 kms out of the city and way up in the hills - but what an excellent place - just look at its website. Because the hotel was just about full, we ended up in the honeymoon suite - brilliant.

The spa - ask about the special offers (e.g. buy ten hours to use as a couple - keeps the cost down).

If you want your nerves testing - then rely on the Sri Lanka bus drivers to do it for you. They are suicidal! The tuk-tuk drivers are angels compared to these guys.

Lots of comments have been made about the ravens/crows. OK - after a day or so, they become part of the scenery and background noise. Just DO NOT feed them otherwise you will find yourself in the middle of an Alfred Hitchcock retake.

Comments also made about the internet - OK, there are some cold spots and if you do not use it for a while, you will be logged out. Hey, come on, it's a holiday! Easy to live with.

And now, the best for last - the hotel staff. ALL of them are naturals at being polite, friendly with a "can do" attitude (unlike other countries where staff have to be trained in customer service). It just seems to be part of their genes - amazing. Cannot recall any grumpiness or bad attitude. That really makes the difference.

Having said that, our special thanks to Ranga who must be the best of the best in the restaurants and to Dilini who very kindly showed my wife how to dress in a sari, Sri Lanka style. Best of the best!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely detailed holiday review posted on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest to the blue water hotel.
Compliments extended to staff, especially to Ranga and Dilini for exceptional customer service have been welcomingly noted by the management of the resort.
Once again thank you and look forward to welcome you back in the near future if and when your travels bring you closer to our paradise Isle, Sri Lanka!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.5 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
449 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
18.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Property: The Blue Water
Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blue Water 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka
The Blue Water Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing