We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel but do not book through Kuoni”
Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blue Water
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning hotel but do not book through Kuoni”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at The Blue Water for our honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful and very photogenic. The pool is superb and the staff are really friendly - Anjuna at reception was particularly helpful. It is in a good location for the airport (1hr 30m drive) and, if you are happy to travel, you can easily reach Kandy (4hr drive) or Galle. Don't believe estimates of travelling time, everything seems to take at least twice as long.

We went all-inclusive which is definitely worth the cost. High-quality food and excellent drinks available almost all day from a variety of restaurants. The buffet was varied and interesting (and good quality), but the Nautilus a la carte restaurant is a must-visit. The service is great and the food incredible - fresh seafood a speciality.

Also worth visiting the spa. Well-trained masseuses and competitively priced. The staff here made you feel totally at home and it was perfect way to relax, if you need any more relaxation! There were a few weddings at the hotel during our stay, but they didn't disturb us at all.

But, whatever you do, don't book this hotel through Kuoni. They seemed to have no communication with the hotel and, although the Blue Water were very accommodating, it was a pain that we had to deal with this after a long flight when we just wanted to relax. We spent a lot of time during our holiday trying to sort out what Kuoni had messed up! We even spent the flight sitting on either sides of the plane from each other, after Kuoni had messed up our booking and we couldn't pre-book a seat together. We booked a trip to Kandy through Kuoni, but the ground agent had no idea of the booking when we arrived. We ended up on an ad hoc trip where half the sights we wanted to see were closed due to it being a holiday - it would have been useful if we were told this in advanced. The transfers to and from the airport were badly organised with no air conditioning. We just felt ignored by Kuoni really, we struggled to see what we were paying them for when we could have booked the same things through another travel agent or direct and cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise_20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest to the blue water hotel.
Kind compliments extended to staff and related services are very much appreciated.
While we look forward to welcome you back in the near future the entire team joins me in wishing you both a long and happy wedded life together!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    468
    133
    53
    27
See reviews for
349
687
38
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We were there with few of our friends families (8 adults & 7 kids) few weeks ago & I have to say we were thoroughly enjoyed our stay with blue water. Beautiful food and very friendly/helpful staff. My son vomited outside the kids pool as he's been plying too much, too fast in the pool but life guard & pool attendant were extremely helpful & they made us comfortable within few minutes. Please pass my big thank to them... :) I have to say I'll be very happily come & stay with you blue water when we make our next visit to Sri Lanka without any doubt... :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PM_Fernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest,
It was indeed a pleasure for all of us at the blue water hotel to have served you and your family during your recent holiday.
Look forward to welcome you back as and when your travels bring you back to Sri Lanka, Wadduwa.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel on recommendation. Most holiday companies rating this as 4 or 5 star.
Sadly for us there were disappointments. On reading reviews on trip advisor we upgraded to Superior delux as we understood them to be upgraded and interconnecting as per the hotel website. On our arrival the holiday company had only booked 1 room and we were a family of four and had paid for 2 rooms. We unfortunately therefore didn't get interconnecting rooms, however this wasn't the hotel's fault. The rooms by my standards were not clean enough, and the furniture wooden and old, and sticky, I wiped all the doors down, furniture etc as I always do when away and my cloths were dirty when finished. There were hairs on the floor, something I do not like to see.
The downstairs communal area's of the hotel are old, including the toilet area's which again desperately need full renovation and not just a lick of paint.
In the hotel restaurant at times there were flies around and sometimes landing on the food.
I am fussy and have stayed in many top class hotels and for me, for the price this wasn't acceptable.
After the first 2 days we were upgraded to 2 suites which were in the new block and of a better standard, however in respect of the housekeeping this was not 4 or 5 star standard - ie. the hotel flush was never wiped clean as everyday when we returned to our room I could still see our finger marks on it and cleaned it myself. The soap dish wasn't wiped out for our whole stay. The mops that were being used to clean the floors were really dirty so not likely to do a very good job.
Sometimes we got towels sometimes we didn't.

My husband says I am over fussy with things like this, but this is important to me.

We are the family who's son was taken to hospital with a bad injury to his foot from the pool, and this tainted our holiday somewhat, he has been in a wheelchair for the duration of our holiday, unable to walk or get out and see Sri Lanka as we had wished.

The hotel staff have been wonderful and have helped us tremendously, and have done what they could to make amends, taking full responsibility, upgrading our rooms, and providing transport for us to go out on one occasion, but this does not take away the fact that we did not experience Sri Lanka as we had intended
I don't think this is just a one off, there were countless tiles missing from the floor of the pool which other guests have noted, and it wasn't until our last day that one of the swimming pool attendants was seen replacing some of the broken tiles.
I am amazed that top holiday companies are rating this hotel so high, as incidents such as this should never happen.

For us, the staff have been the 5 star element of this hotel, but otherwise it is only 3 star.

I am sure that the manager of the hotel has been genuinely sorry for what happened and I only hope that he ensures the pool is properly repaired.

Room Tip: Suites but obviously more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback of the recent holiday at the blue water hotel. We very much regret the incident involving your child in the pool and our sincere apologies. All that could be done to ensure the rest of the stay was comfortable, was done by the hotel management and staff. Missing tiles where the accident happened have been retiled and rest assured the pool is very much safe for future guest to swim and enjoy the tropical weather of Sri Lanka.
For the benefit of future guest I would like to reassure the fact that the pool is safe to swim and all other guest accolades stands testimony on TripAdvisor. Some loose tiles that were found have been retiled and constant retiling will be carried out as routine work every morning further assuring of safety in the pool.
Cons you have highlighted with regard to housekeeping have been duly addressed with responsible persons and immediate corrective actions have been taken to avoid any repetition.
Once again thank you for choosing the blue water as your holiday destination in Sri Lankan and look forward to welcome you all back in the future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Blue Water from 12th to the 26th August 2014 in a club suite for our honeymoon. I have regularly thought about writing a Trip Advisor review before about the hotels we have stayed in across Europe but have never found the time to do it. However as the Blue Water was an unforgettable experience I have easily found the time to do this.

There are three things that we always look for in a hotel when going on holiday; excellent service, a quality room and good food. All of these were easily met at the Blue Water to a very high standard. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff that we came into contact with, whether this was the pool attendants, the waiters, housekeeping or reception. Everyone had a genuine interest in our holiday and us as people. This ranged from the person cleaning our room to the management. The room was simply fantastic and we regularly came back after a day out to find fresh flowers and petals spread across the bed which made us feel very welcomed and special. The food was simply superb. There was such a variety in the Admiral's room buffet that it was impossible to select just one dish. Our meal in the Nautilus (a la carte) restaurant was possibly the best meal we have ever eaten. The pool bar and main bar offered some very tasty snacks all supplied with a smile and a keen willingness to engage in conversation. The pool itself was brilliant set along mesmerising views of the sea. We had a complimentary spa treatment and the booked a further appointment as we were so impressed.

Thank you again to all the staff, we hope to return to the Blue Water in the future.

Sam and Katie Foulger from room 502

Room Tip: Pay extra to book a club suite if you can. It is worth it just for the huge comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your recent holiday at the blue water hotel on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest to the hotel.
Your kind compliments to staff, food and related services are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the entire team.
We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for one night for the 2nd time with children over the weekend. Hotel is well maintained and service is very good. Food is probably one of the best in the area with a wide variety of choices. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and has all the facilities you need. Pool needs a bit of work as some of the mosaic tiles have come out- not a big issue, staff are friendly and courteous.

Will return for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funmaker1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Your review on TripAdvisor of the recent holiday at the blue water hotel is much appreciated. Kind compliments extended to staff and other related services have been passed on to the entire team. Loose tiles in the pool are been attended to and thank you for your feedback.
While we thank you for the repeat patronage and for the trust and confidence placed on us, we look forward to your third visit in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I had the first week of our honeymoon at Blue Water. As the taxi drove through the streets on our way from the airport our hearts sank. The area in which Blue Water is located is like no other I have experienced, slum like. We felt so relieved when the gates opened to reveal our paradise hotel! Beautiful palms with a view if the beach & ocean greeted us. Once the gates closed we felt safe. & promptly upgraded to all-inclusive as had no intention of leaving our hotel for walk abouts or sampling street food as previously planned. Staff were friendly, helpful & couldn't do enough for us - if perhaps a little slow with service waiting times. Pool was wonderful with excellent attendants. The one downfall was the abundance of crows in the palms. Constant noise & messing on towels & on bodies as we tried to sunbathe. They would swoop down on any unattended food or drinks & mess all over your towels/table. Attendants changed towels and occasional fireworks would attempt to scare them off but only made them fly around noisily & mess everywhere! Very annoying! Rooms were clean and very nice. Mosquito plugs provided and changed daily too.
My husband and I were however very upset at the end if our stay as we're asked by the General Manager to take a 400g package back to London for her! Dried Fish apparently! Absolutely gob smacked! We obviously refused and were told "that's ok, there are other English couples here, I will ask one of them" Highly suspicious & totally disgusting behaviour!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanamissy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Your review on TripAdvisor of the recent holiday is very much appreciated for the benefit of future guest and thank you.
It is unfortunate that streets and houses found in UK was not to be seen in this tropical Island but glad that you found the hotel premises to be to your liking.
Our apologies for the Crow menace which is troublesome only if you leave food around or choose to eat by the pool instead the restaurant. Crows are also rightful inhabitants to this Island and killing or causing any harm to their existence is against the law.
Some of our repeat guest request from us to send some of their favorite food items to them; please accept our sincere apologies for the unprofessional approach from the person who contacted you with regard to the parcel.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future if and when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Havent stayed overnight, but have spent an afternoon and dined at the buffet restaurant, after a dash in the pool and a sea dip.
Great buffet, especially the sea food on offer. Great pool. Excellent beach too.
Very friendly helpful staff

Room Tip: Sea food is Great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeromAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent day outing at the blue water hotel on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future gust.
While we thank you for your lovely compliments specially to Sunday family lunch, we look forward to welcome you back perhaps for a stay over next time your travels bring you to Wadduwa.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
17.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
455 reviews
18.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Property: The Blue Water
Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blue Water 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka
The Blue Water Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing