We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very welcome lunch break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SANKAREST Garden Restaurant

SANKAREST Garden Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kosgoda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A very welcome lunch break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed here on our way back to Bentota from Kandi and Sigiriya Rock on the second day of our visit. We were feeling quite tired by this point and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the location. I had a vegetable curry, which actually consisted of 7 dishes. They were all very tasty. My partner had prawns, which were also very tasty, although it was a bit surprising to see tomato ketchup served alongside! We thoroughly enjoyed this lunch, which was great value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Hospitality and Delicious Food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

My husband, three-year-old son, and I found ourselves at Sankarest Villa after visiting a turtle hatchery. We were just looking for a nice place to eat; however, due to the low season, the garden restaurant wasn't actually open. Despite this fact, they opened their place just for the three of us. This is where we experienced our first-ever authentic Sri Lankan meal, which was just so delicious. My 3-year-old picky eater, tried everything and ate his weight in fish and chicken this afternoon. Our experience, the meal, and the one-of-a-kind hospitality and kindness that we received made this little excursion to Sankarest Villa something that my family will remember forever.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Best food ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

The food is great, very-very tasty!! And the atmosphere is very warm and nice. The food is served with such kindness. And the most important for them is your pleasure! Perfect place!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivanna1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Best food in Sri Lanka, Sunita will make whatever you want and its guaranteed to be delicous. She is so proud of what she does, and rightly so!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FiJim_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Have just been to Sankarest based on the Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. We phoned the restaurant at short notice and talked to Koni who we could hear asking the 'kitchen' who turned out to be Sunnita, if they could fit us in, which they could. There is no menu we were just asked when booking what we would like to eat - we just said local seafood, cooked traditionally. We had mullet and prawns with delicious sambals and the lime and garlic sauce was amazing. Sankarest is a very small restaurant and you do get personal service - Koni and Sunnita were in close attendance and provide an entertaining evening - we felt like we had made new friends by the end of the evening. We are definitely going back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SANKAREST Garden Restaurant also viewed

Balapitiya, Southern Province
 
Balapitiya, Southern Province
 

Been to SANKAREST Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing