We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet boutique hotel with good rooms and superb service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Privilege

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wadduwa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Privilege
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet boutique hotel with good rooms and superb service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had a good, relaxed and peaceful holiday at the hotel. The location was great. The service and hospitality shown to us was top quality. The room was nice, comfy bed and a good clean bathroom. Tasty breakfast in the morning. Great place to kick back and unwind. Very quiet and peaceful.

Regards,
RDS

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RangaDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    21
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
30
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

we had a very relaxed & peaceful holiday at this wonderful hotel. The location was great. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfy clean bed linen,clean towels, comfy pillows, tasty food, Great Staff, Keep up the good work.

Regards,
D.Labrooy

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 229Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

The privilege ayurveda... Such a blissfull hotel with.lovely staff and a wonderfull ayurveda program ... Staff food n location is absolutely wonderfull...its nothin short of a paradise in the little tropical island....Ayurveda doctors and therapist are extra ordinary gifted people...
Thank you for everythin

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ukji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

For many years I come back again and again to The Privilege. Warmth, friendliness, honesty, feel right at home - a place to relax and draw power though a magnificent treatment schedule. The resort is just right to step away from the stress of everyday life. The hotel is a haven for body and soul to relax and unwind. The charm luxury in the hotels and clean spacious rooms gives you the best of both worlds. Very spacious lawn under the palm trees with many birds and squirrels freely around the hotel since no fertilizers are used on the large garden. The hotel has direct access to the clean beach which is inviting for long walks. The buffet served on clay pots makes it wonderful sri Lankan experience. Yoga outdoors done by Indian qualified yoga guru overlooking the sea is a delight every morning, welcome you by two young lovely doctors with flower necklace gives you a very professional consultation and the medicine is of best of quality. You are treated with fresh fruits in the room to welcome you, all lovingly directed from a very friendly and courteous staff, plenty good food and an ideal hotel for a peaceful environment to let Ayurveda treatments on themselves.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataliiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

After a really long trip, the Privilege was just what the doctor ordered!. One of the most comfortable beds I have slept in for a long time. Rooms are basic, very clean and there is lots of space. Quite dodgy wiring though. One complaint - why do they always have to put flowers on the beds!. Other than the flowers dying in a short space of time, it brings ants! Not just this hotel, but all hotels in "tropical" settings.
The food was good, and nothing was too much effort. When we were there it was the start of the T20 World Cup cricket but the hotel was not full. I think it is because it is quite a way from Colombo - a good hour and a bit - but it is on the way to Galle and there are a number of tourist attractions along the way.. The staff were brilliant, the English basic but good and a nice ambiance. All in all, a nice and pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent one night at this hotel when we needed a quiet get away in December 2010. It’s a small hotel with about 20 rooms and we were given a room on the first floor. The room had a “split level” concept with the sitting area on the lower level with the entrance, and the bathroom on a small corridor on the upper level with the bedroom. We had a private balcony overlooking the pool, the garden with coconut trees and the sea. The room has A/C, a TV and DVD player.

We had the option of having all our meals in the room, which was great as we didn’t want to dress up and go up to the main restaurant. The food however was not that great; everything tasted very sweet (even the spicy soup!) however, the staff and the management are friendly and helpful.

It was LKR 20,000 (approx USD 200) for full board per night and we got what we wanted, which was a place to get away and relax for a night. There is not much to do besides swimming in the pool or the sea (there were red flags up at the time) or watching a movie in the room so there is not much to “write home about” if you’re staying there for longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SugarRush77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

When the expensive hotel we had booked in Bentota abruptly closed their main pool for repairs, we moved here at very short notice in Feb 2012. Elegantly designed and tranquil, whilst it does not offer the five star experience of the big tourist hotels it certainly has charm and style - although in need of refreshment regarding some room fittings etc.

Our room was quirky in design with the mezzanine area for our daughter's bed along a short corridor, but the sunny balcony facing the sea was delightful. The pool was warm and very clean (sun loungers a bit knackered though) and the direct access to a very quiet part of the beach perfect for sea swimming. Staff were very friendly and helpful - the restaurant for some reason serves western style 5 course meals, which whilst perfectly pleasant took too long for our four year old - we asked for Sri-Lankan style curry & rice instead and the quality went up significantly - took them three days to up the chilli content sufficiently for we spice-hardened travellers however!

We much preffered the calm of this small place to the big hotels - with some attention to some tired decor and fittings this place would be perfect for the peace-seeker, and was a grat way to end our holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for the top rooms nearest to the sea - excellent balcony and sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AeolusChiswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
0.4 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
1.9 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Ocean View Hotel
Villa Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 10 in Wadduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.1 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#6 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Privilege? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Privilege

Property: The Privilege
Address: No 260 Samanthara Road | Molligoda, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Privilege 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Privilege, Ayurveda Beach Resort built on a three acre coconut estate on the golden sandy beaches of Sri Lanka a few miles away from the capital city Colombo. The hotel is equipped all modern amenities which compliment refined living. The hotel is renowned for its Ayurveda treatment and personalized service. The hotel is ideal romantic hide out while is heavenly destination for Ayurveda therapy,relax and rejuvenate yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Privilege Hotel Wadduwa
Privilege Hotel Wadduwa
The Privilege Sri Lanka/Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing